Music Software
Do you need off-campus access to software for specialized music purposes? Try these free offerings:
- Audio editing: Audacity (PC, Mac); Garageband (Mac)
- Video editing: DaVinci Resolve (PC, Mac); iMovie (Mac)
- Music notation: MuseScore (PC, Mac)
Streaming Media
-
Free Music Resources for the BYU Community Looking for music to use with a project? Here are links to works in the public domain or with a creative commons license.
-
OntheBoards.tv This link opens in a new window On the Boards provides access to a growing catalog of 45 full-length performance films by the world's leading contemporary artists. Featuring dance, theater and multi-disciplinary works.
-
Qwest.tv This link opens in a new window Qwest TV is a video streaming service dedicated to Jazz, Soul, Funk & World Music.
-
BYU Library Streaming Media This link opens in a new window Course or BYU streaming videos for current faculty, staff and students.
-
Digital Concert Hall This link opens in a new window Explore the world of the Berliner Philharmoniker. Watch and listen to classical music's finest conductors and soloists live, on-demand or on the go as it suits you. You will need to create a free personal account using the BYU pop-up window in order to access content.
-
Met Opera on Demand This link opens in a new window Streaming video access to more than 600 full length performances of the Metropolitan Opera.
How to access the NAXOS APP on your mobile phone: go to this link. Once you have the app you only need to login to the library every 6 months to keep your app access active.
-
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window The most comprehensive classical music streaming platform. Wide range of standard and specialist repertoire. More than 40,000 composer and artist biographies. A musicology section with articles from scholars, critics, students, industry professionals on their opinions and scholarly approaches on various subjects.
-
Naxos Music Library Jazz This link opens in a new window Naxos Music Library Jazz offers a wide range of jazz music, from jazz legends to contemporary jazz. Recordings of over 32,000 artists are represented.
-
Naxos Music Library World This link opens in a new window Naxos Music Library World offers a wide range of World music, from legendary historical musical performances to contemporary world music. Recordings of over 32,000 artists are represented.
-
Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new window The world's leading Performing Arts DVD distributor brings you an extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. Watch the world's greatest opera houses, ballet companies, orchestras and artists perform on demand!
-
Opera in Video (ASP) This link opens in a new window Opera in Video will contain 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon. This release includes 132 videos, equalling 280 hours. You can also access Opera in Video through the Music Online interface.
-
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window Over 200 live full length productions including Digital Theater's own recordings alongside collections such as BBC, Royal Shakespeare Company, Broadway Digital Archive, Royal Opera House, London Symphony Orchestra, Shakespeare's Globe etc And including audio radio-plays from LA Theatre Works. Over 140 in-depth interviews with industry professionals including actors, directors as well as all backstage staff: lighting technicians, fight coordinators, stage managers et al.
-
Dance in Video (ASP) This link opens in a new window Dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
-
Swank Streaming Video This link opens in a new windowIncludes feature films, documentaries, and international films.
-
OperaVision Recent operas, opera excerpts, and interviews from European opera houses.
-
International Folk Dance Archive This is a collection of music for folk dancing from all over the world that has long been out of print. Most of it consists of 78RPM transcriptions. Many of the vinyl recordings are actually transcribed from older 78s.
-
National Jukebox
by
The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives. The National Jukebox debuts featuring more than 10,000 78rpm disc sides issued by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1900 and 1925.
-
Global Music Archive
by
The Global Music Archive is a multi-media reference archive and resource center for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and the Americas. It is a public facility that promotes education in African and American traditional and popular music through its own activities and by supporting the activities of others. The archive is housed within the Anne Potter Wilson Music Library in Vanderbilt University’s Blair School of Music.
-
Internet Archive Audio Archive Welcome to the Archive's audio and MP3 library. This library contains over two hundred thousand free digital recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by our users. Many of these audios and MP3s are available for free download.
-
The Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra
Welcome to our new library of full-length performances for free online listening. With the support of our broadcast partner Classical MPR, we’re creating an extensive and expanding collection of live orchestral performances.
Follow each title link to read more about the music and performers.
-
New Orleans Independent Music Digital Collection by The New Orleans Independent Music Digital Collection seeks to expose the vast complexity of musical New Orleans by serving as a research platform for local indie music. Tracks are included in the digital collection by permission of the copyright holder. As the digital collection currently represents only a small fraction of indie albums in the Library’s collections, we expect the digital collection to grow as more permissions are obtained and new albums acquired.
-
78 RPM Records Digitized
The Great 78 Project is a community project for the preservation, research and discovery of 78rpm records. From about 1898 to the 1950s, an estimated 3 million sides (~3 minute recordings) have been made on 78rpm discs. While the commercially viable recordings will have been restored or remastered onto LP’s or CD, there is still research value in the artifacts and usage evidence in the often rare 78rpm discs and recordings.
Foreign Languages Help
The Names of instruments and voices in English, French, German, Italian, Russian and Spanish courtesy of Yale University.
Musical Terminology: A Practical Compendium in Four Languages by David Boccagna ML 108 .B52 1999
Performing Arts Librarian
Get Help
Music & Dance Help Desk
4432 HBLL - Level 4
Music & Dance Web Page
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm
Phone: 801.422.1725
E-mail: music_reference@byu.edu
Related Guides
-
LDS MusicGo here to find ward choir music and arrangements for special numbers in sacrament meetings.