It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Arts & Humanities Career Guide: Career & Occupation Information
While help desks are closed per COVID-19 social distancing directives, you can still get help by either clicking on the Chat function below, or by scheduling an appointment with the librarian of this guide. To maintain social distancing, all appointments will be conducted via ZOOM rather than in person. Thank you!
Career & Occupation Information
Vault Online Career LibraryRequires free registration. Vault.com provides in-depth intelligence on what it’s really like to work within an industry, company, or profession—and how to position yourself to launch and build the career you want. Vault is best known for its influential rankings, ratings, and reviews on thousands of top employers and hundreds of internship programs. Vault Guidebooks cover a broad range of disciplines and include industry guides, employer rankings, and job seeking skills.
For educational and research purposes only.
CareerOneStopIncludes America's Job Bank, America's Career InfoNet, and America's Service Locator. The tools were developed and are maintained through the leadership of the U.S. Department of Labor and in partnership with state workforce agencies, local workforce service delivery providers and education and training institutions and private sector organizations.
AnnualReportService.comFree directory of online annual reports.
O*Net OnlineThe O*NET program is the nation's primary source of occupational information. Central to the project is the O*NET database, containing information on hundreds of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors. The database, which is available to the public at no cost, is continually updated by surveying a broad range of workers from each occupation. Information from this database forms the heart of O*NET OnLine, an interactive application for exploring and searching occupations. The database also provides the basis for our Career Exploration Tools, a set of valuable assessment instruments for workers and students looking to find or change careers.
The Occupational Information Network (O*NET) is being developed under the sponsorship of the US Department of Labor/Employment and Training Administration (USDOL/ETA) through a grant to the North Carolina Department of Commerce.
Vocational and Career Collection (EBSCO)Vocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and public libraries. The collection provides full text coverage for nearly 350 trade and industry related periodicals including American Machinist, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Video Business, Reeves Journal, Hotel and Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for over 600 journals. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1985.