Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, critical analysis, and Web resources of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors. Search by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes.
With a focus on independent and underground publications now considered influential classics, this 3-volume reference offers readers a thorough and stimulating introduction to the genre, with 215 entries on as many graphic novels or series. Each entry contains the work's publication history, plot summary, profile of the author, summaries of the individual volumes, description of the characters in the novel, and discussion of the work's artistic style, themes, and impact. Most of the entries include one or more b&w images. A list of further reading and a bibliography accompany each entry. Volume 3 contains indexes and appendixes, including a timeline and list of awards.
The entries feature a lengthy essay (3-4 pages) with a plot summary, publication history, list of characters, list of the volumes published with brief plot summary of each, description of the artistic style, central themes of the story, impact on the genre, list of further readings, and a bibliography. Adaptation into other genres, including television and movies, is cited and discussed. Each entry gives the names of the author(s), artists, publisher, and date published. One or more b&w illustrations and inset boxes with additional information are also part of the entries. Vol. 2 contains several appendices and an extensive index.
An Anthology of Graphic Fiction, Cartoons, and True Stories - Humanities Ref.NC 1764.5 .U6 A58 2006
Edited by Ivan Brunetti, New Haven : Yale University Press, 2006.
A broad historical overview of the medium and a round-up of some of today’s best and most interesting North American comic artists. Included here are works from such well-known artists as Robert Crumb, Kim Deitch, Art Spiegelman, Chris Ware, Ben Katchor, Charles Burns, Gary Panter, Seth, Phoebe Gloeckner, Daniel Clowes, Lynda Barry, Joe Sacco, and Jaime and Gilbert Hernandez, as well as many other pioneers whose names may be less familiar. Brunetti offers selections from the works of more than seventy-five avant-garde comic artists. His selections are arranged by genre and grouped thematically.
Use one of these tools to import references of books, articles, and websites into folders and keep them organized. Create in-text citations and format your bibliography for your paper too.
RefWorks 3.0The new RefWorks lets you save and share an unlimited number of references, full-text, and other research materials. Generate bibliographies and citations and integrate with either Word or Google Docs.
Help documents for using this version can be found at this link.
ZoteroA free Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources.