Subject Guides: The Medieval Bookshelf: Further reading and resources

Books

Backhouse, Janet. The Illuminated Manuscript. Oxford: Phaidon, 1979.

HBLL Stacks ND 3310 .B32 1979

Brown, Michelle. Understanding Illuminated Manuscripts: A Guide to Technical Terms. Malibu, Calif.: J. Paul Getty Museum in conjunction with the British Library, 1994.

HBLL Stacks ND 2889 .B76 1994

De Hamel, Christopher. A History of Illuminated Manuscripts. Oxford: Phaidon, 1986.

HBLL Stacks ND 2900.D36 1986 or Special Collections Reference ND 2900.D36 1986

De Hamel, Christopher. The Book: A History of the Bible. London: Phaidon, 2001.

Religion/Family History Reference BS 445.D45x 2001

Shailor, Barbara A. The Medieval Book. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1991.

Special Collections Rare Book Collection Z 6621.B424 S5 1991

Thompson, James Westfall. The Medieval Library. University of Chicago Studies in Library Science. New York: Hafner, 1967.

HBLL Stacks Z 723.T47x 1967

Library Guides and Databases

Art & Art History Subject Guide

Religion Subject Guide

European Studies Subject Guide

Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
Largest database of medieval art, with records for over 23,000 works of art dating from early apostolic times to 1400. There are over 60,000 images from institutions such as the Morgan Library (New York); Dumbarton Oaks (Washington, D.C.); The Courtauld Institute (London); Princeton University, Jane Vadnal Image Collection; and the James Austin Photographic Collection. Individual works of art have descriptions and metadata including subject, location, date, school, style, ownership, etc. In addition, there are over 18,000 bibliographic records supporting these works of art. Formerly Index of Christian Art

Websites

CERL Portal: Links to digitized manuscripts and early printed material (Consortium of European Research Libraries)

Manuscript Collection Highlights (J. Paul Getty Museum)

Medieval Manuscripts Blog (British Library)

From Manuscript to Print: The Evolution of the Medieval Book exhibition (Cornell University Library)

The Making of a Medieval Book exhibition (J. Paul Getty Museum)

Medieval Manuscript Manual (Department of Medieval Studies, Central European University, Budapest)