It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Electrical and Computer Engineering: Get Journal Articles
Article databases store information about articles that are published in journals and other publications relating to a specific discipline. They provide powerfulsearch engines to help you efficiently find the articles you need. The databases below are selected for this particular discipline and listed in the order of preference. Some databases also include the full text of the articles and will have a pdf link; if they do not include the full text, look for the "Get it at BYU" link within the search result. Clicking this will direct you to either the electronic version of the article, the call number for the printed version, or the InterLibrary Loan service (ILL) to request the article if not available at BYU. ILL requests are free and usually take 2-4 days to fufill. You can also use ILL to request a copy of a print article even if BYU has it. Feel free to use the chat box on the Subject Guide's home page if you need more information or to answer any questions you may have.
Best Journal Article Databases
Compendex1969+ Provides indexing and abstracts of the world's engineering literature in all fields of engineering. The database includes journal articles, conference papers and technical reports. Sources for the records are from over five thousand journals, conference proceedings and reports. As of the year 2000 there are over five million records in Compendex. Updated weekly.
No systematic or automated downloading.
IEEE XploreAlternate title: Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. (IEEE) Xplore. 1988+ IEEE Xplore indexes and provides full-text access to all IEEE journals, conferences, and standards. All IEE journals and conferences are also included.
No systematic downloading or robotic crawling.
Scopus (Elsevier)Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Web of ScienceThe Web of Science Core Collection accesses the Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) databases, gathered from over 9,300 scholarly journals. Searches for records by topic, author, source title, author address, cited author, cited work, cited year can be performed separately or combined. Articles are linked to other articles of the same topic. Updated weekly 1974
Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete (EBSCO)Computers and Applied Sciences Complete covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. CASC provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,200 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Full text is also available for more than 1,000 periodicals.
More Journal Article Databases
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,000 journals, including over 9,000 peer-reviewed titles. Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, womens studies, zoology and more.
ACM Digital LibraryAlternate title: Association of Computing Machinery Digital Library. Database of the Association of Computing Machinery. This database consists of journals, magazines and conference reports. There is an extensive archive of records including citations, abstracts and full-text for periodicals published by the ACM. Coverage varies depending on publication. General coverage is from 1966 to the present.
For research and scholarly purposes only.
MathSciNetIndexes more than 3,000 journals and 10,000 books, conference proceedings, theses, and technical reports related to mathematics, statistics, computer science, econometrics, and engineering. Updated twice a year.
Audio Engineering Society Electronic LibraryThe Audio Engineering Society Electronic Library contains most of the Convention Preprints, Conference Papers, and Journal Articles originally published by the Audio Engineering Society between 1953 and 2003. The library contains over 10,000 papers and/or articles. Each of these documents has been stored in Adobe Acrobat(r) PDF format, preserving the highest possible degree of fidelity to the appearance of the document as it was originally published, while also permitting full-text and field searching.
Gale In Context: Environmental StudiesGREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources) offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more.
GreenFILE (EBSCO)GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)Coverage: 1861 - Current. With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microfilm or paper formats. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.