Skip to Main Content
Fashion
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
The Berg Fashion Library is the only resource to provide integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. It includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, an extensive E-Book collection, a vast image bank, extra reference resources and more.
Contemporary Fashion
A reference book covering individual designers and fashion houses that have been active throughout the 20th and 21st centuries. Informative essays mirror the many facets of the fashion world.
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion (Print at Humanities Reference GT 507 .E53 2005 vol.1)
Three-volume survey of clothing, costume and fashion, presented through 640 essays, arranged alphabetically. Coverage includes the origins of clothing and body adornment, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress, as well as representative costumes from a wide range of historical eras.
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Fashion and Fashion Designers - GT 507 .O53 2008 (Level 1)
This indispensible guide to fashion provides in many entries detailed information on the life and work of every important designer from 1840 up to the present day, including not only couturiers (Yves Saint Laurent) but also shoe (Manolo Blahnik), hat and knitwear specialists, costume designers, jewelers (Elsa Peretti) and hairdressers. It also covers the fashion media (Gazette du bon ton), photographers (Norman Parkinson) and illustrators, influential art movements (Cubism), fashion terms, garmet and accessory styles, technical processes, and every kind of fabric, as well as personalities who have influenced fashion or promoted a style (Twiggy; Queen Victoria). International in scope, it is an essential sourcebook for designers, students, collectors and enthusiasts. Its full cross-referencing and wide ranging bibliography provide invaluable additional information.
A Cultural History of Dress and Fashion (Ebook volumes). Print volumes at Humanities Reference TT 497 .C85 2017
volume 1. In Antiquitiy / edited by Mary Harlow
volume 2. In the Medieval Age / edited by Sarah-Grace Heller
volume 3. In the Renaissance / edited by Elizabeth Currie
volume 4. In the Age of Enlightement / edited by Peter McNeil
volume 5. In the Age of Empire / edited by Denise Amy Bazter
volume 6. In the Modern Age / edited by Alexandra Palmer.
Harper's Bazaar Archive (PQ) This link opens in a new window
A searchable archive of the US (1867 to present) and UK (1930-2015) editions of Harper's Bazaar. The issues are reproduced as high-resolution color page images and supported by fully searchable text and article-level indexing. This resource chronicles over 150 years of American, British, and international fashion, culture, and society, supporting researchers by offering unique insights into the events, attitudes, and interests of the modern era.
Vogue Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. Every article, cover, photo shoot, illustration and advertisement has been digitized to the highest standard, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by designer and brand names.
Food
An A-Z of Food and Drink (Oxford)
From absinthe to zabaglione, this dictionary reveals the origin, meaning, and development of a host of gastronomic terms.
Cambridge World History of Food (2 vols.)
Covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional makeup and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. It offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink and takes up subjects from food fads, prejudices, and taboos to questions of food toxins, additives, labeling, and entitlements.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture (3 vols)
A three-volume survey of food and its place in human culture and society, presented through 600 alphabetically sorted entries. Features multidisciplinary coverage of such topics as comfort food, ethnicity and food, medieval banquets, and nutrient composition, among many others. Includes photographs, illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, and timelines. For students and general readers.
Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia - Social Science/Education Reference GT 2850 .F666 2011
Level 1 - This comprehensive reference work introduces food culture from more than 150 countries and cultures around the world--including some from remote and unexpected peoples and places.
* Entries covering over 150 countries and cultures from around the world
* More than 100 expert contributors
* Vignettes
* An index that facilitates cross-cultural comparison
Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America covers the significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink. A collaboration of nearly 200 contributors from academia, industry, and the culinary world, the articles treat regions, people, ingredients, companies, advertising, historical eras, holidays and festivals, and political, scientific, and economic currents pertinent to American cuisine.
