Interviews: Library Databases
-
Vault Online Career Library (Firsthand) This link opens in a new window Requires free registration. Provides in-depth intelligence on what it's really like to work within an industry, company or profession. Best known for its influential rankings, ratings, and reviews on thousands of employers and internships. For more information, see the tutorial.
-
Vocational and Career Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Vocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and public libraries. The collection provides full text coverage for nearly 350 trade and industry related periodicals including American Machinist, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Video Business, Reeves Journal, Hotel and Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for over 600 journals. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1985.
Recommended Books
*Other print books available at HBLL, 1st floor, south HF 5549.5 I6
-
-
-
Case in Point: Complete Case Interview Preparation
by
Call Number: HD69.C6C645 -
-
Powerful Phrases for Successful Interviews
by
The job market is awash with qualified applicants. Yet employers rarely select based solely on merit. Instead, most hiring decisions are gut-level evaluations made in the first few minutes of an interview. What people say determines who lands a job and who does not. Hiring expert Tony Beshara knows the words that trigger “yes” in the minds of employers—and in his handy new book, he arms candidates with hundreds of ready-to-use responses to even the toughest interview questions. Covering entry-level to executive positions and encompassing all industries, this quick-reference guide propels job seekers through every stage of the process. Readers learn power phrases to: • Get their foot in the door • Clearly communicate their skills, strengths, and experience—and why they would be a perfect fit • Make a great impression at the crucial opening and close • Score high on the likability factor • Dispel lingering concerns about work history • Give follow-up emails real impact • Negotiate a strong job offer • And more After all, when it's time to choose between a candidate who is perfect on paper and one who is persuasive in person, there's no contest. Powerful Phrases for Successful Interviews gives you the right words to make the difference every time.
ISBN: 9780814433553Publication Date: 2014-02-15 -
Mastering the Job Interview and Winning the Money Game by MASTERING THE JOB INTERVIEW AND WINNING THE MONEY GAME is for every job hunter who wants to ace the interview…to turn that interview into a job offer…and to maximize the salary potential. Learn how to beat the competition and negotiate the best salary, whether you're looking for $20,000 or $500,000. This book will teach you to gain more power in the job interview, find out who your competitors are and how you stack up, use the follow-up checklist to turn interviews into offers, make reference checking work in your favor, communicate effectively during salary negotiation, start out on the right foot in your new job. MASTERING THE JOB INTERVIEW AND WINNING THE MONEY GAME is based on the highly successful methodology used at The Five O'Clock Club, where the average job hunter finds a new satisfying job in half the time of those who are not using our program.
ISBN: 9781285753508Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Interviews: Recommended Sites
-
BYU Careers and Experiential Learning Tools for practicing and preparing for interviews. Also includes common interview questions.
-
Bradley CVs Interviewing Advice: Includes a list of example interview questions for the interviewer and interviewee. Contains helpful information on interviewing techniques including group interview testing and panel interviewing.
-
Job Interview Net Includes interview questions, answers and tips.
-
Interview: Seizing the opportunity and the job by the US Department of Labor
-
Monster Interview Center From job interview preparation to the interview thank you letter, interviewing experts at Monster can help you learn about what to expect, how to prepare, and how to follow up for your interview.
Selected Articles
Interviewing Tips
Interviewing Do's
-
Bring an extra copy of your resume
- Be honest and sincere
- Ask questions about the job and the company
- Be prepared for difficult questions
- Remain positive
Deadly Sins of Job Interviewing
-
Telling someone how to run his/her business
- Criticizing previous employers
- Failing to self-promote
- volunteering short-comings
- Asking about salary and fringes
- Asking too many questions
- Arriving late
- Dressing improperly