Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Veteran's History: Digitized Veteran's History Materials

Guide to the Veteran's History Collection at L. Tom Perry Special Collections

J Malan Heslop WWII Photos

J Malan Heslop left a memorable record of the final nine months of World War II in Europe, from September 1944 through May 1945. The over 1350 photographs found in the digital collection were scanned from the negatives, original prints, and slides.

View the collection on a map.

Browse the collection.

Learn more about the J Malan Heslop Collection.

Online Exhibit: Remembering World War II: Pearl Harbor and Beyond

In August of 2006, an exhibition Remembering World War II: Pearl Harbor and Beyond opened in L. Tom Perry Special Collections and ran until June 2007. An online exhibit based on this exhibit is available at exhibits.lib.byu.edu/wwii/‚Äč

Edward M. Hayhurst Civil War Letters

Edward Hayhurst wrote nine letters to either his father or mother during March 1863. Letters were written while in camp or headquarters in Franklin, Tennessee, eleven days of which Hayhurst spent in the field hospital with some fever that temporarily damaged his hearing. It also includes (chronologically first) a copy of an army Special Order detailing Edward as Clerk in the Assistant Adjutant Genderal’s Office at headquarters in Franklin, Tennessee, under George K. Speed. Digitized letters on CONTENTdm.