Articles/essays (written by noteworthy, even famous critics/ contemporaries) are arranged in chronological order - earliest to the latest - revealing trends in criticism over the life of the author/work. And finally (3), the articles/essays are reprinted in their entirety - full-text - and include the citations for the original publication.
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
NO systematic downloading.
Use of the database is for personal, non-commercial use only.
Comprehensive encyclopedia of art, with authoritative and comprehensive reference sources for all visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, design, and decorative arts. Includes links to images from libraries and museums. Contains: Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Concise Oxford, and The Dictionary of Art Terms.
The Oxford Companion to Christian Art & Architecture HUM REF N 7830 .M87 1996
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, critical analysis, and Web resources of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors. Search by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes.
Usage Terms: Limited excerpts may be printed or downloaded for personal research use only.
Compiled by one of the best-known authorities on the Bard's works, this dictionary offers up-to-date information on all aspects of Shakespeare in his own time and on his impact and influence on later ages. It includes entries on the plays and the major characters, on Shakespeare's life and his contemporaries, on actors from Edmund Kean to Peter O'Toole, on theatres and directors, plus comments on Shakespeare by later authors such as Jane Austen, Dr Johnson, and Bernard Levin.
North American Theatre Online is a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to more than 25,000 plays, nearly 28,000 people, 3,000 theatres, 12,500 productions and 1,500 production companies. The file also includes some 5,000 images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources.
May make a limited number of print or digital copies for research, education, or other non-commercial use.
May not alter, remove, or obscure copyright notice.
Consists of information about the religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century, encompassing not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature.
Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era: 1760-1850 - Humanities Reference NX 425.5 .R64 E53 2004
Consists of articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century, exploring art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history. With a focus on focus on Europe and Christendom, the Encyclopedia also covers the rise of Islam and people of other cultures with whom Europeans came into contact.
Profiling milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music and religion from a specific period, each volume in this set helps students and researchers understand the various disciplines of the humanities in relation to each other, as well as to history and culture. An overview of the period and a chronology of major world events begin each volume.
Chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection. It extends from prehistory to the present day, and continues to expand in scope and depth.
New York Times Guide to the Arts of the 20th Century - Humanities Reference NX 456 .N40 2002
Chronology of Twentieth-Century History: Arts & Culture - Humanities Reference 456 .C534 1998