All
Handbooks
Journals
Korean Linguistics: The Journal of the International Circle of Korean Linguistics
Peer-reviewed journal publishing research across syntax, semantics, phonology, sociolinguistics, discourse-pragmatics, and historical linguistics.
Books
Korean Wave in World Englishes: The Linguistic Impact of Korea's Popular Culture
Publication Date: 2023
E-book
Hangul History
General Linguistics Encyclopedias and Handbooks
-
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Linguistics This link opens in a new windowContains several articles on topics of Asian linguistics. Must access from on campus to view all articles.
-
Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics This Wiley reference work brings together historic and emerging areas of research within applied linguistics. It includes over 1,100 entries written by an international team of scholars from over 40 countries.
-
Linguistics Encyclopedia, 2nd ed. This link opens in a new window The second edition of this linguistic encyclopedia can be searched by keyword or browsed alphabetically for articles. An extensive bibliography is included. Viewing requires download of the ebrary reader.
-
Oxford Bibliographies: Linguistics This link opens in a new window Oxford Bibliographies in Linguistics is organized around discrete linguistic subject entries, combining expert commentary with resource listings. OBO also provides direct links to holdings in the BYU online catalog and other online repositories.
-
Oxford Handbooks - Linguistics This link opens in a new window Original, peer reviewed, research reviews covering the key issues and exploring major debates in linguistics. The link will take you to a list of all Oxford Handbooks, scroll down to select the Oxford Handbook of Chinese Linguistics.
-
Ethnologue This link opens in a new windowEthnologue brings together data for any language from populations to maps, dialects, usage, and more.
Recommended Databases for Finding Scholarship on Linguistics
-
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations about literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR focuses on humanities, social science, and more recently, science titles which have proven themselves vital to these disciplines and which have many years of publication, in some cases going back to the 19th century. Also searches ARTstor.
-
Bibliography of Linguistic Literature This link opens in a new window BLLDB is the online version of the Bibliography of Linguistic Literature (BLL). It is one of the most important sources of bibliographical information for general as well as English, German and Romance linguistics. Years of coverage run from 1971 to the present, making this a good complement to Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA).
-
Linguistics/Language Behavior Abstracts -- LLBA (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window 1973+ Indexes and abstracts articles from 2,000 U.S. and foreign periodicals in language use, linguistics, and related disciplines. Updated twice a year.
-
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window(1967–present). Good for researching language teaching (pedagogy) and TESOL.
-
Treasury of Linguistic Maps (DeGruyter) This link opens in a new window Treasury of Linguistic Maps presents linguistic maps selected from various atlases and other publications. There are several specific search functionalities (e.g. category/sub-discipline, language described in the map, geographical location, year or period described, map caption/description, map author, book author, book title, year of publication, and full text).
Asian Studies Librarian
Tim Davis
Contact:
I am happy to meet with you in person or virtually to help you with any research questions.
Office: 5449 HBLL
Phone: 801-422-4061
Office: 5449 HBLL
Phone: 801-422-4061
Request a Book
Click this button to recommend a book you think the library should purchase.