Primary Sources & Fulltext Databases
Check subject specific guides for more links to primary sources.
-
Early English Books Online (EEBO) - Texts This link opens in a new window
-
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
-
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (Gale) This link opens in a new window
-
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
-
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Archives
-
19th Century U.S. Newspaper Digital Archive (Gale) This link opens in a new window Approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century United States. This database has full-text searching capability, and it displays images from numerous newspapers from urban and rural areas.
-
Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Search the archives of historical newspapers from back to 1786.
-
NewspaperARCHIVE This link opens in a new window NewspaperARCHIVE.com is the world's largest online newspaper archive. Featuring billions of articles from historical newspapers around the U.S. and the world, NewspaperARCHIVE makes exploring history and genealogy easy and fun. Discover fascinating news in archived newspapers hundreds of years old - including obituaries, birth announcements, sports articles, comics, and more – to fill in the life stories you are interested in. And share those stories with others through our community at OurNewspaperARCHIVE. All of our historical newspapers are full-page and fully searchable - try exploring above and discover your history today!
-
Colonial Newspapers This link opens in a new window This collection contains a wealth of information on colonial and early American History and genealogy, and provides an accurate glimpse of life in America, with additional coverage of events in Europe, during the early days of this country. Contains the Pennsylvania Gazette, the South Carolina Gazette, and the Virginia Gazette. From History Commons, formerly Accessible Archives
-
ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers This link opens in a new window Primary source content and editorial perspectives of the most distinguished African American newspapers in the U.S. Each of the eleven Historical Black Newspapers provides researchers with unprecedented access to perspectives and information that was excluded or marginalized in mainstream sources. The content, including articles, obituaries, photos, editorials, and more, is easily accessible for scholars in the study of the history of race relations, journalism, local and national politics, education, African American studies, and many multidisciplinary subjects.
-
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900 This link opens in a new window A subject-inclusive, language-inclusive bibliography of 50,000 publications, 48,000 personal names, 4,572 issuing bodies and 756 subjects in victorian periodicals.