It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Civil & Environmental Engineering: Get Journal Articles
A brief guide to the Civil & Environmental Engineering resources available at and from the Harold B. Lee Library.
You can now schedule either a live or virtual meeting with your librarian. Just choose "Schedule Appointment" below, choose a time and date, and select whatever option best suits your need.
These link to custom search engines that search databases of article citations in topics related to Civil Engineering. Some of these citation databases also contain the full text articles. For those that do not, use the Get It @ BYU link to check the HBLL for access.
Compendex1969+ Provides indexing and abstracts of the world's engineering literature in all fields of engineering. The database includes journal articles, conference papers and technical reports. Sources for the records are from over five thousand journals, conference proceedings and reports. As of the year 2000 there are over five million records in Compendex. Updated weekly.
No systematic or automated downloading.
Scopus (Elsevier)Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Science Citation Index (SCI): Web of ScienceThe Web of Science accesses the Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanitites Citation Index (AHCI) databases, gathered from over 8,500 scholarly journals. Searches for records by topic, author, source title, author address, cited author, citedwork, cited year can be performed separately or combined. Articles are linked to other articles of the same topic.
Environmental Engineering Abstracts (ProQuest)Covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production. More than 700 primary journals are thoroughly indexed and abstracted. Over 2,500 additional sources, including monographs and conference proceedings, are also monitored for relevant articles.
Transportation Research International Documentation (TRID)Alternate title: TRID. TRID consists of the TRIS and ITRD Databases and covers all modes and disciplines of transportation and contains more than 1,050,000 records of published research. More than 110,000 records contain links to full-text documents. TRID is the world's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic resource on transportation research information. It is produced and maintained by the Transportation Research Board of the US National Academies with sponsorship by State Departments of Transportation, the various administrations at the U.S. Department of Transportation, and other sponsors of TRB's core technical activities. ITRD is produced by ITRD member organizations under the under the sponsorship of Joint Transport Research Centre (collectively JTRC) of the International Transport Forum and Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and ITRD.
Gale In Context: Environmental StudiesGREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources) offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more.
ASCE Research LibraryThe American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Research Library is a comprehensive online tool for locating articles, books, and standards related to civil engineering. The Research Library provides you with access to more than 73,000 full-text papers from ASCE Journals and Proceedings as well as access to ASCE Standards and eBooks.
IEEE XploreAlternate title: Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. (IEEE) Xplore. 1988+ IEEE Xplore indexes and provides full-text access to all IEEE journals, conferences, and standards. All IEE journals and conferences are also included.
No systematic downloading or robotic crawling.
ASME Digital LibraryThe ASME Digital Library is ASME's primary repository of current and archival literature featuring ASME's Transaction Journals. To view what is currently available, use the tabs at the top of the page to navigate to the publication of your choice, then click on the "Available Volume List." Our subscription includes the journals but not the other content.
Wiley Online LibraryA leading international resource for scientific, technical, medical and scholarly content.