Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionary of Old English Corpus This link opens in a new window
The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first centuries (600-1150 A.D.) of the English language, using today's most advanced technology. The DOE complements the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100-1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary, the three together providing a full description of the vocabulary of English.
English Corpora This link opens in a new window
A variety of English language dictionaries are located in the Humanities Reference collection in the PE call number area.
Linguistics/Language Behavior Abstracts -- LLBA (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
1973+ Indexes and abstracts articles from 2,000 U.S. and foreign periodicals in language use, linguistics, and related disciplines. Updated twice a year.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Bibliography of Linguistic Literature This link opens in a new window
BLLDB is the online version of the Bibliography of Linguistic Literature (BLL). It is one of the most important sources of bibliographical information for general as well as English, German and Romance linguistics. Years of coverage run from 1971 to the present, making this a good complement to Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA).
Early English Books Online (EEBO) - Texts This link opens in a new window
2,400 searchable and readable editions of EEBO documents that link immediately to the corresponding image files.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Alternate title: ECCO (Eighteenth Century Collections Online). Gale's Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) is based on the English Short Title Catalog (ESTC), and contains English-language and foreign-language titles published in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. 150,000 printed works (some 33 million pages) covering the American Revolution, the French Revolution, and the Industrial Revolution. Full-text searchable, ECCO enables library patrons to search for books and broadsides, Bibles, tracts and sermons, printed ephemera, and studies in every academic discipline: History and Geography, Social Science and Fine Arts, Medicine, Science and Technology, Literature and Language, Religion and Philosophy, and Law.
English Language & Literatures Librarian