ABOUT: The BYU Library maintains a web archive of sites, blogs, and online magazines related to the Latter-day Saint experience. Though the focus of the archive is not specifically women, it includes material of interest to researchers exploring 21st-century expressions of culture, ideology, and society produced by and for members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
ONLINE ARCHIVES:
ABOUT: Exponent II (1974 - present) is "a little newspaper begun in Massachusetts written by and for LDS women."* Inspired by the nineteenth-century publication Woman's Exponent created by early Latter-day Saint women in Salt Lake City, Utah, Exponent II uses a feminist lens to explore experiences and topics relevant to Latter-day Saint women. The publication is not affiliated with The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Image: Volume 1, issue 1 of Exponent II.
ONLINE ARCHIVE: Explore the Exponent II archives on the Internet Archive.
to toggle between ascending and descending results.
DOWNLOADABLE EXPONENT II INDEX
Why use an index?
Until a search interface is available, download an Excel version of the Exponent II Index here. (Check back for content updates.)
-----
*Bushman, Claudia L. “Exponent Ii: Early Decisions.” Dialogue, vol. 49, no. 2, Summer 2016, pp. 129–34.
Many thanks to the student reference assistants in the Humanities Department of the BYU Library who created this index, including: Eve Dixon, Crozier Fitzgerald, Julia Koncurat, Dorie Cameron, Abby Welling, Andrea St. Pierre, Beth Ericson, Candice Taylor, Elise Roberts, Elizabeth Keeney, Lillian Bills, Ray Nielson, Taylor Egan, Valeria Pietro.
ABOUT: The purpose of the Relief Society Magazine was to unite LDS women in a bond of common interest, to educate, and enlighten as well as to be an outlet for LDS women’s own writing. It was the official publication of the Relief Society organization for 57 years, until 1970.
The Relief Society minutes of October 1, 1914, state that the magazine would consist of literary, artistic, and practical articles, designed to improve our minds and beautify our homes. It also published fiction, poetry, and plays.The contents were modified over time to meet changing circumstances.
ONLINE ARCHIVE: Explore the Relief Society Magazine archives on the Internet Archive.
RELIEF SOCIETY MAGAZINE INDEX: The Relief Society Magazine Index includes the major categories of material: Lessons, Articles, Fiction, Poetry, Plays, Editorials, Recipes, Notes from the Field (ward and stake RS information), Happenings (about individuals), Images, and Advertisements.
Search Tips:
ABOUT: Published from 1872 to 1914, the Woman's Exponent featured news local and national news, including updates and commentary about woman suffrage (voting rights), minutes from local Relief Society meetings, editorial content, household tips, birthday notices, and other content. The Exponent was edited by Louise Greene Richards (1872-1877) and Emmeline B. Wells (1877-1914). Image: First issue of the Woman's Exponent, published June 1, 1872, courtesy Utah Digital Newspapers.
ONLINE ARCHIVE: Utah Digital Newspapers Woman's Exponent. Search by keyword or name. Browse by date.
INDEX: Woman's Exponent Index from the Church History Library.
ABOUT: The Young Woman’s Journal was published for forty years by the Young Ladies’ Mutual Improvement Association (Y.L.M.I.A.). It began under the able editorship of Susa Young Gates, who had proposed its publication in a letter to President Wilford Woodruff and the presidency of the Y.L.M.I.A. on 24 August 1886, while she and her husband and family were serving a mission in the Sandwich Islands. She was to be its editor for 11 years. Earlier, from 1879, the concerns and contributions of the Y.L.M.I.A. appeared in the pages of the Contributor, edited by Junius F. Wells. This journal was the publishing arm of both the Y.L.M.I.A. and the Young Men’s Mutual Improvement Association (Y.M.M.I.A.). More . . .
ONLINE ARCHIVE: Explore The Young Woman's Journal.
Schedule an appointment with or contact these librarians and curators for help with your research:
Elizabeth Smart, Global Women's Studies Librarian
Gerrit van Dyk, Church History & Doctrine Librarian
John Murphy, Curator of 19th-20th Century LDS Manuscripts
Greg Seppi, Curator of 19th-20th Century LDS Publications