Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,000 journals, including over 9,000 peer-reviewed titles. Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, womens studies, zoology and more.
ProQuest Research LibraryThis link opens in a new windowAlternate title: Research Library (ProQuest). This multi-disciplinary database includes more than 4,050 titles - nearly 2,800 in full text - from 1971 forward.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR focuses on humanities, social science, and more recently, science titles which have proven themselves vital to these disciplines and which have many years of publication, in some cases going back to the 19th century. Also searches ARTstor.
Newspapers (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowThis ProQuest database provides full text of more than 700 U.S. and international news sources. Includes The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Years of coverage vary by title.
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. By logging into Google Scholar from off-campus, the library holdings will be integrated into your search results allowing you to quickly find the full-text of scholarly materials.
Humanities Databases
Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowArt Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowIndexes abstracts of articles covering visual arts in the 20th century to present. Coverage is from 1974 to the present.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowIBTD is a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. Full text access is available to over 490 titles, including more than 170 full-text journals, and more than 360 full-text books and monographs.
Performing Arts Periodicals (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts more than 140 international periodicals covering nearly all aspects of the world of performing arts. Formerly International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)
Music Index (EBSCO)This link opens in a new window1976 to present: Indexes approximately 800 international music periodicals covering historic, ethnographic, and musicological data. Includes more than one million citations, with many reviews. Updated quarterly.
Music Periodicals (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowIndexes music periodicals and feature music articles and obituaries. Formerly International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP)
Humanities Source (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowThe collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Literature Online (LION)This link opens in a new windowIndexes the full-text of nine literary databases dealing with English poetry and drama, 18th century fiction, American and African poetry and Shakespeare. Also contains selected reference works and provides access to related literary websites.
Communication Source (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowIncludes Communication & Mass Media Complete. Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communications and mass media. Offers full text for over 600 titles and contains citation coverage for additional sources.
Social Sciences Databases
APA PsycInfo (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts over one million journal, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in 2,000 journals from over 50 countries in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. PsychInfo is provided by the American Psychological Association.
ProQuest Social Sciences Premium CollectionThis link opens in a new windowThis collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 500 important social science journals.
Communication Source (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowIncludes Communication & Mass Media Complete. Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communications and mass media. Offers full text for over 600 titles and contains citation coverage for additional sources.
ERIC (EBSCO)This link opens in a new window1967+ ERIC, the U.S. Department of Education Resource Information Center databases, contains indexing and abstracts from thousands of research and technical reports in the Resources In Education Index (RIE) and from more than 750 education and education-related journals in the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). In addition, selected full text articles are available for thousands of ERIC digest records. Updated quarterly.
Education Full Text (EBSCO)This link opens in a new window1983+ Indexes and abstracts a core group of 430 international periodicals, yearbooks, and selected books in education. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996.
ProQuest One BusinessThis link opens in a new windowAn intuitive and comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos, and more.
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Ultimate is a collection of popular business magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications, including the Harvard Business Review. Business Source Premier covers accounting, banking, finance, international business, management, marketing, real estate, regional studies, sales, trade and technology.
Life and Chemical Sciences
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science Core Collection accesses the Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) databases, gathered from over 9,300 scholarly journals. Searches for records by topic, author, source title, author address, cited author, cited work, cited year can be performed separately or combined. Articles are linked to other articles of the same topic. Updated weekly 1974
Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.
Scopus (Elsevier)This link opens in a new windowScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
MEDLINE (PUBMED)This link opens in a new windowAlternate title: PubMed. MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 25 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. MEDLINE includes literature published from 1966 to present, and selected coverage of literature prior to that period. Currently, citations from more than 5,200 worldwide journals in about 40 languages are added to Pub Med 7 days a week.
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowComputers and Applied Sciences Complete covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. CASC provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,200 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Full text is also available for more than 1,000 periodicals.
Database Search Tips (MIT Libraries)
Database search tips and tricks include Boolean operators, truncation, keywords, subjects, fields, phrases and stop words. Quick tab-by-tab reference from MIT.
