Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Murder at BYU: A finding guide to and annotated bibliography of murder mysteries in the Harold B Lee Library at BYU involving universities, colleges, professors and/or students: Reference books

An annotated bibliography of professor-, student-, college- or university-based murder mystery fiction or literature in the Harold B Lee Library (HBLL) at BYU.

x

Reference and Analysis

[Call numbers in bold are for 5th Floor, Lee Library.]

Geherin, David.  Sons of Sam Spade:  The Private-eye Novel in the 70s:  Robert B Parker, Roger L Simon, Andrew Bergman, New York:  Frederick Unger Publsihing, 1980.  Call number:  PS 374 D4 G4

Geherin, David.  The American Private Eye:  The Image in Fiction, New York:  Frederick Unger Publihsihg, 1985.  Call number:  PS 374 D4 G39 1985.

Herbert, Rosemary.  Whodunit?  A Who's Who in Crime and Mystery Writing, New York:  Oxford Univeristy Press, 2003.  Call number:  PN 3448 D4 H37 2003 HUM REF.  From the back cover:  "Who populates the pages of crime and mystery writing?  Who are the characters we willing follow into the mystery genre's uneasy and imaginative territory?  And who created those characters in the first place? ... Whodunit? answers these questions and more.  Here mystery expert Rosemary Herbert brings together enlightening and entertaining information on hundreds of classic and contemporary charcters and authors.  Some--such as PD James, Ian Rankin, Sherlock Holmes, and Kinsey Millhone--appear in individual entries.  Still more keep company in articles about characters we admire, such as the Clerical Sleuth, and in pieces about those we love to hate, including the Femme Fatale and the Con Artist.  There is even an article on a figure that haunts so many great works of mystery--The Corpse.  Drawing on the Edgar Award-nominated Oxford Companion to Crime and Mystery Writing, Herbert adds 101 new entires on the hottest new names in works ranging from the puzzling whodunits to chilling crime novels. ... Herbert is a book review editor and mystery book review columnist for the Boston Herald, who  has also edited the Oxford Companion to Crime and Mystery Writing (call number:  PN 3448 D4 H37 1999 HUM REF and as an ebook--see also entry below), the Oxford Book of American Detective Stories (with Tony Hillerman) (call number:  PS 648 D4 O98 1997 Special Collections), Murder on Deck!  Shipboard and Shoreline Mystery Stories, and Twelve American Crime Stories.  She is also the author of Fatal Art of  Entertainment:  Interviews with Mystery Writers (call number:  PR 888 D4 H47 1994).  A former reference librarian at Harvard University, Herbert created a course on detective fiction at Tufts University in Boston."  

Hubin, Allen J.  Crime Fiction 1749-1980:  A Comprehensive Bibliography, and, Supplement, 1981-1985, New York:  GarladPublsihing, 1980, and 1988.  Call number:  PR 830 D4 X622.

Knight, Stephen.  Crime Fiction Since 1800:  Detection, Death, Diversity, 2nd editoin, New York:  Palgrave MacMillan, 2010. Call number:  PR 830 D4 K59 2010. 

Kramer, John E,  Academe in Mystery and Detective Fiction:  An Anotated Bibliography, Lanham, MD:  Scarecrow Press, 2000.  Call number:  PS 374 D4 X658 2000.   

McGill, Frank, ed.  Critical Survey of Mystery and Detective Fiction.  Pasadena, CA:  Salem Press, 1988.  Call number:  PN 3448 D4 C75 1988 HUM REF. Four volume work, contains biographies of more than 270 authors, and includes the following:  espionage, police procdureal, psychological thriller, hard-boiled detective, romantic suspense, and private investigators, including ethnic, and religious sub-genres.    Information available at each entry includes:  author's name, birth and death info; psuedonyms; types of plots; principle series and/or principle series  character(s).  The "Contribution" section highlights the author's impact on the genre; the "Biography" section "offers a concise overview of the author's life"; and the "analysis" section "examines the author's representaivtiv work and tahe autlr's unique contirbution" (pp v-vi).  A substantial biliobraphy appends to each article.  Volume 4 contains indices of subgrenes and series character, as well as a glossary of mystery/detective terms.  See also Rolllyson, below.for update edition.

Moore, Lewis D.  Cracking the Hard-Boiled Detective:  A Critical History From the 1920s to the Present, Jefferson, NC:  McFarland and Company, 2006.  Call number:  PS 374 D4 M66 2006. 

Rollyson, Carl, ed.  Critical Survey of Mystery and Detective Fiction, Revised Edition.  Pasadena, CA:  Salem Press, 2008.  Call number:  PN 3448 D4 C75 2008 HUM REF.  From the "Publisher's Note":  "[This work] provides detailed analyses of the lives and major contributions to the fascinating literary subgenre of mystery and detective fiction.  Thie greatly expanded 5-volume set is the first full revision of a work that originally appeared in 1988.  Published in 4 smaller, unillustrated volumes, the original Critical Survey of Mysery and Detective Fiction contained 275 articles about individual authors of mystery and detective fiction, and a glossary of terms.  This new edition updates or replaces all the original articles and adds entirely new entries on 118 more authors, raising the total to 393 articles, an increase of 43%.  The original glossary has been expanded and divided into two parts.  Moreover, this new edition adds 37 entirely new overview essays and 5 new appendices, raising to 7 the total number of items in the "Resources" section of volume 5." (p v).  Volume 5 uniquely contains the following:  essays on the "past and present of mystery and detective fiction"; a break down by geography of global mystery fiction; all the subgenres of mystery fiction ( inlcuding academic mystery fiction, cozies, ethnic American mystery fiction, feminist and lesbian mystery fiction, forensic mysteries, historical mysteries, horror stories, juvenile and young-adult mystery stories, parodies, police procedurals, science fiction mysteries, spy novels, thrillers, and true-crime stories).  Another index provides profiles of the detective (including amateur sleuths, armchair detectives, hard-boiled detectives, Sherlock Holmes pastiches, and women detectives).   Additionally there is analyses of other media, including films, graphic novels and televison.    Indexes inlcude:  geographical index of authors, categorized index of authors, character index and subject indes.   (p lxxvii).  Rollyson is a professor at Baruch College, City University of New York, and nearly all of the 228 contributors are from colleges and/or  universities.  See also McGill above.

   Schmid, Georg.  Profiling the American Detective:  Parker's Prose on the Coded Game of Sleuth and Rogue and the Tradition of the Crime Story, Frankfurter:  Peter Lang, 2004.   Call number:  PS 3566 A686 Z86 2004. 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Brian Champion
Contact:
Brian Champion
HBLL 1225 (801)-422-5862