Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowArt Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowIndexes abstracts of articles covering visual arts in the 20th century to present. Coverage is from 1974 to the present.
Avery Index to Architecture (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowCoverage of international scholarly and popular periodical literature, professional associations, US state and regional publications, and major serial publications on architecture, design, archaeology, city and urban planning, interior design, and preservation. Indexes from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present.
Design and Applied Arts Index (ProQuest)This link opens in a new window1973+ Indexes and abstracts information in design, design-related and photography journals. Includes articles, news items, conference and seminar reports, book reviews, videos, films, exhibitions and illustration. Also includes links to design sites on the Internet. Updated quarterly.
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary database, but excellent for art history and visual arts. Also searches Artstor!
Additional Databases
AskARTThis link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive research database on American Art. Contains biographical and bibliographical information about artists; exhibition listings and records; museum holdings, with links from artists to their museums; auction records and prices for hundreds of thousands of art works; and more than 300,000 digital images for all periods.
Index of Medieval ArtThis link opens in a new windowLargest database of medieval art, with records for over 23,000 works of art dating from early apostolic times to 1400. There are over 60,000 images from institutions such as the Morgan Library (New York); Dumbarton Oaks (Washington, D.C.); The Courtauld Institute (London); Princeton University, Jane Vadnal Image Collection; and the James Austin Photographic Collection. Individual works of art have descriptions and metadata including subject, location, date, school, style, ownership, etc. In addition, there are over 18,000 bibliographic records supporting these works of art. Formerly Index of Christian Art
Bibliography of the History of Art - BHAAn Art History database. This database indexes and abstracts the current literature on the history of Western art. Includes books, articles, collected essays, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, museum publications, etc. Includes its two predecessors--RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art) and the French RAA (repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie). Coverage is of works from late antiquity to the present.
JOURNAL FINDER
GET HELP
Click on the Live Chat box below:
chat loading...
Humanities Help Desk Level 5
Hours:
M-TH 8am-9pm
F 8am-6pm
SAT 10am-6pm
