Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology: APA Style

Psychology Librarian

Profile Photo
Emily Darowski
Contact:
1210 HBLL
801-422-6346
Email Me
Subjects: Social Sciences

Organizing References

RefWorks is a reference management application that allows you to organize your sources and create bibliographies for research projects.

FHSS Writing Lab APA Style Handouts

The following handouts were developed by the Family, Home, and Social Sciences Writing Lab. More handouts are available.

Access to the APA Publication Manual, 7th Edition

You can use a physical copy of the publication manual in the library. Go to the specified call number in the Social Science Reference Collection. These copies stay on site to ensure access to many patrons.

You can purchase print and ebook formats through the following links. Rental options are also available for the ebook formats.

Supplemental Resources to the APA Publication Manual, 7th Edition

Although the publication manual itself provides the most in depth and accurate information, the following supplemental resources provided by APA will help you learn how to apply APA Style correctly.

The following resources are not provided by APA, but can be helpful when looking for quick tips about APA Style. Remember to double check accuracy from these other sources. 

RefWorks: Selecting the Correct APA Style for References

RefWorks is a reference management application that allows you to organize your sources and create bibliographies for research projects.

To create a bibliography, check the box next to the sources you want to include. Then click the Create Bibliography button and select "Create Bibliography." Click on the drop down menu under "Bibliography from Selected references." Find the drop down menu that says "Institutional Styles." Select the one that says "(BYU Recommended) APA 7th - Sentence Casing, DOI: https://doi.org." You can click on the start next to the style so that it will appear in your favorites list later. Here is a screen shot of what the drop down menu looks like:

 

RefWorks will use the metadata for each source to create a bibliography in the selected style. An article citation in the right APA 7 style should look like the following:

If the doi portion looks something like this:
https://doi-org.erl.lib.byu.edu/10.1007/s10578-014-0488-9
You will need to take the BYU portion out of it so it looks like this: 
https://doi.org/10.1007/s10578-014-0488-9

It's convenient to use RefWorks to start your references page, but you always need double check for style accuracy.

Resources for the APA Publication Manual, 6th Edition

If you are still using the 6th edition, here are relevant resources: