Subject Guides: Family and Consumer Sciences: Fashion

Library Chat

3rd Floor (Click for map)

Chat requires JavaScript.

Journal Finder

Databases for Academic Articles

Godey's Lady's Book This link opens in a new window Covers 1830-1885. Many of America's greatest authors were first published in Godey's, the first successful American journal for women. Resource for the study of 19th Century American history and important social issues of the day. Covers social history, women's studies, textiles studies, material culture and literature. From History Commons, formerly Accessible Archives.
Design and Applied Arts Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window 1973+ Indexes and abstracts information in design, design-related and photography journals. Includes articles, news items, conference and seminar reports, book reviews, videos, films, exhibitions and illustration. Also includes links to design sites on the Internet. Updated quarterly.

Call Numbers For Print Materials

GT 500–2370 Manners and Costumes: Costume, Dress, Fashion

GT 500–2370 Costume. Folklore: Costume, Jewelry

NK 8800-9506 Textile fabrics. Textile printing. Textile design

PN 1995.9 Fashion in motion pictures

PN 2000–3307 Dramatic representation; stage and set design

PN 2067 Costuming for the stage

TS 1445 Textile fabrics

TT 490–696 Handicrafts. Arts and crafts: Clothing manufacture. Dressmaking. Tailoring

Subject Headings (courtesy of Julie Williamsen)

Following is a sample list of the most commonly used Library of Congress subject headings for costume or fashion research. Since Costume is an older term in use, more entries for historical titles will appear under this heading than for Clothing and dress. A comprehensive search should make use of both main headings.

Clothing and dress

Fashion

Fashion Designers

These headings can also be subdivided by time period (century) and geographical location.

Clothing and dress-Great Britain

Fashion-History

Narrower subject terms exist, including some of the following:

Aprons

Belts

Children’s clothing

Clothing and dress measurements

Coats

Collars

Color in clothing

Dress Accessories

Footwear

Fur garments

Jackets

Men’s clothing

Nationalism in clothing

Neckwear

Riding habit

Sleepwear

Sports clothes

Suits (Clothing)

Sweaters

Tailoring

Underwear

Uniforms

Vintage clothing

Women’s clothing

Work clothes

Subject Guide

Quinn Galbraith

Email Me

Contact:

You can email me or click on "Schedule an Appointment". I am often available on short notice. Please feel free to text me at 801-362-9427 to ask about my immediate availability to assist you with your research questions.

Subjects: Social Sciences