Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use Background Resources to Find ...
General information on your topic
Subcategories of your topic
Arguments for and against your topic
Terminology (subjects, keywords, phrases)
Authorities on this subject / Vested Communities or Stakeholders
Bibliographies of related sources
Foreign Language Encyclopedias
Store Norske Leksikon This link opens in a new window
Norway's leading encyclopedia for the past century is now available and text searchable online. Available in the Norwegian language only.
General Background Resources
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Britannica Online is one of the most comprehensive, authoritative information databases on the Internet. It contains three encyclopedias, Encyclopedia Britannica, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, and Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia. Itis continually updated to provide the most current information possible. Access to over 150 full-text journals is included at no additional cost with subscriptions to Britannica Online. Britannica Online features include: Over 73,000 articles from the printed Encyclopedia Britannica including more than 8,500 articles that are not found in the print set, plus 7,000 articles from the Britannica Books of the Year. Links to over 300,000 related sites on the Internet, selected for content by Britannica editors. Over 17,000 illustrations, maps and graphics. Thousands of sounds, animations and video clips covering topics ranging from rainforests to the Holocaust.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides the full-text of over 25,000 encyclopedic entries searchable by subject or keywords. Updated annually.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (formerly Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center) draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Thomson Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources, including selections from Bioethics for Students. The result is a dynamic online library of current event topics--the facts, as well as the arguments, of each topic's proponents and detractors. OVIC's unique features include Topic Overviews -- frameworks that allow students to explore each topic's many facets -- and exclusive electronic access to Thomson Gale's Information Plus reference series of statistics, government data, information on legislation and more.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports. Search or browse by topic and/or issue; 1991-present.
TOPICsearch (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
2,500 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled periodicals collection, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, government information and EBSCO's Current Issues database
Live Library Help
(Click for map)