Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Blackwell Linguistics Reference Online offers you a number of handbooks & encyclopedias ranging from language acquisition to syntax, from phonetics to writing systems, from English to Japanese.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online The OED Online contains the complete searchable text of over half a million words from the 20 volume 2nd Edition. The dictionary traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations, offers etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciations. 1000 new and revised entries added quarterly. NOTE: The reference to the hard copy of the Oxford English Dictionary is HUM REF PE 1625 .O87
Other Related Periodical Indexes
Bibliography of Linguistic Literature BLLDB is the online version of the Bibliography of Linguistic Literature (BLL). It is one of the most important sources of bibliographical information for general as well as English, German and Romance linguistics. Years of coverage run from 1971 to the present, making this a good complement to Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA).
Linguistics Abstracts Online Alternate title: LABS. Linguistics Abstracts Online is designed to revolutionize linguistics research and teaching by giving immediate access via the World Wide Web to more than 55,000 abstracts from nearly 600 linguistics journals published since 1985.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
English Language & Literatures Librarian