Subject Guides: Iberian Studies: Scholarly Article Databases and Webpages

Multidisciplinary Databases at HBLL

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,000 journals, including over 9,000 peer-reviewed titles. Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, womens studies, zoology and more.
Fuente Academica Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Provides PDF full text for more 570 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology.
Iter - Resources in European Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window Information on Spain and Portugal and related themes can be found through a search.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR focuses on humanities, social science, and more recently, science titles which have proven themselves vital to these disciplines and which have many years of publication, in some cases going back to the 19th century. Also searches ARTstor.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations about literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Indexes the full-text of over 200 scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

Open Access Databases (Peer-reviewed scholarship free on the Internet)

Redalyc (Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal) The Redalyc project (Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y El Caribe, España y Portugal) is a bibliographic database and a digital library of Open Access journals, supported by the Universidad Autónoma del Estado de México with the help of numerous other higher education institutions and information systems.
more...less...
Coverage areas: http://www.redalyc.org/coleccionHome.oa
SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) is a bibliographic database, digital library, and cooperative electronic publishing model of open access journals. SciELO was created to meet the scientific communication needs of developing countries and provides an efficient way to increase visibility and access to scientific literature. Coverage includes Humanities and Social Sciences.
Dialnet Dialnet es un proyecto de colaboración bibliotecaria abierto a la participación de cualquier biblioteca que quiera comprometerse con el proyecto, siendo el principal objetivo unir esfuerzos para ofrecer una serie de recursos y servicios de calidad para usuarios, bibliotecas, autores y editores de revistas. Uno de los principales objetivos de Dialnet consiste en aumentar la difusión, visibilidad y accesibilidad de la literatura científica hispana, potenciando el acceso libre a la misma. Las revistas son incluidas en Dialnet por las instituciones colaboradoras, que deciden qué revistas indexar, ya sean electrónicas o en papel.

Select Journals

Electronic Journals Library: Romance Studies A compilation of peer-reviewed journals in a variety of languages on a variety of topics within the umbrella of Romance Studies.

Humanities Databases @ HBLL

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI): Web of Science This link opens in a new window A citation index for the Arts & Humanities. Database coverage includes the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and indexes individually selected relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Provides access to current information and retrospective data from 1975 to the present.
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Literature Criticism Online LCO (Gale) This link opens in a new window Essays in literary criticism that represent a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Literature This link opens in a new window

Social Science Databases @ HBLL

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window 1955+ Indexes and abstracts scholarly articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window IBSS includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.
PAIS International (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window The PAIS International database contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
ProQuest Social Science Journals This link opens in a new window This database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection This link opens in a new window This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 500 important social science journals.
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI): Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science accesses the Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanitites Citation Index (AHCI) databases, gathered from over 8,500 scholarly journals. Searches for records by topic, author, source title, author address, cited author, citedwork, cited year can be performed separately or combined. Articles are linked to other articles of the same topic.