Skip to main content

BYU Management Library: Library News

Not sure where to start?

Finding Tools

Find a Journal

 

Find a Book

 

Find a Database

 

Andy's Top 7

Company: Mergent
Global: Euromonitor
Industry: IBIS World
Marketing: Mintel
News: Factiva
Scholarship: EBSCO BSP
Statistics: Statista

Sage Research Methods

 

Perfect for students interested in academic careers or for faculty who’d like a refresher, Sage Research Methods helps teach qualitative and quantitative research methods. Content includes:

  • Videos teaching the research process
  • Instruction manuals for statistical analysis (the QASS “Little Green Books”)
  • Case studies and sample research projects
  • Practice datasets
  • Research Project Planner

A Sage representative will be on campus Tuesday, April 17, to demo this tool at 10:00 am and 3:30 pm, in HBLL 2232 (map).

Access SRM at http://dbs.lib.byu.edu/srm

Exhibit: Early Mormon Finance

“Mixing Money and Religion: Early Mormon Currency and Financial Records,” an exhibit from the library’s Special Collections, includes specimens of rare currency:

  • Kirtland Safety Society banknotes
  • Nauvoo House stock certificates
  • “White Notes,” Utah currency from the 1840s
  • Hyrum Smith’s “Book of Records”
  • Tithing receipts for contributions to the Nauvoo Temple
  • Millard County’s United Order articles of incorporation

Open through April 2018, this exhibit is located in the Special Collections Reading Room (map). Come learn more about early Mormon economic history!

AtoZ World Business

AtoZ World Business is a companion to Global Road Warrior, which gives business and culture tips for the professional traveler.

 Access AtoZ at http://dbs.lib.byu.edu/a-z-business


​AtoZ World Business provides profiles of 100 countries, with information covering:

  • Business formation
  • Processes and documents for importing/exporting
  • Shipping options and payments
  • Trade and tariff profiles
  • Dictionary of international trade 

AICPA Premium A&A Research Collection


Premium A&A Research Collection on AICPA Online Professional Library includes the following: AICPA Professional Standards; AICPA Technical Questions and Answers Audit & Accounting Manual; PCAOB Standards & Related Rules; All current AICPA Audit and Accounting Guides; All current Audit Risk Alerts; All current Checklists and Illustrative Financial Statements; Trust Services Principles and Criteria; Audit Risk Assessment Tool; U.S. GAAP Financial Statements—Best Practices in Presentation and Disclosure.

It requires registration.  Once you are register, click PRODUCTS, then MY PURCHASES, then MY ONLINE PUBLICATIONS, then AICPA AUDIT & ACCOUNTING LITERATURE, then click + to access all our subscriptions.

The best content in this database is the AICPA Audit and Accounting Guides.  Click GUIDES.

New: PitchBook

New: MarketLine

From Aerospace and Automotive to Media, Mining and Textiles, MarketLine covers every company in every major industry in every major marketplace, worldwide. 

New: Mergent Intellect

​
Mergent Intellect is a highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Coupling Mergent’s expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with DandB’s private company database, Mergent Intellect provides access to private and public US and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
 

New: Mergent Online

​
Mergent Online with Horizon offers a wealth of detail on US and International public companies including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in as-reported form and in native currencies.

New: Mergent Key Business Ratios (KBR)

Formerly known as D&B Key Business Ratios.

 Key Business Ratios on the Web (KBR) provides immediate online access to competitive benchmarking data. This powerful tool lets researchers examine industry benchmarks compiled from DandB’s database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios (users choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios) for public and private companies in 800 lines of business.

New: Statista

​

Statista is one of the world’s largest statistics portals with access to relevant data from over 18,000 sources on over 60,000 topics (media, business, finance, politics…) Data sources include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Statista includes tables, charts, infographics and studies. 

New: Mintel Trends

 

Announcing Mintel Trends!

What's cool, new, or quirky, and how will it impact the markets you care about?

Mintel’s researchers examine 80 trends affecting consumers today, swapping out old trends for new ones regularly.

Mintel Trends is a great way to spot innovations and opportunities. We're pleased to add it to the in-depth market research we already get through Mintel Reports.

Direct Access to the Economist

   

The library now provides direct access to The Economist.

This is the easiest way to browse current issues. If you want to do more intensive research, use ProQuest for issues since 1992, and use the Gale archive to go all the way back to the beginning in 1843.

Recent Reference Titles in Marketing

 

Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Strategies

Essays describing significant marketing campaigns of recent years, like Priceline's "Negotiator" (William Shatner) and Apple's "Moment of Silence" for Steve Jobs.

 

Gale Business Insights Handbook of Social Media Marketing

From making a case for social media to building a strategy, providing consistency, and measuring impact, this handbook provides practical advice and recommendations.

 

Gale Business Insights Handbook of Global Marketing

Introductory essays on identifying opportunities, building a brand, watching out for cultural differences, product distribution, global economic realities, etc. Accessible for the novice.

 

Dictionary of Advertising and Marketing Concepts

This slim but surprisingly engaging book is described by its author as being a "dictionary of cultural analyses and critiques of advertising". In other words, expect explanation and sometimes idiosyncratic commentary, rather than a basic dictionary.

 

The Fine Print

Most of these tools are licensed for the use of BYU students and employees for academic purposes only. Content and access must not be provided to any outside individuals or organizations for commercial purposes, although BYU students can reference these tools in support of course requirements. Contact your librarian with questions.