Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mormon & Western Publications: 19th Century Mormonism

Guide to the Mormon & Western Publications Collection at L. Tom Perry Special Collections

Description

This page contains a list of references for the study of Mormonism in the 19th century. It also includes links to primary source printed materials, such as the early British newspaper for Latter-day Saints, the Millennial Star, the Young Women's Journal, and a wide variety of other digitized publications. We have also provided links to digital collections found on Internet Archive and through Signature Books. Because URLs and other digital resources change from time to time, we cannot guarantee that every resource here is safe, but sites with BYU URLs should be safe, and will not often be changed. Links to other major collections with Mormon-related holdings, such as the LDS Church History Library, University of Utah Special Collections, and Utah State Archives are also provided here.

A Mormon Bibliography, 1830-1930, is an extremely important resource for locating publications related to the history of Mormonism. Updated regularly, this database is a basic tool for locating books that mention Mormons. It includes works written in the earliest days of the Church as well as works by many of the major groups that arose following the death of Joseph Smith in 1844. While Mormon periodicals are included, references to specific articles in non-LDS newspapers are not included. The best ways to use this database include searching by language, date, or a specific author. Since the database does not generally include key words in entries, general subject searches will not usually produce the best results; please use the main catalog for more general queries.

Perhaps the best resource available for the study of 19th century Mormon publications is Peter Crawley's A Descriptive Bibliography of the Mormon Church. This three-volume set is available online through the Religious Studies Center free of charge:

Volume 1

Volume 2

Volume 3

Another significant resource is the online edition of A Mormon Bibliography, 1830-1930, originally compiled by Chad Flake and Larry Draper, found here: https://lib.byu.edu/collections/mormon-bibliography/

Curator, 19th and 20th Century Mormon and Western Americana (Books)

Profile Photo
Greg Seppi
Contact:
1124 HBLL
L. Tom Perry Special Collections
Harold B. Lee Library
Provo, UT 84601
801-422-6372

Other Digital Resources