Skip to main content

Music Special Collections: Home

Guide to the Music Special Collections of Brigham Young University

About Music Special Collections and the Music Recordings Archive

Music Special Collections include rare editions, manuscript scores, and music archives. The strengths of Music Special Collections are focused in harp music, viola music, popular American music of the twentieth century, opera, ballet and other dance music, early sheet music, hymnals, French chansons, and historical methods and treatises. Some of the most important larger manuscript collections and archives include: the Primrose International Viola Archive, International Harp Archives, Capitol Records Archive, Percy Faith Orchestrations, RKO Vaudeville Collection, Bonime Collection of Radio Music, the Brunning and Early Sheet Music Collections, Gina Bachauer Archive, Bachauer Piano Foundation Archive, George Verdak Collection of Dance Music, Thurston Collection of Rare Music and Autographs, Paisiello Opera Manuscripts, and numerous archives of individual LDS musicians.

The Music Recordings Archive (MRA) includes historical audio formats from all time periods and geographical origins including: cylinders, Edison Diamond Discs, 78 rpm discs, LP discs, wire recordings, reel-to-reel tapes, cassette tapes, DAT, compact discs, DVD-A discs, etc. Content in the Music Recordings Archive is mostly limited to musical performances but includes all kinds of music from around the world.

Digitized Materials

The International Harp Archives at BYUThis selection of harp scores from the International Harp Archives at Brigham Young University includes items from the 18th century through the early 20th century. Most of the selections are works for solo harp but other duets and small chambers works are included, especial early 19th-century duets.

How to Access Music Special Collections

Music Special Collections can be accessed in room 4437 on the 4th floor of the Harold B. Lee Library.

Hours  are MWF 9 am to 6 pm, TTH 9 am to 9 pm (but closed from 11 am to noon), and Sat noon to 6 pm.

For information, contact David Day at david_day@byu.edu.