Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm
Oxford Art Online
Comprehensive source for the visual arts, with authoritative and comprehensive reference sources for all visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, design, and decorative arts.
General guide to art works and museums throughout the world.
Periodical Article Indexes
Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) Art Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ProQuest) Indexes abstracts of articles covering visual arts in the 20th century to present. Coverage is from 1974 to the present.
Avery Index to Architecture (EBSCO) A good database to search for articles about modern and contemporary art.
Consult these guides for more resources:
Use one of these tools to import references of books, articles, and websites into folders and keep them organized. Create in-text citations and format your bibliography for your paper too.
RefWorks The new RefWorks 3.0 lets you save and share an unlimited number of references, full-text, and other research materials. Generate bibliographies and citations and integrate with either Word or Google Docs.
Zotero A free Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources.