Subject Guides: Theatre & Media Design: General Info. & Reviews

Helpful Resources!

Performance Design Archive (ASP) This link opens in a new window Performance Design Archive Online is the first comprehensive, international collection that covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, and makeup. Bringing together essential books and periodicals, archival material, and specially commissioned instructional videos, the collection will cover design concepts for a broad range of performance types, including dance, theatre, opera, and music.

An Introduction to Technical Theatre An Introduction to Technical Theatre is a peer-reviewed, openly licensed textbook (written by Tal Sanders) intended for college or high school use. The text’s modular format is also intended to assist teachers approach the subject at their own pace and structure, a necessity for those who may regularly rearrange their syllabi around productions and space scheduling. The book draws on the author’s experience in both the theatre and the classroom over the last 30 years. It provides a comprehensive overview of technical theatre, including terminology and general practices.
Art Directors Guild Some recommended online resources for production design research, compiled by ADG Archivist Barbara Hall.
IBDB = Internet Broadway Database

Asian Theatre Video Collection This link opens in a new window Asian Theater video collection from Drama Online offers interviews with leading performers and practitioners, and houses a tranche of filmed performances, documentaries, rehearsal footage, and training videos. From Butoh to Bollywood, Bunraku to Topeng, this collection is a vital repository for students and academics interested in Asia’s rich theatrical traditions.
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window Over 200 live full length productions – including Digital Theatre’s own recordings alongside collections such as BBC, Royal Shakespeare Company, Broadway Digital Archive, Royal Opera House, London Symphony Orchestra, Shakespeare’s Globe etc… And including audio radio-plays from LA Theatre Works. Over 140 in-depth interviews with industry professionals including actors, directors as well as all backstage staff: lighting technicians, fight coordinators, stage managers et al.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window Complete digital library of the most studied and performed plays from the last 2,500 years. Contains scholarly notes, annotated texts, contextual information, synopsis, biographical entries, and material on acting, directing, and lighting. Features drama titles from the Methuen Drama, Arden Shakespeare lists, and the LA Theatre Works. Includes epics, monologues, and one-person plays in all time periods, as well as translations of major foreign works. Features play tools with character grids, words and speech graphs, and over 500 images.
Theatre in Context (ASP) This link opens in a new window Formerly North American Theatre Online, this is a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theater. It includes major reference materials, plays, people, theatres, productions and production companies. Also includes some images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Directories, & Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window Get background information about people, literary and dramatic works, actors, etc.

Contemporary Theatre, Film & Television - Humanities Reference PN 2208 .W5 A biographical reference series providing information on a wide range of entertainment figures.

Literature Resource Center (LRC)(Gale) This link opens in a new window Find biographical information about authors and dramatists as well as overviews and criticism of literary and dramatic works.

The Methuen Drama Dictionary of the Theatre by Johnathan Law (2011) - Humanities Reference PN 2035 .M47 2011 The Methuen Drama Dictionary of the Theatre is an essential reference tool and companion for anyone interested in the theatre and theatre-going. Containing over 2500 entries it covers the international spectrum of theatre with particular emphasis on the UK and USA. With biographical information on playwrights, actors and directors, entries on theatres and theatre companies, explanation of technical terms and theatrical genres, and synopses of major plays, this is an authoritative, trustworthy and comprehensive compendium.
Entertainment Sourcebook by The Association of Theatrical Artists and Craftspeople - Humanities Reference PN 2091 .S8 N43 2004 An insider's guide to finding any item imaginable, be it a Civil War saber, an animal to rent, authentic Amish clothing, 19th-century chandeliers, crystal and glassware, or plumbing supplies and fixtures.

Reviews Plus

For additional review resources visit the Theatre Guide and the Film & Media Arts Guide.

New York Times Archive (1851-2006) This link opens in a new window A ProQuest Historical Newspaper, the New York Times Archive (1851-2006) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Performing Arts Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Do an Advanced search and limit Document Type to the kind of review you're looking for (i.e. theater review, film review, etc.). Some articles from Variety & New York Times are indexed here too.
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-1985) (Gale) This link opens in a new window

Variety Television Reviews, 1923-1988 - Humanities Reference PN 1992.3 .U5 V36 Volume 15 is a comprehensive index. Look there for title of TV play/program.

L. Tom Perry Special Collections - Arts & Communications

Arts & Communications Archives - the archives includes collections relating to the American cinema’s artisans, institutions, and critics.

Film Music Archives - the Film Music Archives contains files and recordings of Republic Pictures and Max Steiner, acknowledged founder of modern film music, whose collection documents his more than 300 scores. Plus more!

Performing Arts Librarian

Myrna Layton

Email Me

Contact:

4431 HBLL

Phone or Text 801-422-4334

Subjects: Music & Dance, Theatre

Get Help

Humanities Reference
Level 5
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm

801.422.4006
humref@byu.edu

Images

ArtStor This link opens in a new window ARTstor is a digital image database of nearly 700,000 images from a wide range of cultures and time periods. It includes tools to manipulate the images for study and teaching. Select to Browse by Classification and select Fashion, Costume and Jewelry.
Images may be used for non-commercial, scholarly, and educational purposes.

Associated Press Images Photographs featured in Associated Press articles. Photos are searchable by topic, location and date.
more...less...
Usage Terms: Archive photographs may not be used or published in newspapers, magazines, brochures, catalogs, commercial announcements, calendars, posters, yearbooks, playbills, newsletters, on t-shirts or promotional items, or for commercial use or gain of any kind.
Images may be used for reports, term papers, theses, class handouts, research, and in-class visual presentations.
Digital Public Library of America Links to old photographs from various sources and archives.
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog