String quartets commissioned by the Kronos Quartet. Scores and parts available free online.
The Complete Marches of John Philip Sousa by United States Marine Band Lieutenant Colonel Jason K. Fettig, DirectorThe Complete Marches of John Philip Sousa, Vol. 1 This multi-year recording project is the Marine Band's first comprehensive collection of Sousa's marches since the 1970s. The collection is in chronological order, and Volume 1 contains his first 17 marches, covering the years 1873 to 1882. Volume 1 is available for free download on the Marine Band website, which includes audio, scrolling score videos, and PDFs of the sheet music (full scores and parts) with historical and editorial notes. Each march has been carefully edited and corrected by Lt. Col. Fettig and Music Production Chief Master Sgt. Donald Patterson using some of the earliest known publications and incorporate performance practices employed by the Marine Band that are modeled on those of "The March King" himself.
Publication Date: 2015
Naxos Music LibraryThis link opens in a new windowNaxos Music Library [NML] is the world's largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 66,200 CDs with more than 950,000 tracks. On average, 800 new CDs are added to the library every month. The library offers the catalogs of more than 320 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining every month. Among the labels whose catalogs are included in the service are leading independent classical labels such as ARC, Berlin Classics, BIS, Capriccio, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Naive, Naxos, Nimbus, Ondine and Vanguard Classics. World music content is provided by ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others; and there is also jazz, film music, nostalgia, classic and contemporary rock content.
Prohibited from downloading, copying, burning, capturing, re-transmitting, recording or reproducing the Service by any means or in any form.
Naxos Video LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe world's leading Performing Arts DVD distributor brings you an extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. Watch the world's greatest opera houses, ballet companies, orchestras and artists perform on demand! Once you subscribe, stream any video in the library from anywhere in the world with an internet connection.
Opera in VideoOpera in Video contains 500 hours (291 works) of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon. The collection presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes. Multiple performances and stagings worldwide of the major operas allow for analysis of stage design, vocal techniques, roles, and musical interpretation across time periods, opera houses, and conductors.
Films on DemandThis link opens in a new windowFilms on Demand is a collection of 7,500 full-length videos and 90,000 video clips with educational use in mind. These films cover topics within Science/Medicine, Humanities/Social Sciences and Business/Economics, including Music and DAnce. The website features allow users to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, and manage personalized folders.
Public performance rights are included.
National Jukebox by Library of CongressThe Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives. The National Jukebox debuts featuring more than 10,000 78rpm disc sides issued by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1900 and 1925.