ArtStorARTstor is a digital image database of nearly 700,000 images from a wide range of cultures and time periods. It includes tools to manipulate the images for study and teaching. Collections include The Image Collection (key art works used in arts, humanities, social science studies); The Art History Survey collection (concordance of 13 standard art history survey texts); The Carnegie Arts of the United States (American visual arts and material culture); The Hartill Architectural Archive; The Huntington Archive of Asian Art; The Illustrated Bartsch (European prints from 15th-19th centuries); The Mellon International Dunhuang Archive of Chinese art; The MOMA Architecture and Design Archive; The Native American art and Culture from the Smithsonian Institute; and a large number of significant collections being added.
For details and tutorials, consult the ARTstor research guide at: http://www.lib.byu.edu/subsutility/viewGuide.php?gid=432&nav=1
Permitted educational use means: preparation of coursework including lectures, notes, seminars, essays, dissertations and theses, which will be used or presented within the context of the courses or educational teaching offered by the institution. Specifically excluded are: Any display or exposure of images which will be made available to anyone who is not an â€˜Authorised End Userâ€™. Selling or licensing coursework including the images outside the institution without paying the appropriate fee. (This means that; papers, dissertations, theses, lectures, coursework, presentations which are used or presented to persons outside the institution you belong to are excluded.)
Rhizome.orgRhizome is an online platform for the global new media art community. Includes the creation, presentation, discussion and preservation of contemporary art that uses new technologies in significant ways. Rhizome contains 2 archives: ArtBase and Textbase. ArtBase is an online archive of over 1,600 projects in new media art since 1999. It includes software art, animation, performance and web art by artists from around the world. ArtBase is the largest and most diverse archive of its kind, and features artist statements and biographies along with each entry. TextBase contains discussion and critical writing that have passed through Rhizome's mailing lists since 1996.
Oxford Art OnlineComprehensive encyclopedia of art, with authoritative and comprehensive reference sources for all visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, design, and decorative arts. Includes links to images from libraries and museums. Contains: Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Concise Oxford, and The Dictionary of Art Terms. We have 8 simultaneous users.
Berg Fashion LibraryThe Berg Fashion Library is the only resource to provide integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. It includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, an extensive E-Book collection, a vast image bank, extra reference resources and more.
Vogue Archive (ProQuest)A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. Every article, cover, photo shoot, illustration and advertisement has been digitized to the highest standard, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by designer and brand names.