Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Instructional DVDS you can check out!
Browse the DVD collection between MD 1621-1728 – Dance by region or country for the World Dance of your preference.
Dances of India - Learning Bharata Natyam by
Call Number: MD 1693 .C53 L42 2000 DVD
Highlights of this DVD include: 1.Salutation, 2.Basic Positions, 3.Single Hand Gestures, 4.Warm up Exercises, 5.Steps Series One, 6.Head Movements, 7.Eye Movements, 8.Neck Movements, 9.Steps Series Two, 10.Double Hand Gestures, 11.Poses, 12.Costumes & Make Up, 13.Ananda Natanam Dance.
Israeli Jewish Dance by
Call Number: MD 1703 .I75 I77 2000 DVD
Including slow-motion versions with voiceover instructions. Instructions on DVD and music on CD.
Tinikling Today by
Call Number: MD 1703 .P44 T56 2006 DVD
Basic technique, skills & drills, routines.
Multicultural Folk Dance by
Call Number: MD 1743 .M84 2007 vol.1-2 DVD
Each dance is taught by a native of the country of origin or by an expert in the dance. Instructors show step by step how to perform the dance.
World Dance on DVD to enjoy as a spectator
Hā : breath of life by Video of the entire show and a "making of" special feature.
Call Number: MD 1727.8 .H3 2013 DVD
Salt Spring Island Folk Dance Festival The festival ran on Canada's Salt Spring Island from 2004-2014. Performances of featured dances performed at the festival each year are on the annual DVD.
Call Number: MD 1743 .S35 2004-2012 DVD
Khmer Court Dance by A collection of five authentic dances in the Khmer court repertoire, performed in traditional costume by masters of these dances, accompanied by a traditional music ensemble. A comprehensive study of movements, gestures, and postures as applied techniques; also includes excellent historical background as introduction to each dance.
Call Number: MD 1703 .C3 K55 1995 DVD
Dance in Bali: Upon the sacred stage
Call Number: MD 1703 .I53 Y34 2004 vol.1-2
Examines the dance culture of Bali as it is intimately intertwined with religion and life. This program includes an Introduction to Sacred Dance and the dances Sanghyang Jaran, Calon Arang, Gambuh, and Topeng.
Dance in Video Dance in Video will contain 250 dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. This release includes 189 videos, equalling 140 hours. You can also access Dance in Video through the Music Online interface.
The Digital Video Research Archive of Morris, Sword, and Clog Dancing at Boston University The Digital Video Research Archive is a research initiative built on the work of Anthony G. Barrand and Francisco J. Ricardo, Ph.D. (UNI '99) at Boston University. Its foundation is a unique thirty-year chronological record of change and non-change of dance movement and accompaniment-style through aging and generational replacement of dancers. This library comprises several thousand performances whose material is searchable through a simple but multilayered interface intended to support both basic search and more complex hermeneutic research in this area.