Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PWS 101 - Cultural History of Medicinal Plants: Journal Articles

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Mike Goates
Contact:
(801) 422-6012
Subjects: Geology, Life Sciences

Journal Evaluation Tools

About Journal Article Databases

The best way to find journal articles is to search one of the many scholarly databases. Below are listed some of the more relevant databases for medicinal plant topics.

Web of Science Tutorial

PubMed Tutorial

Medicinal Plants Databases

MEDLINE (PubMed) Tutorial

MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine and indexes over 4700 medical journals and publication, including veterinary medicine.PubMed is the public version of MEDLINE. It is updated daily and has a good search algorithm.

 

Web of Science Tutorial

Web of Science compiles articles from over 9,300 scholarly journals in all science disciplines. Users can easily find article references and other publications citing a particular work.

 

Embase Tutorial

Embase covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus.

 

Scopus Tutorial

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Cultural & Ethnobotanical Databases

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) Tutorial

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.

 

Anthropology Plus (EBSCO) Tutorial

Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, and edited works in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.

 

AnthroSource

Developed by the American Anthropological Association, AnthroSource brings 100 years of anthropological material online including current issues for 15 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications through the end of 2006 and an electronic archive of all AAA journals.

Have a Question? Get Help Here

Science & Engineering Help Desk

Hours:
Mon - Thurs: 8 am - 9 pm
Fri: 8 am - 6 pm
Sat: 10 am - 6 pm
 
(801) 422-2987
 
Chat loading...

Other Plant Sciences Databases

Agricola (EBSCO) Tutorial

AGRICOLA is an agricultural sciences database that contains records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Over 2,000 journals and publication series are indexed from 1979 to the present.

 

Agricultural & Environmental Science (ProQuest) Tutorial

A collection of several bibliographic databases for environmental sciences. Includes Conference Papers Index, Toxicology Abstracts, TOXLINE, Environmental Impact Statements: Digests, Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality, Ecology Abstracts, and Water Resources. Updated monthly.

 

BioOne Tutorial

A Biological Sciences database. This database includes major research journals in the biological sciences. Full-text articles available for nearly 70 peer reviewed journals. Coverage is from 1998 to the present.

 

International Plant Names Index (IPNI) 

The International Plant Names Index (IPNI) is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and lycophytes.

 

JSTOR Global Plants

Global Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.