Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Principal Resources: Materials Handbooks
Newnes Engineering Materials Pocket Book
Newnes Engineering Materials Pocket Book is a guidebook that provides a concise discussion on the various materials used in engineering.
Metals Handbook Desk Edition
Use this handbook to find information about properties, selection, processing, testing, and characterization of metals and their alloys.
Engineered materials desk edition
Use this handbook to find information about properties, selection, processing, and applications of polymers, ceramics, glasses and composites.
Handbook of Polymers
Presents normalized, up-to-date polymer data in a consistent and easily referenceable layout.
ASM Handbooks - Full Set
ASM Handbooks This link opens in a new window
Alternate title: American Society for Metals (ASM) Handbook. Features the complete content of twenty one ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions.
Materials Properties Aggregators
Searchable database of materials properties including metals, polymers, ceramics
Searchable database of materials properties and processing datasheets, including polymers, adhesives, lubricants, metals.
A material information system for the plastics industry.
Standards and Codes
Provides searching by subject, industry sector, ASTM volume, and US Government FSC Code
Standards Library by GlobalSpec.
To find other sources of standards, and to get more information about standards visit this guide.
Secondary Resources: Books on Materials
Materials Selection in Mechanical Design
Describes the procedures for material selection in mechanical design in order to ensure that the most suitable materials for the application are identified.
Provides key scientific and technical materials properties and data to engineers working in a broad range of scientific and technical fields.
Materials for Engineering
Contains chapters on the structure of engineering materials, the determination of mechanical properties, metals and alloys, glasses and ceramics, organic
Materials Selection Deskbook
This book is designed as a handy desk reference covering fundamental engineering principles of project planning schemes and layout, corrosion
Engineering Materials: Properties & Selection
Encompassing all significant material systems--metals, ceramics, plastics, and composites.
Structures and Properties of Engineering Alloys
This book familiarizes students with the various types of major engineering alloys and their applications
Structure and Properties of Engineering Materials
4th ed., an updated revision, broadened in scope, of the 3rd ed. of the book formerly entitled Structure and properties of alloys.
Handbook of Materials Selection for Engineering Applications
Reflecting the rapid advances in new materials development, this work offers up-to-date information on the properties
Other Secondary Resources
The Materials Handbook is an encyclopedic, A-to-Z organization of all types of materials, featuring their key performance properties, principal characteristics and applications in product design.
Handbook of Materials for Product Design
This handbook provides materials, data, information and guidelines for all those who design, manufacture and use mechanical and electromechanical products...
Manufacturing and Design
The book invites its readers to distinguish between what is possible in principle for a certain process (as determined by physical law); what is possible in practice (the production method as determined by industrial state-of-the-art); and what is possible for a certain supplier.
Concrete Portable Handbook
[from editor] This book will help you to avoid mistakes, code violations, and wasted time and money. The book’s four part treatment begins with constituent materials followed by self contained parts on Concrete Properties, Processes, and Concrete Repair and Rehabilitation.