Skip to main content

REL 100 Intro to the LDS Church: Books on Specific Topics

A guide to help students on their research projects for REL 100: Introduction to the LDS Church.

Philosophy and Church History/Doctrine Librarian

Gerrit van Dyk's picture
Gerrit van Dyk
Contact:
Office: 2249 HBLL
Phone: (801) 422-4090
gerrit_vandyk@byu.edu

Find Books on Special Topics

Use this page to find the Call Number range for a specific topic or doctrine you are researching. For example, Ctrl+F "Islam" will show you the Call Number range BX 8630.16 for books about Mormonism and how it compares to Islam. Once you have that range, you can go to the library shelves for that call number and browse all books about that particular topic. Note this is a specific cataloging scheme unique to BYU. These call numbers will not be correct at other libraries.

Doctrinal Theology

BX 8630                       General works

                              Comparative theology. Relation to other churches and religions

BX 8630.1                          General works

                                    Individual churches and religions

BX 8630.12                              Catholic Church

BX 8630.125                            Community of Christ

BX 8630.13                              Evangelicalism

BX 8630.15                              Judaism

BX 8630.16                              Islam

BX 8630.17                              Protestant churches

BX 8630.18                              Unification Church

BX 8630.2                    Outlines, syllabi, etc.

BX 8630.3                    Compendiums

BX 8630.4                    Catechisms

BX 8630.9                    Apologetics

BX 8630.91                  Mormonism and Freemasons

Godhead

BX 8631                             General works

BX 8631.1                          God the Father

BX 8631.11                              Principle of Godship

BX 8631.12                              Personal attributes

BX 8631.2                          Jesus Christ

BX 8631.21                              Pre‑existence of Christ

Cf. BX8633.3, Pre-existence of man

BX 8631.22                              Christ as creator

Cf. BX8633.4, Creation

BX 8631.23                              Atonement

BX 8631.25                              Resurrection

(BX 8631.26)                           Second advent.  See also BX8636.1

BX 8631.29                              Life of Christ

Works about the life and teachings of Christ which are peculiar to the LDS Church, including his ministry on the American continent.

BX 8631.3                          Holy Ghost

BX 8631.31                              Personal characteristics

BX 8631.32                              Manifestations and gifts of the Holy Ghost.  Spiritual gifts

BX 8631.4                          Divine attributes of the Godhead

                                    Revelation

BX 8631.7                                General works

BX 8631.71                              Personal appearances of God

BX 8631.72                              Visions

BX 8631.73                              Revelations and prophecies

BX 8631.74                              Miracles

BX 8631.8                                Theodicy

Vindication of God’s justice and goodness in permitting existence of evil and suffering.

Divine authority

BX 8632                             General works

BX 8632.1                          Lineage of authority

BX 8632.2                          Priesthood

Plan of salvation.

BX 8633                             General works

BX 8633.1                          Eternal progression

BX 8633.2                          Free agency. Accountability

BX 8633.3                          Pre‑existence of man

Includes war in heaven and the expulsion of Satan.

BX 8633.4                          Creation

Includes fall of Adam and evolution.

BX 8633.45                        Animals

BX 8633.5                          Sin

Origin of sin and its continuance.

BX 8633.6                          Earth life. Doctrine of Man. Doctrinal anthropology

Personality and purpose of man. Includes doctrines concerning death, translation, suicide, etc.

Cf. BX8636.4, Death (Eschatology)

BX 8633.7                          The soul

BX 8634                             Salvation

        Includes ordinances necessary for salvation.

BX 8634.1                          Faith. Faith and works.

BX 8634.2                          Repentance and redemption

BX 8634.3                          Baptism

Cf. BX8634.62, Baptism for the dead

BX 8634.4                          Confirmation

                                          Temple work and endowments

Cf. BX8655.81, Temple dedications

Cf. BX8682.1, Temples (Architecture)

BX 8634.5                                General works      

BX 8634.52                              Special temples. By name or place, A-Z

                                          Salvation for the dead

BX 8634.6                                General works

BX 8634.61                              Missionary labors among the dead

BX 8634.62                              Baptism for the dead

BX 8634.63                              Temple work for the dead

    Marriage.  Eternal marriage. Temple marriage

Includes works of advice and counsel to married couples by Mormon authors.

Cf. BX8642.3, family life

BX 8634.7                                General works

BX 8634.71                              Plural marriage

For the doctrine of plural marriage only. For works on the development and social problems relating to the practice of polygamy, see BX8643.9.

Supernatural beings. The invisible world

BX 8635                             General works

BX 8635.1                          Angels

BX 8635.3                          Satan

Eschatology. Last Days

BX 8636                             General works

BX 8636.1                          Second Advent

BX 8636.2                          Zion. New Jerusalem

BX 8636.3                          Millenium

BX 8636.4                          Death. Bereavement

BX 8636.5                          Intermediate state. Near-death experiences

BX 8636.51                              Paradise

BX 8636.52                              Spirit prison. Hell

BX 8636.6                          Resurrection

BX 8636.7                          Final judgment

Future state

BX 8637                             General works

BX 8637.1                          Immortality

BX 8637.2                          Degrees of glory

BX 8637.21                              Celestial glory

BX 8637.22                              Terrestrial glory

BX 8637.23                              Telestial glory

BX 8637.24                        Sons of perdition

House of Israel. Israelitish Fulfillment

BX 8638                             General works

BX 8638.1                          Abrahamic covenant

BX 8638.2                          Dispersion of Israel

BX 8638.3                          Gathering of Israel

BX 8638.4                          Lost ten tribes

BX 8638.5                          Adoption into the House of Israel

Practical Theology

(BX 8640)                    Devotional theology

See also BX 8648.

Moral and ethical beliefs

BX 8641                             General works

BX 8641.1                          Chastity and morality. Sexual ethics

                                          Cf. BX8646.25, Dating

BX 8641.12                              Homosexuality

BX 8641.13                              Pornography

BX 8641.2                          Personal religion. Religiousity. Interpersonal relations

The way in which religion influences personal activities (e.g. church participation, honesty, etc.)

Devotions

BX 8642                             General works

Prayer

BX 8642.1                          General works

BX 8642.13                              Family prayer

BX 8642.14                              Blessing of food (grace)

BX 8642.15                              Congregational prayer

Scripture study

See BX8620.07

BX 8642.2                          Fasting

Cf. BX8652.2., Fast offerings

BX 8642.3                          Family life. Parenting. Child rearing

Includes Family Home Evening.

Cf., BX8634.7, Marriage

Cf. BX8642.13, Family prayer

Cf. BX8643.65, Family problems in modern society

BX 8642.32                              Fatherhood

BX 8642.34                              Motherhood

BX 8642.4                          Religious vestments

Includes burial clothes.

Social theology

BX 8643                             General works.

BX 8643.1                          United Order

Includes material concerning consecration and stewardship.

Welfare

Includes food storage, emergency preparedness, Deseret Industries, etc.

Cf. BX8643.68, Economics, personal finance

BX 8643.2                                General works

BX 8643.21                                    General Church welfare system

BX 8643.22                                    Regional programs

BX 8643.23                                    Stake and ward programs                  

Church and politics

Includes works on the Constitution of the United States and America as a chosen land.

BX 8643.3                                General works

BX 8643.31                              Kingdom of God and the world

BX 8643.32                              Council of Fifty

BX 8643.4                          Religious liberty

BX 8643.5                          Military service

Includes conscientious objectors.

Church and social groups. Church work with special groups

BX 8643.6                                General works

BX 8643.62                              Ethnic groups

BX 8643.621                                  Indians

BX 8643.622                                  Blacks

BX 8643.623                                  Hispanic Americans

BX 8643.63                              People with disabilities

BX 8643.64                              Women in the LDS Church. Mormon women

Cf. BX8642.3, Family life

                                    Family problems in modern society

(e.g. divorce, birth control, abortion, adoption, disabled children, child abuse, artificial insemination, single life, etc.)

Cf. BX8642.3, Family life

Cf. BX8634.7, Eternal marriage

BX 8643.65                              General works

BX 8643.651                            Domestic abuse. Child abuse

BX 8643.652                            Adoption

BX 8643.654                            Divorce

BX 8643.658                            Single people

BX 8643.66                        Communism

BX 8643.67                        Mormons and war

                                    Economics. Personal finance

BX 8643.68                              General works

BX 8643.682                            Money

                                                                Includes Mormon produced money.

BX 8643.69                        Other social problems

BX 8643.7                          Legal status of Mormonism. Civil rights. Suffrage

Polygamy

Polygamy as practiced by the Church and its social implications.

For the doctrine of plural marriage, see BX8634.71

For polygamy among fundamentalist groups, see BX8690

BX 8643.9                                General works

BX 8643.91                              Anti‑polygamy laws

                        Religion and science. Faith and intellect

BX 8644                             General works.

Includes intellectual life, scholarship, etc.

BX 8644.1                          Relation of the gospel to specific academic disciplines, A-Z

                                          Use work letter to subarrange by author.

Religion and health

BX 8645                             General works.  Word of Wisdom

BX 8645.1                          Tobacco

BX 8645.2                          Alcoholic beverages. Alcoholism

BX 8645.3                          Coffee and tea. Beverages

BX 8645.4                          Narcotics. Drug use

BX 8645.6                          Mental health. Codependency. Compulsive behavior. Depression

BX 8645.8                          Health fads

Pastoral theology. Church work. Ministry

BX 8646                             General works

BX 8646.1                          Counseling by ward or stake officials

BX 8646.2                          Youth counseling. Advice to youth. Church work with youth

Cf. BX8657.431, Young Men, Scouting

Cf.BX8657.435, Young Women

Cf. BX8687.3, Stories for youth

BX 8646.25                              Dating

BX 8646.3                          Home teaching. Ward teaching

BX 8646.4                          Correlation. Fellowshipping. Church work with new members

BX 8646.5                          General epistles of the First Presidency