Subject Guides: Architecture: Images

Visual Arts Image Databases (BYU only)

Start here...

ArtStor ARTstor is a digital image database of over 2 million images from a wide range of cultures and time periods. It includes tools to manipulate the images for study and teaching. For details and tutorials, consult the research guides for specific subjects.
Images may be used for non-commercial, scholarly, and educational purposes.
Bridgeman Education Bridgeman Education is a complete visual resource offering over 1,000,000 digital images of art, history and culture from global museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright cleared for educational use. Bridgeman Education gives you access to the visual culture of every civilization and every period from Prehistory to the present day across continents and civilisations.
Images may not be used in anything that will be distributed or presented outside of BYU.
Index of Medieval Art Largest database of medieval art, with records for over 23,000 works of art dating from early apostolic times to 1400. There are over 60,000 images from institutions such as the Morgan Library (New York); Dumbarton Oaks (Washington, D.C.); The Courtauld Institute (London); Princeton University, Jane Vadnal Image Collection; and the James Austin Photographic Collection. Individual works of art have descriptions and metadata including subject, location, date, school, style, ownership, etc. In addition, there are over 18,000 bibliographic records supporting these works of art. Formerly Index of Christian Art

Architecture Image Websites

ArchINFORM
Database for international architecture, originally emerging from records of interesting building projects from architecture students, has meanwhile become the largest online-database about worldwide architects and buildings from past to present. Search by architect, town, or keyword. Some entries include images, comments, and links to other websites.
ArchNet: Digital Library
Architecture by country, building type, building usage, decade, or site name. Includes reference resources, a timeline, architect's archives, exhibitions, and more.
Chartres: Cathedral of Notre Dame
Images of Medieval Art & Architecture
England and France. Includes Glossary.
Mapping Gothic France
Database of images, texts, charts and historical maps, depicting stories of Gothic architecture and the formation of France in the 12th and 13th centuries, considered in three dimensions: space, time, and narrative. CHECK THE ANIMATED MAP AND TIMELINE!
Pattern in Islamic Art
FREE download of over 4,000 images of patterns and other design features from the Islamic world.
Perseus Digital Library
THAIS: 40 centuries of architecture
Egyptian, Greek, Islamic, Romanesque, Byzantine, Armenian, Gothic, and Roman architecture. Search by locality, period, and subject.

Virtual Reality Panoramas in Artstor

Artstor offers almost two thousand Virtual Reality Panoramas of key buildings and architectural monuments.
Select the World Architecture VR Panoramas Collection.