Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Education Curriculum Collection:
The Social Sciences/Education Department houses the Education Curriculum Collection. This collection consists of elementary and secondary textbooks and curriculum materials from various publishers covering many subjects. This collection is designed to assist pre-service teachers in their preparations. Items from the Education Curriculum Collection can be checked out at the main circulation desk, Level 3, for a 7 day period.
You can access education standards in the following way:
Utah State Core Standards:
Online at http://www.uen.org/core/
In Print: Elementary core curriculum standards : levels K-3 LB 1629
.U8 C67 1996; Elementary core curriculum standards : levels 4-6 LB 1561
.U8 E43 1996; etc.
Principals and Standards for School Mathematics:
Online at http://standards.nctm.org/
In Print: QA 13 .P735 2000 - Two copies in Social Science Reference and two circulating copies in HBLL Bookshelves
Older versions under series in the library catalog: Curriculum and
evaluation standards for school mathematics addenda series. Grades …
Standards for the English Language Arts:
Online at: http://www.ncte.org/about/over/standards
In Print: LB 1576 .N274 1996
Websites with Lesson Plans
Online resources for educators
Free and easy to use resources to improve education including lesson plans and worksheets.
Websites with Content for Lessons
Read Write Think
Access to practices and resources for language arts instruction
High quality learning resources for PreK-12 education from the Public Broadcasting System.
Childrens and Young Adult Literature
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is an acquisition, research, and reference service that offers more than 1,400,000 MARC records and more than 280,000 reviews of children's books--all full text searchable from 36 review sources.
TeachingBooks.net is an easy-to-use website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. It is developed and maintained to include thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities.
Something About the Author (Gale)
Thousands of illustrated biographical profiles of children's authors and illustrators. Biographical profiles include personal data, addresses, career, awards and honors, writings, sidelights (essay on the author's life and works), adaptations, additional sources and more. Also included are hundreds of specially commissioned autobiography essays.