U.S. Census Bureau DataThis link opens in a new windowUS Census Bureau's website fact finder section. This free web site has Census data from the Decennial Census Summary Files, American Community Survey Summary Tables, and Economic Census. American FactFinder can create custom tabulations from micro data files, compute simple statistics, and create a thematic map for a specific geographic place.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowProQuest Statistical Abstracts of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Census Data: CurrentConnects to the U.S. Census Bureau, the major source of U.S. demographic, social and economic information. The CenStats File in this database requires and ID and password available at the Government Information Reference Desk.
Find Historical U.S. Statistics
Historical Statistics of the United StatesThis link opens in a new windowHistorical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition, a compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources last updated in the distant 1975, has been expanded to include over 37,000 data series -- three times more than in the previous edition -- and dozens of new topics, among them slavery, American Indians, and poverty. The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history.
The data presented here describe the people and the economy of the U.S. for each state and county from 1790 to 1970.
Find International Statistics
CIA World FactbookThis link opens in a new windowAlternate title: World Factbook. Provides a country-by-country listing of basic statistical and factual information. A few miscellaneous areas such as Antarctica and the West Bank are also included. Entries average two pages in length. Updated annually.
UNdataThis link opens in a new windowUNdata brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point. Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.
United Nations Comtrade DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowThe UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database provides international trade statistics for free. However, data cannot be downloaded to non-subscribers.
IMF International Financial StatisticsThis link opens in a new windowThe International Monetary's Fund's database of International Financial Statistics provides interactive access to data from 1945 to the present. Data series for individual nations cover GDP, imports, exports, employment, and many other economic indicators and national accounts. Additional data sets include consumer price indices worldwide, international interest rate data, and commodity price data. Statistics are downloadable to Excel, and pdf scans of the printed versions are also available.
Religious StatisticsA collection of adherent statistics and religious geography citations with references to published membership/adherent statistics and congregation statistics for over 4,200 religions, churches, denominations, religious bodies, faith groups, tribes, cultures, movements, ultimate concerns, etc. Searchable by location or name of religion.
Data Sets
Find and use statistics and data sets from other scholars and organizations.
Data Sets
ICPSRThis link opens in a new windowICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.
Roper Center iPollThis link opens in a new windowAlternate title: iPoll Databank. The iPOLL Databank is the most comprehensive, up-to-date resource for US public opinion data. Includes major U.S. commercial, media, and academic polls from 1935-present.
More Statistics
NLSY DatasetsThe National Longitudinal Surveys (NLS) are a set of surveys designed to gather information at multiple points in time on the labor market activities and other significant life events of several groups of men and women. For more than 4 decades, NLS data have served as an important tool for economists, sociologists, and other researchers
You can email me or click on "Schedule an Appointment". I am often available on short notice. Please feel free to text me at 801-362-9427 to ask about my immediate availability to assist you with your research questions.
