Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Murder at BYU: A finding guide to and annotated bibliography of murder mysteries in the Harold B Lee Library at BYU involving universities, colleges, professors and/or students: Part III: 1961-1980

An annotated bibliography of professor-, student-, college- or university-based murder mystery fiction or literature in the Harold B Lee Library (HBLL) at BYU.

Colleges, Universities or Professors in Murder Mystery Fiction, Part III: 1961-1980

Colleges, Universities or Professors in Murder Mystery Fiction, Part III: 1961-1980

 [See Kramer in the "Reference and Analysis" section above to find complete abstracts and other details at the pages noted at the end of the entries; quotations in this section are from Kramer.  Titles below, listed in chronological order, are available at the Lee Library (call numbers in bold).]

46.  Nicholas, Robert. The White Shroud. London: Collins, 1961. PR 6064 I27 W46 1961. "It is a dark and stormy Sunday night (and a bitter-cold one as well) when a porter discovers the dead body of Dr Roker in the chemistry building of 'Granstone University' ...located in one of the bleaker regions of northern England. On the case within minutes of the porter's phone call are Inspector Stone and Sergeant Crawley of the local police. A junior lecturer, Roker is dead o f a bashed skull, and Stone begins calling various university officials from their beds to meet him at the murder scene. ... Unpopular with his colleagues, and suspected of having cheated to get his doctorate, Roker is found to have run up large gambling debts and to have paid off those debts by blackmailing a professor of English who had an affair with the wife of a colleague ..." (Kramer entry # 125, p 103.)

47.  Hopkins, Kenneth. Campus Corpse. London: Macdonald, 1963. PR 6015 O62 C35x 1963 Special Collections. " ... Gerry Lee, a London newspaperman, ... travels to the University of Texas to give a series of lectures on the difference between British and American journlaism ... he turns sleuth when an assistant professor of English dies in a suspcicious automobile accident. The plot of the story is very inventive and includes a phony fall-to-the-death from the Texas Tower, the disappearnace from a faculty office of a complete set of Sir Walter Scott's novels, and the only tour of the Alamo in college-mystery fiction. ..." Hopkins, a British native, was a profilic professional writer, and this was the last of four Gerry Lee mystery novels. (Kramer entry #131, pp 107-108.)

48.  Devine, DM. The Devil at Your Elbow. London: Colligs, 1967. PR 6054 E9 D39 1966. "This supsenseful tale of academic intrigue is set at 'Hardgate University', a Britihs institution that is generally conceded even by its stuanches admirers, to be much inferior to Oxford or Cambridge. Edward Haxton, a nondistinguished economist, is accused of embezzeling twenty pounds from the summer school budget. He retaliates by threatening to reveal new facts about an old Hardgate sex scandal. When Haxton is soon found murdered, several of Hardgate's dons [deans] are suspected of the crime. Inspector Finney of the Hardgate CID leads the investigation, but the author provides a great many real and false clues through which readers can do their own, independent detecting. ..." David Macdonald Devine was born in Scotland and attended the Universities of Glasgow and London. (Kramer entry #136, p 113.)

49.  Kenyon, Michael. The Trouble with Series Three. New York: Morrow, 1967. (Published in England as The Whole Hog. London: Collins, 1967). PR 6061 E675 T75 1967. "Arthur Appleyard [is] a twenty-nine-year-old visiting swine nutritionist from Leeds University [but this novel ] is set at 'Illinois State College' deep in the American Midwest. Appleyard is at Illinois State College under grants from the United States Air Force and the National Aeonautics and Space Administration to test various pig fieeds. Because pigs have digestive systems similar to those of human beings, his research has importnat implications for space travel. International spies, interested in Appleyard's findings, kill his laboratory assistant and kidnap Humphrey, his prize hog. Captain Petty of the local police handles some of the detection [while] Appleyard and Liz Salucka, his American coworker and girlfriend, bring the case to a successful conclusion. ..." (Kramer entry # 143, p 116.)

50.  Deal, Babs H. The Walls Came Tumbling Down. Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1968. PS 3554 E12 W34x 1968. "When the old 'Delta' sorority house at 'Druid City University' is torn down in the mid-1960s, the skeleton of a baby is found in an air shaft. The local authorities reason that the body must have been deposited in the summer of 1944, when the house was being remodeled and the shaft was briefly opened. Nine young women occupied the house that summer, and all of them immediately come under suspicion. [This] is not a conventional mystery. Instead of employing a fictional sleuth to develop clues, the author concentrates her attentions on the life, times, and thoughts of the various Delta women now approaching middle-age, who might have committed infanticide. ..." Babs Hodges Deal receive a BA in 1952 from the Universityof Alabama. (Kramer entry # 144, pp 116-117.)

51.  Latham, Emma. Come to Dust. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1968. PS 3562 A 755C66 1968. "Not one but three highly publicized scandals hit 'Brunswick College', a select, Ivy League school in 'Coburg', New Hampshire. A professional fund-raiser disappears with a $50,000 negotiatble bond intended for the institution's coffers. Someone steals the files of the applicants for next fall's freshman class. Then a high school student visiting the Brunswick campus for an admission interview is stabbed to death in the elegant Coburg Inn. Because much of Brunswick's fund raising is done in conjunction with the Sloan Guaranty Bank in New York, John Putnam Thayer, the bank's urbane senior vice president, becomes involved in the college's problems. ... He ties together and resolves all three of Brunswick's difficulties, but not before he finds that even Ivy League alumni are not always as wealthy as they claim to be. ..." (Kramer entry # 147, pp 118-119.) Emma Latham is the psueodnym of Mary J Latsis and Martha Hennisart; both are gradutes of Harvard, Latsis is an economist and Hennisart is an attorney.

52.  Woodfin, Henry. Virginia's Thing. New York: Harper and Row, 1968. PS 3573 O62 V53 1968. Virginia McReedy, a twenty-year-old junior at an American state university, disappears from campus. Frank McReedy, the president of 'The International Dockmen's Union' hires John Foley, an ex-cop turned private detective, to find his daughter. As Foley earns his $200-per-day fee, his sleuthing brings him into life-threatening contact with an unfriendly black civil rights leader and into only slightly less-acrimonious relationships with several university faculty members. ... " This is Woodfin's only mystery novel. (Kramer entry # 149, pp 119-120.)

53.  Greenbaum, Leonard. Out of Shape. New York: harper, 1969. PS 3557 R3765 O79 1969. "Rudolph Reichet, an immigrant professor of medieval literature, is found dead in his office, his face blown away by a shotgun blast. The setting is 'Milton State University' in Michigan. Lieutenant Paul Gold of the local police, along with Tommy Larkin, the professor's graduate-student research assistant, investigate the killing. ..." Greenbaum earned a BA, an MA and a PhD from the University of Michigan, and at the time this novel was published was an Assistant Professor in Michigan's English Department. (Kramer entry 3153, pp 122-123.)

54.  Bernard, Robert. Deadly Meeting. New York: Norton, 1970. PS 3563 A728 D42 1970. "The 'deadly meeting' in the title of this novel is the annual convention of the Modern Language Assocaiton. In addition to the usual paper-giving, socializing, and job searching, the MLA agenda this particular year includes the death of Professor Peter Jackson, head of the English department at 'Wilton University'. An autocratic and singulalrly unpopular chairman, Jackson obviously was done in by one of his faculty subordinates. The puzzle for the reader is which one of Jackson's departmental antagonists is guilty. ..." Robert Bernard is the pseudonym for Robert Bernard Martin who received an AB from Harvard and and a BLitt from Oxford, and was a member of the English Departament at Princeton until his retirement in 1973. (Kramer entry # 155, pp 123-124.)

55.  Cross, Amanda. Poetic Justice. New York: Knopf, 1970. PS 3558 E4526 P53 1970. "[This mystery] is set at a large, elite New York City university that gives every appearance of being Columbia. Against a backdrop of student demonstrations and sit-ins the university is experiencing bitter intraorganizational conflict. ... Jeremiah Cudlipp, chairperson of the English department, dies after swallowing aspirin tablets. Allergic to aspirin, Cudlipp ordinarily employed a special headche remedy from England but ... someone apparently substituted real aspirin for his imported pills. ... [The novel] contains many references to WH Auden ... and late in the book Auden makes a personal appearance at the university, reads from his work, and takes part in a question-and-answer session. ... " Cross is the pseudonym of Carolyn Heilbrun, who received a BA from Wellsley, and MA and PhD from Columbia, and was the first woman to be tenured in Columbia's English department. She retired in 1992. (Kramer entry #156, pp 124-125.)

56.  Lockridge, Richard. Twice Retired. Philadelphia: Lippincott, 1970. PS 3523 O245 T83 1970. " ... opens with Walter Brinkley, a retired professor of English at 'Dyckman University' in New York City, driving from his suburban home to the Dyckman Faculty Club in order to attend a publisher's reception for his newest book. The Vietnam War is at its height, and pickets and demonstrators roam the campus. When the reception ends, Brinkley prepares to drive home only to find the dead body of General Philip Armstrong, US Army (retired), in the backseat of his car. ... Assistant District Attorney Bernie Simmons, who happens to be one of Professor Brinkley's former students, handles the investigation. ..." Lockridge wrote novels with his wife Francis, but this one is his only solo effort after her death in 1963. (Kramer entry #157, pp 125-126.)

57.  Melville, Jennie. A New Kind of Killer, London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1970. (US edition: New Kind of Killer, New York: McKay, 1971). PR 6063 E44 N39 1971. "The 'University of Midport' is a new British university. It is so new, in fact, that it is about to install its very first chancellor, and when radical students stage a series of campus outrages there are grave doubts that the young school can survive the upheavals. Then, when several murders occur within the Midport community, things look very black indeed. It is fortunate, therefore, that Charmain Daniels... is at Midport taking course in criminology. On leave from her job as detective with the 'Deerham Hills' police force, Daniels drops her studies to investigate the killings ..." Melville and Gwendoline Butler are the same person, see bio above for Death Lives Next Door (1960). (Kramer entry #159, p 127.)

58.  Ashe, Gordon. A Rabble of Rebels. London: Long, 1972. New York: Holt, Rinehart and Winston, 1972. PR 6005 R517 R32. "Radical students taken over the campus of 'Mid-Cal University' near San Francisco. 'Gentle-faced' Dean Connell is imprisoned in his office and two stduent bystanders are killed when they attempt to make and early exit from one of the radical's more heated protest rallies. Meanwhile, in London, Deputy Assistant Police Commissioner Patrick Dawlish sees the Mid-Cal affair as the thin edge of a revolutionary wedge designed, ultimately, to destroy all the universities in the western world. ... Dawlish hops the next jet for California in order to investigate matters. His findings at Mid-Cal only confirm his suspicions that student uprisiings are the product of an international conspiracy. ... Perhaps the best testimony to Dawlish's proficient rebel-quashing in this story is the fact that shortly after the book's appearance calm was restored, not only at Mid-Cal, but at most nonfictional colleges and universities thoroughout the world as well ..." Ashe is a pseudonym for John Creasy, who, despite never having attended college, wrote over 500 mystery and adventure novels, and used as many as 12 different pseudonyms. (Kramer entry #160, p 128.)

59.  Candy, Edward. Words for Murder, Perhaps. London: Gallancz, 1971; Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1984. PR 6064 E83 W6 1984. "[This novel] is set at the extramural (evening adult extension) facility of the 'University of Bantwich'. Located in downtown Bantwich, a depressingly grim city in the British Midlands ... [this case] centers on the murder of elderly Professor Arthur Hallam, an Egyptologist, who dies after offering a guest lecture. Seeking postpresentation refreshment, Hallam sips a glass of water into which someone has dropped cyanide. The leading suspect is Mr Roberts, a Bantwich lecturer in English who is teaching an extramural course on the history of the detective novel. ... Roberts is pinpointed by Inspector Hunt of the local police as a possible 'nut case', but there are many, many other suspects as well, most of them extramural administrators, teachers, and students . Several of the important clues in the plot are literary in nature. Although devotees of 'serious' mystery fiction will find that Words for Murder, Perhaps, presents a significant whodunit, the book can also be read simply for its sly, witty commentaries on academic life. ..." Candy is pseudonym for Barbara Neville, see bio above at Bones of Contention, 1954. (Kramer entry #161, pp 128-129.)

60.  Graham, John Alexander. The Involvement of Arnold Wechsler. Boston: Little Brown, 1971. PS 3557 R212 I59 1971. "Arnold Wechsler is a wisecracking junior member of the classics department at 'Hewes University'. His 'involvement' begins when he is asked by Winthrop Dohrn, the harassed president of Hewes, to investigate the kidnapping of Dohrn's young granddaughter. Dohrn suspects that David Wechsler, Arnold's younger, student-radical brother, is responsible, and he wants Arnold to look into the matter. Arnold Wechsler's sleuthing brings him into closer-than-comfortable contact with Hewes' retinue of antiestablishment undergraduates, and it also leads him to a few skeletons in the Dohrn family closet. ... During the first chapter of this partially inverted mystery, Dohrn is sundered into bloody bits and pieces when a bomb, planted by persons unknown, blows up his presidential mansion." Graham received a BA from Colimbia in 1962 and an MA from Brandeis in 1964, and was a mathematics instructor at Wellesley College when this novel was published. (Kramer entry #162, pp 129-130.)

61.  Hill, Reginald. An Advancement of Learning. London: Collins, 1971. (American edition: Woodstock, VT: Countryman Press, 1971). PR 6058 I448 A68 1985. "Set at the 'Holm Coultram College of Liberal Arts and Education' in the Yorkshire region of England, this wry, intricate mystery stars ... Detective Superintendent Andrew Dalziel and Sergeant Peter Pasco. The two policemen come onto the Holm Coultram campus when human bones are unearthed in the staff garden. The bones, it turns out, belong to Alison Girling, a former principal of the school who was thought to have died in an automobile accident (and to have been buried) in Austria. ..." Hill was born in Hartlepool, Engalnd, received a BA in English from St Catherines, Oxford, and when this book was published was a lecturer in English at the Doncaster College of Education in Yorkshire. Since 1982, he has been a full-time writer; some his novels have been adapted to British TV series. (Kramer entry #163, pp 130-131.)

62.  James, PD. An Unsuitable Job for a Woman. London: Faber & Faber, 1972 (American edition: New York: Scribner’s, 1973). PR 6060 A467 U58 1972. “Set in and around the University of Cambridge, [this book] displays the sleuthing talents of Cordelia Gray, a novice private detective from London. ON her first major case, Gray investigates the apparent suicide-by-hanging of Mark Callender, a recent Cambrdige dropout. …” Phyllis Dorothy James is a well known mystery novelist who has worked as a civil servant in the criminal department of the British Home Office. (Kramer entry # 168, p 134.)

63.  Kemelman, Harry. Tuesday the Rabbi Saw Red. New York: Fields, 1973. PS 3561 E398 T8 1973. “”Rabbi David Small, whose natural habitat is the New England community of ‘Barnard’s Crossing’, is invited to offer a one-semester course in Jewish thought and philosophy at ‘Windermere Christian College’ in Boston. [The College], charitably characterized by its regular faculty members as a ‘fallback school’...  is a classic example of an intellectually deprived institution. … The mystery in the story centers on the murder of John Hendryx, an unpleasant, bachelor professor of English. … It is Rabbi Small’s perceptive Talmudic logic, however, that puts Professor Hendryx’s killer behind bars. …” (Kramer entry # 169, pp 134-135.)

64.  Ludlum, Robert.  The Matlock Paper.  New York:  Dial, 1973.  PS 3562 U62 M38 1973.  "Who would ever think that 'Carlyle University', an elite institution in Connecticut, could be the secret headquarters of an international crime ring?  The FBI thinks so, and it recruits James B Matlock II, a virile associate professor of English at Carlyle, to work as an undercover agent.  Matlock finds that Carlyle is, indeed, a hub of drug-dealing, gambling, and prostitution.  Moreoever, he learns that some of Carlyle's more distinguished faculty members and administrators are leading figures in the criminal activities. ..."  Ludlum received a BA from Wesleyan University in Connecticut, and was a successful espionage and thriller writer.  (Kramer entry # 170, pp 135-136.)

65.  Taylor, Edith.  The Serpent Under It.  New York:  Norton, 1973.  PS 3570 A9284 S8 1973.  "Set at 'Hoyt College' in Massachusett's Berkshire Mountanis, this intricate story centers on murderous behavior in the English department.  Professor Archibald and the department's secretary are the victims; numerous faculty members and graduate students are suspects; and Anne Redmond, the wife of the a young instructor, is the sleuth. ... Plagiarism is important to the plot, and the unique crucial clue is found deep in the English department's dusty files.  ..."  Taylor received a BA from Swarthmore in 1935 and did graduate work at Syracuse University, and ultimately taught creative writing at the Buffalo Seminary.  (Kramer entry #173, pp 137-138.)

66.  Constantine, KC.  The Blank Page.  New York:  Dutton, 1974.  PS 3553 O524 B42 1974.  "'Rocksburg Junior College' is a small emporium of educational modernity in western Pennsylvania.  Only a few of its faculty members have doctorates; its president, J Hale Beverley, cares far more about his personal image than about his school's intellectual standards; and plagiarism and drug-taking are mainstays of undergradute life.  WhenJanet Pistula, a slow-witted Rocksburg stduent, is found strangled with her own brassiere in a shabby rooming house, the killing is investigated by Mario Balzi, the local chief of police ... [and[ probes deply into Rocksburg's academicall dismal milieu. ..."  KC Constantine is a psyuedonym for Carl Kosak, a former minor legaue baseball player.  (Kramer entry # 175, pp138-139.)

67.  Parker, Robert B.  The Godwulf Manuscript.  Boston:  Houghton Mifflin, 1974.  PS 3566  A686 G63 1973.  Parker's main private investigator is Spenser.  "The novel follows Spenser ... as he investigatres the theft of a rare fourtheenth-century manuscript from one of Boston's less-prestigious universities. ..."  Parker received a BA from Colby College in Maine and a PhD from Boston Unvieristy; his doctoral dissertation was a study of Dashiell Hammet and Raymond Chandler.  At the time this book was bpublihsed, Parker was an associate professor of English at Northeastern Unversity in Boston.    (Kramer entry # 177, pp 140-141.)

68.  Davis, Mildred.  Tell Them What's-Her-Name Called.  New York:  Random House, 1975.  PS 3507 A3424 T37 1975.  "Three suspicious, fatal accidents occure in  he small town that houses 'Whitefield College', and exclusive institution in the north-eastern United States.  One of the victims is Ruth Wehrmann, the wife of a mild-manered Whitefield professor of English.  ...  The Wehrmann's daughter, Finely, takes it upon herself to investigate ... and the emphasis is on Whitefield's undergraduate culture. ..."  Davis lived in Bedford, NY, when this, the last of 11 novels, was published.  (Kramer entry #179, pp 141-142.)

69.  Holland, Isabelle.  Grenelle.  New York:  Rawson and Associates, 1976.  PS 3558 O3485 G74.  "This had-I-but-known gothic mystery is set at 'Grenelle College', an Anglican-run institution in rural Virginia.  The heroine of the piece is Susan Grennelle, the granddaughter of the school's major benefactor and the daughter of its late but still-loved president.  Thirtyish and unmarried, Susan returns after eleven years in California to live alone in the large and eerie family homestead on the Grenelle campus.  Shortly thereafter, Samantha (the preteen daughter of Susan's recently deceased twin sister) also takes up residence in the house.  One of Samantha's playmates is murdered; Samantha is kidnapped; and some dastardly person or persons steals the school's most prized posessin, a splinter that at least some member of the Grenelle faculty believe came from Christ's cross.  Happily for Susan Grenelle, and old boyfriend named Mark Czernick is now the local chief of police.  Susan and Mark not only detect together; they rekindle their old romance. ..."  Holland was the daughter of a Foreign Service officer and was born in Switzerland; she lived abroad in numerous places and attended the University of Liverpool before graduating with a BA from Tulane University.  She was a publishing industry executive and subsequently became a successful writer of gothic and mystery novels, and of children's books.  (Kramer entry #185, p 146.)

70.  Lovesay, Peter.  Swing, Swing Together.  New York:  Dood, Mead, & Co.  1976.  PR 6062 O86 S85 1976.  "  [an] extremely popular series of mysteries featuring Victorian-era detectives Sergeant Cribb and Constable Thackery of Scotland Yard.  [This novel] takes Lovesay's intrepid pair of policemen to the 'Elfrida College for the Training of Female Elementary Teachers' and to Merton College, Oxford, ..."  Lovesay received a BA from the University of Reading and was a member of the faculty at Thurrock Technical College in Essex; his succcess at mystery writing allowed him to leave higher education for full-time mystery writing.  (Kramer entry# 186, pp 146-147.)

71.  Dexter, Colin.  The Silent World of Nicholas Quinn.  New York:  St Martin's, 1977.  PR 6054 E94 S573 1979.  "Nicholas Quinn, a former teacher of English and history at a grammar schol in Yorkshire, joins the staff of the Foreign Examinations Suyndicate, an organziaton near Oxford that gives O- and A-level examinations to students from countries other than England.  A short time later, Quinn is found dead o fpoison in his bachelor aprtment. ... Several University of Oxford dons [deans] appear in the story, both as unpaid members of the syndicate's governing board and as members of the organization's various examining committees, and the book offers rich descriptions of Oxford street scenes."  Dexter recevied a BA and MA from Cambridge, and taught Latin and Greek at several British schools; his chief detective, Inspector Morse, is the subject of several BBC-TV shows. (Kramer entry #190, pp 149-150.)

72.  Gifford, Thomas Eugene.  The Glendower Legacy.  New York:  Putnam, 1978. PS 3557 I284 G553.   "This inventive, if somehwat contrived, thriller centers on Colin Chandler, a forty-five-year-old professor of history at Harvard.  Thought to be in possession of documents proving that George Washington delivered Continental defense secrets to the British, even as the Continental Army starved at Valley Forge, Chandler is chased through Boston and its environs by agents of the Boston police, the KGB, and the CIA.  The interest in Chandler and in the papers that everyone believes are in his care is prompted in part by the murder of Bill Davis, a Harvard undergraduate, and in part by the desire of Maxim Petrov, the head of the KGB, to embarrass Arden Sanger, his CIA counter part. ..."  Gifford received an AB from Harvard and until he turned to writing full-time, he was college textbook salesman.  (Kramer entry #195, p 153.)

73.  MacDougall, James K.  Death and the Maiden, Indianapolis:  Bobbs-Merrill, 1978.  PS 3503 A2198 D42.  "The protagonist of this somber novel is David Stuart, a James K MacDougall series-characater private detective.  Stuart is asked to find the kidnapped, five-year-old daughter of John Stanley, a member of the English department at an American state university.  A wealthy man, Stanley has acquired his bulging bank account not from academic work but by marrying a wealthy woman.  Stuart's initial efforts bear only bitter fruit.  Thanks to some apparent bungling on Stuart's part, John Stanley and his daughter are both killed.  But Stuart perseveres, and the singularly duplicitous villain in the story is eventually identified.  Several members of the state university community emerge as suspects before the book's final chapter.  Not under suspicion, but certainly a nefarious character, is Vincient Lightfoot, the university's dean of undergraduate studies. ..."  At the time this book was published, MacDougall was an associate English professor at Ball State Unviersity.  (Kramer entry #197, p155.) 

74.  MacLeod, Charlotte. Rest You Merry, Garden City, NY: Doubleday &Co, 1978. PS 3563 A31865 R47. "[This] is a comic mystery set at 'Balaclava Agricultural College' in the rural Massachusetts town of 'Balaclava Junction'. The sleuth in Peter Shandy, a zany, bachelor professor of horticulture. The story has Shandy investigating the death of a faculty wife, whose body is found in his home, and the murder by poison of the college comptroller. For good measure, he looks into an act of arson that destroys the college's heating plant. The book's mystery element is well constructed, but the emphases in the tale are on absurd incidents and characterizations. ..." MacLeod was born in New Brunswick, Canada, and when this book was published she was vice president of a Boston advertising company. (Kramer entry # 198, pp 155-156.)

75.  MacLeod, Charlotte. The Luck Runs Out. Garden City NY: Doubleday, 1979. PS 3562 A31865 L82.  "This tongue-in-cheek mystery is set at 'Balaclava Agricultural College' in rural Massachusetts, and it features the antic sleuthing of Professor of Horticulture Peter Shandy. Martha Fackley, a farrier who does work for the college, is murdered. Someone slashes her throat and dumps her body in a pig feeder in the college's animal husbandry barns. Worse yet, Belinda, Balaclava Agricultural College's prize 900-pound sow, is found to be missing. ... The book is loaded with college characters, all of whom display well-advanced cases of galloping eccentricity ..." (Kramer entry #201, pp158-159.)

76.  Barnard, Robert.  Death in a Cold Climate.  London:  Collins,1980;  New York:  Scribner's, 1981.  PR 6052 A665 D4.  "The naked body of a man is found frozen in the snow outside of the Norwegian university city of Trumso [Tromso].  The man, whose skull has been shattered by a heavy insturment, turns out to have been Martain Forsyth, a British crewman from an oil exploration ship.  The detective who handles the case is Inspector Fagermo of the Trumso police.  During the course of his sleuthing, Fagermo has cause to view several members of the University of Trumso community as suspects. ..."At the time of novel's publicatin, Barnard was actually on staff as an English Professor at the University of Trumso.  Note:  The novel also mentions Mormon missionaries who are deposed to give evidence:  pp 58, 62, 67, 125-127, 155-159.  (Kramer entry #204, pp 160-161.)

77.  Carkeet, David.  Double Negative.  New York:  Dial, 1980.  PS 3553 A 688 D68.  "At the 'Wabash Institute', a grant-supported research center in southern Indiana, the professional staff consists of six linguists who study the ways through which children acquire langauge.  One of the lingusits, aged Arthur Stiph, is found dead of a blow to his head, and another, Henry Philpot, is stangled to death and his body thrown into a nearby river.  Jeremy Cook, still another of the institute's linguists, becomes a suspect in both kilings, and he takes up sleuthing to clear his name. ..."  Carkeet has earned an AB from UC-Davis, and MA from University of Wisconsin and a PhD from Indiana University; at the time this book was published,  he was a member of the English Department at the University of Missouri-St Louis.  (Kramer entry # 205, pp 161-162.)

78.  Fiske, Dorsey.  Academic Murder.  New York:  St Martin's, 1980.  PS 3556 I81463 A63 1986.  "Ernest Garmoyle, the distinguished head of the 'Prye Library' at the University of Cambridge's 'Sheepshank College', dies at the college's high table after drinking port dosed with arsenic.  The first police offiical on the scene is Inspector Bunce of the local constabulary, but the prominence of the victim soon brings Inspector Pocklington of Scotland Yard onto the scene.  Pocklington is a former Sheepshank student.  Also invovled in the sleuthing is John Fenchurch, a sixtyish Sheepshank lecturer in architecture who is one of Inspector Pocklington's former tutors.  As the several detectives try to identify Ernest Garmoyle's killer, a handwirtten copy of an early Shakespeare poem disappears from the Prye Library and a rapist dressed in academic robes terrorizes Cambridge and its environs.  Academic Murder is a throwback to the elegent British college mysteries written just before and after World War II. ..."  Fiske is an American, born in Hawaii, who graduated from Radcliffe College and attended Darwin College, Cambridge, in the early seventies.  (Kramer entry # 206, pp162-163.)

79.  Keech, Scott.  Ciphered.  New York:  Harper and Row, 1980.  PS 3561 E333 C56.  "This elaboratgely plotted, on-campus mystery takes place at 'Thorpe University'a state-supported institution somewhere in the eastern part of the United States.  Ernest Feith and his wife are shot dead in their home.  Feith, a professor of biochemistry and director of the University Research Center, had many faculty enemies.  He was also a wealthy man, and his two adult children stand to gain large legacies from his death.  The detective in the case is Inspector Jeff Adams, a bachelor police office and a part-time student at the university.  Adams is ably assisted by Kate Shaw, a young and beautiful member of the Thorpe history department.  Complicating matters is the fact that Kate's father, Mark Shaw, is a professor of theater at Thorpe and himself a suspect. ..."  Keech wrote only this one mystery novel, and lived in Berkeley, California, when it was written.  (Kramer entry # 208, pp163-164.)

(Add / Edit Text 
  
)

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Brian Champion
Contact:
Brian Champion
HBLL 1225 (801)-422-5862