Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Religious Education Image Archive
Apocrypha, Pseudepigrapha, and other Non Canonical Writings
Intro to Textual Research
A brief history of Biblical criticism and introduction on using the BHS and BHQ.
Biblioblog Custom Search
Biblioblog collects and rates (by number of hits) hundreds of blogs relating to Biblical Studies. This custom search will return results from those blogs, which offer the most recent news and scholarship relating to Biblical Studies.
A Religious Studies database. This database produced by the American Theological Library Association includes information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. References come from more than 600 journals and other sources and are in 35 languages. Includes several Mormon journals. Coverage is from 1949 to the present.
Old Testament Abstracts (EBSCO)
Old Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association. The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more.
New Testament Abstracts (EBSCO)
New Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and Boston College. The database is an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. The database contains more than 44,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 16,500 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts.
Biblical Texts and Study Tools
Context of Scripture Online
Designed as a thorough and enduring reference work for all engaged in the study of the Bible and the ancient Near East, Context of Scripture provides reliable access to a broad, balanced, and representative collection of Ancient Near Eastern texts that have an impact on the interpretation of the Bible. Each entry includes an introduction to the text, an authoritative translation, commentary, and bibliographic references.
Bible Land Maps, Biblical Geography, The Holy Land
Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations This link opens in a new windowA map with click-able data layers. Zoom in and out. Drag the image where you please. Includes, maps, data sources, links, contact information etc.
Holy Land Maps - The National Library of Israel This link opens in a new windowContains maps divided into 2 collections. Jerusalem and Holy Land Maps. Click on either to access brief citations and icon images. Click on title or icon for more detail.
Holy Land Maps - University of Florida This link opens in a new windowThe maps are organized by five conventional ages of cartography. Within these periods the entries are organized by countries in order of their prominence in map making during the height of the Age. The entries are then organized by date and cartographer.
Stanford Geospatial Network Model of the Roman World This link opens in a new windowFor the first time, ORBIS allows us to express Roman communication costs in terms of both time and expense. By simulating movement along the principal routes of the Roman road network, the main navigable rivers, and hundreds of sea routes in the Mediterranean, Black Sea and coastal Atlantic, this interactive model reconstructs the duration and financial cost of travel in antiquity.
Theban Mapping Project This link opens in a new windowIncludes 2 atlases. Atlas of the Valley of the Kings, and Atlas of the Theban Necropolis. Also includes links to articles, sites, resources, search terms, etc.
The West Bank and East Jerusalem Searchable Map - University of Southern California This link opens in a new windowIncludes the ability to view Searchable Map interface, view KML data in Google Maps, download full database file, search Bibliography for database, and download the Archaeological Sourcebook. Map interface includes click-able data layers for site status and time period.