Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dance 361: MDT Choreographic Styles: Influencers

Influencers of Musical Theatre Choreography

Jerry Mitchell

Several articles in the database: International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text 

Hairspray, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FjMaZQiLaCI

Christopher Gattelli

Several articles in the database: Performing Arts Periodicals

Musical Theatre Dance (DVD)                        MD 1753 .R59 M87 2004 DVD

Newsies - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LSEUR2gZUFc&t=3s AND can you piece together some of the technical stuff from before... maybe 2-4 sets of 8 from this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y_Sz7_7T50Q starting at 2:08

Andy Blankenbuehler

Several articles in the database: Performing Arts Periodicals

Hamilton: the Revolution                                ML 50 .M58 H36 2016

Bandstand, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k7_Zsg4aiBw

Kelly Devine

Several articles in the database: Performing Arts Periodicals

Rock of Ages- 3:32-4:20, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UFtk1DrAMx8

Casey Nicholaw

Several articles in the database: Performing Arts Periodicals

Prom - 2:29-2:48 - you can add on more to the beginning if you like - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cdEgtl5f8e8

Camille A. Brown

Dance we do: A poet explores black dance       Book in process

https://www.dancemagazine.com/contemporary-choregraphers-broadway-2641382386.html?rebelltitem=9#rebelltitem9

Cabin the Sky - 10:43-11:17

Lorin Latarro

Several articles in the database: Performing Arts Periodicals

https://www.nycdancenews.com/post/broadway-s-remarkable-year-of-the-female-choreographer

Interview: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v7pv0n71UVc

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gn09NODW2fg

Carrie-Anne Ingrouille

Several articles in the database: Performing Arts Periodicals

https://www.nycdancenews.com/post/broadway-s-remarkable-year-of-the-female-choreographer

Interview: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Ga3y5Aj3TM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AqeObqnaAe4

Steven Hoggett

Several articles in the database: Performing Arts Periodicals

Stage choreography with Steven Hoggett: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NmreUpItaMM

Ashley Wallen

Several articles in the database: Performing Arts Periodicals

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jg0HyhieZHg

Kenny Ortega

Several articles in the database: Performing Arts Periodicals

Dirty Dancing https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1c7SjdBkT6U

Databases for information on these artists