Skip to main content

POLI 388 Chinese Foreign Policy: Home

This course introduces students to the structures and processes of foreign policy of the People's Republic of China.

Introduction to this Page

This page is designed to help you remain up-to-date with breaking news about contemporary China and U.S.–China relations. It also provides resources for conducting research related to Chinese government, politics, and international relations. Below you will find links to well-produced blogs, podcasts, Think Tanks, government sites, and news sources, as well as databases for locating scholarship about modern and contemporary China published in the top academic journals. There are also links to collections of primary source materials (in digital and print form, including images and film). 

NOTE: This page is a work in progress. Improvements to content and page design are to be expected.

New Books on Modern China (Click Arrows to Browse)

Asian Studies Librarian

Tim Davis's picture
Tim Davis
Contact:
Office: 4523 HBLL
I'm currently working from home. Please e-mail me if you need help with Asian-related research or accessing library resources. I'm happy to help!

Get Help

Humanities Reference
Level 5
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm; 
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm

801.422.4006
humref@byu.edu

chat loading...

Asian Collection 4th Floor Map (Click to Enlarge)

Call Numbers for Books About China

Those who Browse the Stacks* always discover additional research materials!

* The term "stacks" refers to the miles of bookshelves placed throughout the library.

All Chinese Language Books are found in the Asian Collection on the 4th Floor. Click the map above for location details.

English language materials about China are located in different parts of the library as noted below (in parentheses).

Call number categories are the same for materials in the Asian Collection and English language materials shelved in other parts of the library.

DS 700–799 History of China (1st Floor, Social Science Library)

JZ 1730–1734 Chinese Politics and Government (1st Floor, Central Stacks)

PL 1001–3300 Chinese Language and Literature (5th Floor, North Stacks)

Searching the Library Catalog for Books in Chinese

If you know the author or title you want:    

Use the Library Catalog to look up the book using Chinese Characters 漢字 or Pinyin 拼音 Romanization

If you search by Pinyin, leave a space between the Romanization of every character except when searching with place names.

Examples:

Pinyin Title Search:

   san guo yan yi  NOT  sanguo yanyi

Pinyin Title Search that Includes a Place Name

    Zhongguo NOT Zhong Guo; Henan NOT He Nan             

Helen Foster Snow Papers (BYU Special Collections)

Helen Foster Snow Papers

L. Tom Perry Special Collections Call Number: MSS 2219 On-site Use Only:  Ask at Special Collections Help Desk (1130 HBLL).

LinkCollection Intro and Finding Aid

*   *   *

Helen Foster Snow: Witness to Revolution (Film)

Produced by Combat Films (New York: Filmakers Library, 2001)

Finding Secondary Scholarship & Primary Sources

A List of Useful Databases for Finding Scholarly Articles

Use the databases listed below to search for scholarly articles on your research topic.  Hovering over the "info" icon  will reveal detailed information about each database. For some very helpful tips on how to conduct a successful database search, click Here.

TIP: Use multiple databases when searching for articles related to your research project as each database has different coverage and unique features.


Databases for Finding Scholarly Articles in Chinese

 

China Online Journals (COJ) by Wangfang Data provides access to 237 Chinese university journals in Humanities and Social Sciences and 370 scholarly journals in the Arts and Humanities published in the People’s Republic of China. Articles are full-text and can be printed, down-loaded, or e-mailed. Searching is done in Chinese

National Social Sciences Database (China) provides current access to the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS) core journals. Many journals provide full-text links to article PDF files, others just provide citations (use Interlibrary Loan to request a copy of these). To make use of some features you will need to create a personal login (username and password). Searching is done in Chinese.

Airiti Library: Search this database to find citations for articles published in academic journals from Taiwan. After discovering an article you want, request a copy through Interlibrary Loan; this database does not provide access to full text articles.

Dragon Source 龙源 : Digital Magazines from China

Access hundreds of Chinese magazines. Topics include: Literature, Lifestyle, Business, Economics, Politics, etc.

The China Journal (1995–present) The China Journal is a cutting-edge source of scholarship, information and analysis about China and Taiwan. TCJ has published informed and insightful commentary from China scholars worldwide and stimulated the scholarly debate on contemporary China for more than thirty years. Interdisciplinary in scope, TCJ provides deep coverage of important anthropological, sociological, and political science topics.

The China Quarterly (1960–present) The China Quarterly is the leading scholarly journal in its field, covering all aspects of contemporary China including Taiwan. Its interdisciplinary approach covers a range of subjects including anthropology/sociology, literature and the arts, business/economics, geography, history, international affairs, law, and politics. Edited to rigorous standards by scholars of the highest repute, the journal publishes high-quality, authoritative research, keeping readers up to date with events in China. 

Journal of Asian Studies (1956–present) The Journal of Asian Studies (JAS) publishes high-quality, peer-reviewed empirical and multidisciplinary work on Asia, spanning the arts, history, literature, the social sciences, and cultural studies. Coverage includes South and Southeast Asia, China, Inner Asia, and Northeast Asia, JAS welcomes broad comparative and transnational studies as well as essays emanating from fine-grained historical, cultural, political, and literary research. The journal also publishes clusters of papers that present new and vibrant discussions on specific themes and issues.

Journal of Contemporary China (1992–preent) The Journal of Contemporary China is a peer-reviewed journal providing exclusive information about contemporary Chinese affairs for scholars, business people and government policy-makers. The journal's fields of interest include economics, political science, law, culture, literature, business, history, international relations, sociology and other social sciences and humanities.

Foreign Affairs (1922–present) is a leading forum for the serious discussion of American foreign policy and global affairs. Published by the non-profit and nonpartisan Council on Foreign Relations (CFR), Foreign Affairs tolerates a wide difference of honestly held and convincingly expressed opinion. Its articles do not represent a consensus of beliefs. CRF believes that Foreign Affairs can do more to guide American public opinion by a broad hospitality to divergent ideas than it can by identifying itself with one school.

 

Full-text, digital access to The New Yorker magazine (1992–present). Paper copies are available in the library covering 1933–2018 at this call number AP 2 .N6763 in the periodicals reading room (Level 2 North).

Full text access digital access to The Atlantic (1988–present). EBSCO Academic Search Premiere provides full color PDF files of each article.

Foreign Policy (1970–present) is an American news publication, founded in 1970 and focused on global affairs, current events, and domestic and international policy. It produces content daily on its website, and in six print issues annually. 

Asian Affairs (London; 1970–present) covers the whole region of Asia—Central Asia, the Middle East, South Asia, South East Asia and East Asia. The journal generally consists of articles on specific countries, locales, or historical episodes, as well as contemporary affairs. The Journal favors articles of a practical and general character above those which are highly technical, or which concentrate on academic theory. A substantial section of each issue consists of book reviews of new publications.


Visualizing Cultures: Image Driven Scholarship was launched at MIT in 2002 to explore the potential of the Web for developing innovative image-driven scholarship and learning. The mission of Visualizing Cultures is to use new technology to reconstruct the past as people of the time visualized the world (or imagined it to be). Topical units to date focus on Japan in the modern world and early-modern China.


China, America, and the Pacific (18th–20th Centuries). This database contains an extensive range of archival material connected to the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Manuscript sources, rare printed texts, visual images, objects and maps document this fascinating history. Maintained by Adam Matthews Digital.


Asia and the West: 19th Century Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange. 19th Century British Foreign Office and United States consular and diplomatic records from China, Japan, and Southeast Asia. These records reflect the day-to-day activities with the indigenous populations, the expansion of trade, and the exercise of extraterritorial rights and treaty provisions. Also included is a substantial selection of missionary correspondence and journals from China, Japan, Korea, and Siam (Bangkok). Maintained by Gale-Cengage.


[British] Foreign Office Files China (1919–1980). The six parts of this collection (listed below) make available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980. Maintained by Adam Matthews Digital.

  • 1919-1929: Kuomintang, CCP and the Third International
  • 1930-1937: The Long March, civil war in China and the Manchurian Crisis
  • 1938-1948: Open Door, Japanese war and the seeds of communist victory
  • 1949-1956: The Communist revolution
  • 1957-1966: The Great Leap Forward
  • 1967-1980: The Cultural Revolution

Chinese Pamphlets: Political communication and mass education in the early period of the People's Republic of China. This database contains mass education materials published in Hong Kong and in Mainland China, particularly Shanghai, in the years 1947-1954. These collections consists of cartoon books, pamphlets, postcards and magazines, on topics such as foreign threats to Chinese security, Chinese relations with the Soviet Union, industrial and agricultural production, and marriage reform. They were produced by both Kuomintang 國民黨(Nationalist) and Gongchandang 共產黨 (Communist) supporters.


The American Presidency Project is maintained by political science professors John Woolley and Gerhard Peters and hosted at UC Santa Barbara. This database provides access to numerous documents related to US-China relations. You can search for key terms and limit your search to a particular president's era of administration.


Digital version of US Congressional Serial Set contains all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from 1817 to the present. These documents constitute a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history. A print version of the Serial Set would consist of over 12 million pages.


The National Bureau of Statistics of China website provides a trove of official economic and demographic data reported monthly, quarterly, and annually. It can also be viewed in Chinese.


China Data Online is a valuable data source for China studies. It includes (1) China Statistical Databases; and (2) China Census Databases; It provides easy access to the various statistical yearbooks published by the National Bureau of Statistics of China, comprehensive statistics, and Census data of economy and population at national, provincial, city, county, and even township levels.


China Vitae is a resource of biographical information on more than 5000 Chinese leaders in government, politics, the military, education, business, and the media. China Vitae also tracks the appearances and travel of approximately 500 leading Chinese officials. Searchable information is available on date and location of activity, officials in attendance, topics raised, and source of the data. CV also records official announcements of new appointments to senior Party and government positions. China Vitae is maintained and operated by the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace.


The China Mission History Repository holds original materials and reproductions relevant mainly to the history of Roman Catholic missionary activities in China from the late-imperial era to the present.

 


The North China Herald Online Newspaper (1850–1940) is the prime printed source for the history of the foreign presence in China from around 1850 to 1940s. No other newspaper existed over such an extended period or covers the era with such depth and variety. Full-text searchable.

List of Scholars Actively Researching Contemporary China

Carol A. Benedict, Georgetown Univ., Walsh School of Foreign Service; History

Richard C. Bush, Brookings Institute, John L. Thornton China Center

David DollarBrookings Institute, John L. Thornton China Center

Thomas Fingar, Stanford University, Shorenstein Asia-Pacific Research Center

Eric Hyer, Brigham Young University, Political Science

William Kirby, Harvard University, Director of the Fairbank Center for China Studies

Mathew Kohrman, Stanford University, Anthropology

Daniel Koss, Harvard University, EALC

Joanna LewisGeorgetown University, Walsh School of Foreign Service

Cheng LiBrookings Institute, Director of the John L. Thornton China Center

Kristen LooneyGeorgetown University, Walsh School of Foreign Service

Andrew J. Nathan, Columbia University, Political Science & Weatherhead East Asia Institute

Evan MedeirosGeorgetown University, Walsh School of Foreign Service

James A. Millward, Georgetown University, Walsh School of Foreign Service; History

Carl Minzner, Fordham University, Law School

Jean C. OiStanford University, Shorenstein Asia-Pacific Research Center

Michael Szonyi, Harvard University, EALC, Fairbank Center for Chinese Studies

Jeffrey Wasserstrom, University of California, Irvine, History

Dennis WilderGeorgetown University, Director of Initiative for US–China Dialog

Zhao Dingxin, University of Chicago, Sociology

Zhou Xueguang, Stanford University, Sociology

ProQuest Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching.

Renmin ribao 人民日报 (The People's Daily) is the most influential and authoritative newspaper in China. It is the official voice of the central government of the People's Republic of China for the last 71 years, the People's Daily has published daily issues that provide the single location where the central government and the Communist Party of China announce their respective policies and disseminate governmental, political, and economic messages to the public and the world. For the English version of the site click Here.

On July 1, 2006, the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China approved the launch of “The People’s Network” (Renmin wang 人民网, the Chinese Communist Party News Network) hosted by The People's Daily Online, which became an authoritative website for propagating and introducing the Chinese Communist Party's ideas, theories, policies, and information.

South China Morning Post was founded in 1903. It is a leading news media company headquartered in Hong Kong with global impact. SCMP’s news team is committed to informing and inspiring through journalism of the highest standards. SCMP’s vision is to “Elevate Thought,” and its mission is to “Lead the global conversation about China.” Click Here for news focused on China.

China Digital Times (CDT) is an independent, bilingual media organization that brings uncensored news and online voices from China to the world. CDT English was launched in 2003 as a blog to track the development of the Internet in China and quickly grew into a more comprehensive news portal. In 2010, we launched CDT Chinese to aggregate content that has been censored or blocked in Chinese cyberspace. We select the most valuable and relevant material from CDT Chinese to translate for our English readers. CDT is based in Berkeley, CA, but our team contributes to the site from across the globe.

Ecns.cn is the official English-language website of China News Service (CNS), a state-level news agency established in October 1, 1952 and headquartered in Beijing. Ecns.cn aims to provide in-depth news coverage, feature stories and visual content, with topics such as current events, art, lifestyle, people and travel. To access the Chinese language version of the site, click Here.

Caixin Global is the English version of one of China's most respected sources of business and financial news. Some articles are behind a paywall. Follow Caixin on Twitter.

Free access to the current issue of the New York Times is available to BYU students and faculty. You will need to create a free account using your  @byu.edu email address. To access news about China, type "China" In the search box of the NYT hompage.


News from Hong Kong


 

News from Taiwan


 

Historical Newspaper

The North China Herald Online Newspaper (1850–1940) is the prime printed source for the history of the foreign presence in China from around 1850 to 1940s. No other newspaper existed over such an extended period or covers the era with such depth and variety. Full-text searchable.

Full text access digital access to The Atlantic (1983–present).

ProQuest's Alexander Street is the world’s leading provider of academic streaming media to libraries. They have partnered with top video producers around the world to deliver more than 60,000 video titles across all disciplines. They are particularly strong in the fields of anthropology, history, diversity studies, theatre, film, music, dance, news, current affairs, and the social sciences. For video related to Asian Studies, click Here.

FRONTLINE produces works of investigative journalism that both question and explain complicated and controversial aspects of our modern world. Frontline has been one of American television’s top long-form news and current affairs series since 1983. They have won every major journalism and broadcasting award, including 91 Emmy Awards and 22 Peabody Awards. You can watch more than 200 documentaries online, for free, any time.

Kanopy partners with public libraries and universities to stream thoughtful entertainment to your preferred device with no fees and no commercials. Click the logo above and log in with your BYU NetID to enjoy Kanopy's diverse catalog with new titles added every month. You can search for films on Asian topics and in Asian languages.

An extensive collection of streamable documentary video. Maintained by Infobase.

Sydney D. Gamble Photography Collection, Duke University

Sidney D. Gamble (1890-1968), sociologist, renowned China scholar, and avid amateur photographer, began taking pictures in China during his first trip to the country with his family in 1908. He returned three more times between 1917 to 1932 and continued photographing the daily life of Chinese citizens. He traveled throughout the country to collect data for social-economic surveys and to photograph urban and rural life, public events, architecture, religious statuary, and the countryside. Gamble used a few of the photographs from his extensive collection in his scholarly publications and in slide lectures, the majority of images were never published or exhibited during his lifetime.


Historical Photographs of China is an open-access resource for more than 8,000 digitized photographs taken in China between 1850 and 1950.  Users may search or browse across the collections and conduct Boolean searches, refining results by date, viewing geo-tagged map results, and exploring connections between results. Users may download images of interest and save them to "My Workbench."


Happy Family Chairman Mao Portrait

Chinese Propaganda Posters. This database provides access to hundreds of images portraying events and personalities from the history of the Chinese Communist Party. Click on “Themes” to view posters for such topics as “The Long March,” “The Sino-Japanese War,” “The Great Leap Forward,” “The Cultural Revolution,” Mao Zedong and other Communist Party leaders, "Models and Martyrs," "Working Women," "Villains," etc.

Staying Up-to-Date With US–China Relations

The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. For the latest blog posts and reports related to China click Here. In 2006, the Brookings Institution established research centers focused on China in Washington, D.C., and Beijing. The John L. Thornton China Center in Washington is widely recognized as the leading research center on China’s political system and its foreign and economic policies. The Brookings-Tsinghua Center for Public Policy at Tsinghua University in Beijing is a Chinese institution that informs China’s leadership and the Chinese policy community.

The Carnegie Endowment for International Peace (CEIP) consists of 120 scholars from diverse disciplines and perspectives spread across more than twenty countries and six global centers working together to advance international peace. The organization focuses on disorder, governance, geoeconomics & strategy, and technology & international affairs. For the CEIP's analysis of China click Here. For its analysis of Taiwan click Here. For broader analysis of East Asian click Here. The affiliated Carnegie-Tsinghua Center for Global Policy in Beijing brings together policy experts and practitioners from China and around the world to engage in collaborative dialogue and research to identify constructive solutions to common global challenges.

The French Institute of International Relations or Institut Française des Relations Internationales (IFRI). IFRI is the leading independent research and debate institution in France dedicated to the analysis of international issues and global governance. Founded in 1979 by Thierry de Montbrial, IFRI’s policy-oriented research strives to shed light on international events and put them in perspective. It is primarily useful for political and economic decision-makers as well as academics, opinion leaders, and civil society representatives. To access IFRI’s China analysis, click Here.

Chatham House, the Royal Institute of International Affairs, is an independent world-leading policy institute based in London. Its mission is to help governments and societies build a sustainably secure, prosperous, and just world. It aims to accomplish this mission by (1) engaging governments, the private sector, civil society and our members in open debates and private discussions on the major issues in world politics; (2) Providing rigorous analysis of critical global, regional and country-specific challenges and opportunities; and (3) training the next generation of policy influencers to deepen their knowledge of the critical political issues and to develop their analytical and problem-solving skills. For analysis on China, click Here. For analysis particularly dedicated to China's Belt and Road Initiative (BRI), click Here.

Founded in 1962, The Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) is a bipartisan, nonprofit policy research organization dedicated to advancing practical ideas to address the world’s greatest challenges. CSIS aims to increase the knowledge, awareness, and salience of policy issues with relevant stakeholders and the interested public. Its main goal is a safer and more prosperous world. CSIS sponsors in several research initiatives related to China, including the following: China AnalysisChina Power Project; Chinese Business and Economics; Asia Maritime Transparency Initiative; Freeman Chair in Chinese Studies; and Reconnecting Asia. CSIS also maintains an up to date Leadership Chart of China's current leaders.

The China Institutes of Contemporary International Relations (CICIR) is a longstanding, extensive, multifunctional research and consultation complex headquartered in Beijing. CICIR, which opened to the public in 1980, is a respected Think Tank that publishes analysis and opinion on important international issues affecting China.

CICIR also publishes the journal Contemporary International Relations six times a year. To access this journal navigate to the National Social Science Database, create a personal login, paste “Contemporary International Relations” into the main search box, browse and download any articles of interest. There is a lag between the publication of a new issue and its appearance in the database.

The Chinese Foreign Policy Database maintained by the Wilson Center Digital Archive enhances the ability of contemporary observers and historians to gain broader perspectives on Chinese policies. Agregating 1000s of documents from Chinese and international archives, it offers insights into China’s foreign policy since 1949 and its relationship to ideology, revolution, the economy, and traditional Chinese culture. The Database is supported by the MacArthur Foundation and the Henry Luce Foundation.

Founded in 1948, the RAND Corporation is a nonprofit, nonpartisan institution that helps improve policy and decision making through fact-based research and analysis to help individuals, families, and communities throughout the world be healthier, more secure, and more prosperous. The Rand Corporation’s research concentrates on energy, education, health care, justice, the environment, international affairs, and national security. RAND's clientele includes government agencies, foundations, colleges and universities, and private-sector firms. For analysis and commentary on China click Here; for Taiwan click Here; For Hong Kong click Here. RAND also operates the Tang Institute of US-China Relations.

Founded in 1921, The Council on Foreign Relations (CFR) is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher dedicated to being a resource for its members, government officials, business executives, journalists, educators and students, civic and religious leaders, and other interested citizens in order to help them better understand the world and the foreign policy choices facing the United States and other countries. CFR takes no institutional positions on matters of policy. Our goal is to start a conversation in this country about the need for Americans to better understand the world.


The National Committee on United States-China Relations is a non-profit educational organization that promotes understanding and cooperation between the United States and Greater China in the belief that sound and productive Sino-American relations serve vital American and world interests. Established in 1966 by a broad coalition of scholars and civic, religious, and business leaders, the Committee was founded in the belief that vigorous debate of China policy among Americans was essential and that balanced public education could clarify U.S. interests and strengthen our foreign policy. Similarly, the founders believed that over time dialogue with Chinese citizens would enhance mutual understanding, a basic requirement for stable and productive relations. The committee has produced an excellent bibliography of up-to-date and relevant resources for “Engaging with China in a New Era.” Many videos, podcasts, events, and programs are sponsored by the committee.

Eurasia Group is a consulting firm that combines leading political expertise with timely and actionable insight for clients is at the core of our value. Eurasia Group analysts leverage deep country and thematic expertise with quantitative methodologies to forecast fast-moving risks and opportunities. They provide risk assessment briefs on their website that are useful for scholars of international relations.

Gallup news and polling information link

Since 1935, GALLUP has built its reputation on delivering relevant, timely, and visionary research on what humans around the world think and feel. Using impeccable data, its advisers assist leaders in identifying and monitoring critical economic and behavioral indicators that are vital to their strategic plans. The Gallup Poll has chronicled reactions to the events that have changed our world. Today, The Gallup Poll remains a reliable source of intelligence for a changing world. Through its offices worldwide, Gallup measures public opinion and attitudes on virtually every political, social, and economic issue. Its data reach the highest levels of government, the judiciary, business, and academia. Click to access Foreign Affairs and Asia Pacific research.

Link to Pew Research Center website

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does not take policy positions. The Center conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. It studies U.S. politics and policy; journalism and media; internet, science and technology; religion and public life; global attitudes and trends; and U.S. social and demographic trends. Several studies including information about US-China relations.

Link to Asia Society website

Founded in 1956 by John D. Rockefeller 3rd, Asia Society is a nonpartisan, nonprofit educational institution dedicated to promoting mutual understanding and strengthening partnerships among peoples, leaders, and institutions of Asia and the United States in a global context. Across the fields of arts, business, culture, education, and policy, the Society provides insight, generates ideas, and promotes collaboration to address present challenges and create a shared future. The Asia Society also operates the Center on US–China Relations.


The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. For the latest blog posts and reports related to China click Here. In 2006, the Brookings Institution established research centers focused on China in Washington, D.C., and Beijing. TheJohn L. Thornton China Center in Washington is widely recognized as the leading research center on China’s political system and its foreign and economic policies. The Brookings-Tsinghua Center for Public Policy at Tsinghua University in Beijing is a Chinese institution that informs China’s leadership and the Chinese policy community.


The Fairbank Center for Chinese Studies was founded in 1955 by Professor John King Fairbank, a leading scholar in modern and contemporary China studies. Under Professor Fairbank’s leadership, the Center took an active role in promoting the study of modern and contemporary China from a social science perspective. The Fairbank Center’s mission is to advance scholarship in all fields of China Studies.


The Shorenstein Asia-Pacific Research Center (APARC) at Stanford University is dedicated to the study of critical issues affecting the countries of Asia and their regional and global relations. Our scholar community is comprised of distinguished academics and practitioners in government, business, and civil society. Through policy-relevant research, publications, education, public programs, and international collaborations, we address pressing challenges in a world in which Asia plays an increasingly central role.


The UCLA Center for Chinese Studies was founded in 1986 to promote cutting-edge scholarship in all disciplines, fosters a research and teaching environment free from political and financial pressures, and makes the results of scholarly investigations available for use beyond academic circles. 

Established in 2006, the University of Southern California’s U.S.-China Institute (USCI) informs public discussion of the evolving and multidimensional U.S.-China relationship through policy-relevant research, graduate and undergraduate training, and professional development programs for teachers, journalists, and officials. It produces compelling public events, widely viewed documentary films, and the popular magazines US-China Today and Asia Pacific Arts. In fall 2011, USCI became part of the USC Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism, whose world-class programs include those on public diplomacy, new Chinese media, and economics reporting.


China-US Focus is an open-platform website dedicated to sharing opinions and thoughts on the most important bilateral relationship of the 21st century. China-US Focus is published by the China-United States Exchange Foundation, an independent, non-profit and non-governmental foundation committed to the belief that a positive and peaceful relationship between the strongest developed nation and the most populous, fast-developing nation is essential for global wellbeing.


The China Africa Research Initiative is based at the Johns Hopkins University School of Advanced International Studies in Washington D.C. It was established in 2014 to promote evidence-based understanding of the relations between China and African countries through high quality data collection, field research, conferences, and collaboration.

ChinaFile is an English-language, not-for-profit, online magazine about China published by the Asia Society’s Center on US–China Relations. At a moment when the United States and China have never been as tightly intertwined as they are today, ChinaFile seeks to foster an informed, nuanced, vibrant public conversation about China and its place in the world. ChinaFile publishes original reporting and analysis in print, photography and video. Our contributors ask hard questions, deliver sharp answers, and know how to tell a great story.

There are five tones in Mandarin Chinese. When it comes to coverage of China, SIXTH TONE believes there is room for other voices that go beyond buzzwords and headlines to tell the uncommon stories of common people. Sixth Tone provides fresh takes on trending topics, in-depth features, and illuminating contributions, from the perspectives of those most intimately involved, to highlight the nuances and complexities of today’s China. Sixth Tone belongs to Shanghai United Media Group.

SUPCHINA is an independent digital media company dedicated to informing, entertaining, and educating a global audience about business, technology, politics, and culture in China. 

“A jewel in the crown of China reporting. I go to it, look for it daily. Why? It adds so much insight into the real China. Essential news, culture, color. I find SupChina superior.”

                     —Max Baucus, former U.S. Ambassador to China

China Digital Times (CDT) is an independent, bilingual media organization that brings uncensored news and online voices from China to the world. CDT English was launched in 2003 as a blog to track the development of the Internet in China and quickly grew into a more comprehensive news portal. In 2010, we launched CDT Chinese to aggregate content that has been censored or blocked in Chinese cyberspace. We select the most valuable and relevant material from CDT Chinese to translate for our English readers. CDT is based in Berkeley, CA, but our team contributes to the site from across the globe.

Link to What's on Weibo website

WHAT'S ON WEIBO is an independent news site reporting social trends in an ever-changing China. What’s on Weibo sheds light on China’s social media, dynamic digital developments, and the key shifts shaping modern China. With a strong focus on China’s online media environment, What’s on Weibo aims to explain the story behind the hashtag and in doing so, hopes to form a small bridge in the divide between western and Chinese online media spheres. What’s on Weibo is fully independent, and is not affiliated with Sina Weibo or other social media companies in any way.

While a myriad sites, magazines and columns exist to unpack the significance of a changing China's and its growing role in the world. The editors at the China Channel feel that too much focus on trending news and politics ignores the white space around the edges of China coverage. They hope to fill that white space by painting a more complete picture of China, one that brings to life Chinese culture, society and history in all their complexity. The China Channel was founded by Jeffrey Wasserstrom in 2017 and publishes 3–5 new articles a week.

China Heritage is an independent web-based publishing and archival project run by the noted China scholar Geremie R. Barmé. China Heritage advocates for a multifaceted intellectual engagement with contemporary China, and with the modern Chinese-speaking world in all of its complexity. Barmé refers to this holistic approach of engaging with China as "New Sinology."

Freedom House is a bipartisan independent watchdog organization founded on the core conviction that freedom flourishes in democratic nations where governments are accountable to their people; the rule of law prevails; and freedoms of expression, association, and belief, as well as respect for the rights of women, minorities and historically marginalized groups, are guaranteed. Founded in 1941, Freedom House was the first American organization to champion the advancement of freedom globally. Freedom House's flagship publication Freedom in the World provides a comparative assessment of global political rights and civil liberties. Freedom House also produces several annual reports, including Freedom on the NetNations in TransitFreedom and the Media, the China Media Bulletin, and Special Reports, including several centered on China.

TechNode was founded by Lu Gang in 2007 to highlight developments in China’s tech and startup ecosystems. Since then, It has grown into a trusted and respected information outlet, event-organizer, and an integral part of the tech and startup community both inside and outside of China. TechNode is the exclusive China partner of TechCrunch. To link to the Chinese version of the TechNode site 动点科技, click Here.

The CIA World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 counties and other geo-political entities.

U.S. Embassy & Consulates in China

Links to the homepage of the US Embassy in Beijing with access to information on the Consulates General in Chengdu, Guangzhou, Shanghai, Shenyang, and Wuhan.

The American Institute in Taiwan (AIT) is a non-profit, private corporation established shortly after the United States Government changed its diplomatic recognition from Taipei to Beijing on January 1, 1979. AIT’s Taipei Office with a total staff of over 450 people undertakes a wide range of activities representing U.S. interests, including commercial services, agricultural sales, consular services and cultural exchanges. The Institute also operates a Chinese language school, trade center, and library. AIT has a branch office in Kaohsiung that handles local commercial promotion, consular services, information and cultural work.

Official website of the central government of the Peoples Republic of China. Click the appropriate box above to view the English or Chinese version of the site.

The American Presidency Project is maintained by political science professors John Woolley and Gerhard Peters and hosted at UC Santa Barbara. This database provides access to numerous documents related to US-China relations. You can search for key terms and limit your search to a particular president's era of administration.

Digital version of US Congressional Serial Set contains all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from 1817 to the present. These documents constitute a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history. A print version of the Serial Set would consist of over 12 million pages.

The National Bureau of Statistics of China website provides a trove of official economic and demographic data reported monthly, quarterly, and annually. It can also be viewed in Chinese.

China Data Online is a valuable data source for China studies. It includes (1) China Statistical Databases; and (2) China Census Databases; It provides easy access to the various statistical yearbooks published by the National Bureau of Statistics of China, comprehensive statistics, and Census data of economy and population at national, provincial, city, county, and even township levels.

China Vitae is a resource of biographical information on more than 5000 Chinese leaders in government, politics, the military, education, business, and the media. China Vitae also tracks the appearances and travel of approximately 500 leading Chinese officials. Searchable information is available on date and location of activity, officials in attendance, topics raised, and source of the data. CV also records official announcements of new appointments to senior Party and government positions. China Vitae is maintained and operated by the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace.

The Asia In-Depth podcast brings you conversations with the world’s leading experts on politics, economics, and culture, providing incisive, illuminating coverage of stories that matter. This podcast is sponsored by the Asia Society.

Asia Inside Out brings together Asia Society Policy Institute experts and special guests to take you beyond the latest policy headlines and provide an insider’s view on regional and global affairs. Each episode features engaging interviews with informed observers and decision-makers from across the Asia-Pacific region. View archived episodes and consider subscribing.

China Biz Roundup by Caixin Gobal provides a daily overview of major Chinese business news. Each episode is about 15 minutes.

Link to Sinica Podcast

Founded in 2010, the SINICA PODCAST is a show dedicated to discussion of current affairs in China with journalists, writers, academics, policy makers, business people and anyone with something compelling to say about the country that's reshaping the world. Hosted by Kaiser Kuo and Jeremy Goldkorn.