Subject Guides: REL 353: American Christianity and the Restored Gospel: Top Resources

Philosophy and Church History/Doctrine Librarian

Contact:

Click the button to set up a short research consultation with me or feel free to email me your questions. I will help in whatever way I can!
gerrit_vandyk@byu.edu

Subjects: Religion & Philosophy

Background on a Church Doctrine or Event

Use this Church website to learn more about a Latter-day Saint doctrine or event.

Gospel Topics Official discussions on a variety of topics and contemporary issues related to the Church.
Church History Topics Official discussions on a variety of key people, doctrines, events, and locations in Church history.
VIDEO: Using Gospel Topics and Church History Topics
Use this short video to learn more about the Church's Gospel Topics and Church History Topics websites.

Find Speeches by a Church Leader about a Doctrine

Use this database to search across General Conference sermons from 1851-Present.

LDS General Conference Corpus “This website allows you to quickly and easily search talks from General Conference of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. This corpus (or collection of texts) contains 24 million words in 10,000 talks from 1851 to the present.”
VIDEO: Using the LDS General Conference Corpus
Use this short video to learn more about how the LDS General Conference Corpus can help you find a talk by a Church leader.

Find Scholarship on a Church Doctrine, Event, Historical Figure, or Region

Use this database to locate research about a doctrine, event, or person in Latter-day Saint history.

Studies in Mormon History This free online database, formally known as Studies in Mormon History, after the print volume (Allen, Walker, and Whittaker, 2000), includes citations to articles, books, and dissertations dealing with the history, culture, and doctrine of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Many entries have links to the full text of an article or dissertation.
VIDEO: Using the Studies in Mormon History Database
Use this short video to learn how to find scholarship on a Church history topic or doctrine.

REL 353: American Christianity and the Restored Gospel: Top Resources

Philosophy and Church History/Doctrine Librarian

Background on a Church Doctrine or Event

Find Speeches by a Church Leader about a Doctrine

Find Scholarship on a Church Doctrine, Event, Historical Figure, or Region

Library Chat Help