Subject Guides: Art Education: Use Databases

Recommended Library Arts Databases

JSTOR
JSTOR focuses on humanities and social science titles and also searches images on ArtStor.
Art & Architecture ePortal
Discover important art and architectural history scholarship from some of the world’s finest publishers and museums.
Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO)
Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design
Art and Architecture Archive (ProQuest)
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first.
Bloomsbury Design Library
Bloomsbury Design Library provides scholarly coverage of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day.
Gale Fine Arts & Music Collection
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in fine arts areas.

ARTbibliographies Modern (ProQuest)
Indexes abstracts of articles covering visual arts in the 20th century to present. Coverage is from 1974 to the present.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI): Web of Science
A citation index for the Arts & Humanities. Database coverage includes the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and indexes individually selected relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Provides access to current information and retrospective data from 1975 to the present.
Avery Index to Architecture (EBSCO)
Coverage of international scholarly and popular periodical literature, professional associations, US state and regional publications, and major serial publications on architecture, design, archaeology, city and urban planning, interior design, and preservation. Indexes from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present.
Design and Applied Arts Index (ProQuest)
1973+ Indexes and abstracts information in design, design-related and photography journals. Includes articles, news items, conference and seminar reports, book reviews, videos, films, exhibitions and illustration. Also includes links to design sites on the Internet. Updated quarterly.

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
PQDT Global connects scholarship from 4,100 universities in over 60 countries, diverse voices, ideas, and perspectives can be viewed within a singular global context. : Each full text dissertation and thesis in PQDT is fully searchable providing an unparalleled resource for text and data mining analysis making connections that generate new insights.

ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.
Education Full Text (EBSCO)
Indexes and abstracts a core group of 430 international periodicals, yearbooks, and selected books in education.
Child Care & Early Education Research Connections
Child Care & Early Education Research Connections is a continually updated, multidisciplinary database of over 10,000 resources relevant to research and policy in child care and early education.
Education Index Retrospective
Education Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database of more than half a century of indexing from an international range of English-language periodicals.
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO)
Teacher Reference Center provides coverage on key education topics for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.
Learning and Technology Library (LearnTechLib)
LearnTechLib is a source for peer-reviewed research on the latest developments and applications in Learning and Technology.

APA PsycInfo (EBSCO)
Indexes and abstracts of millions of documents in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines. Provided by the American Psychological Association.
Social Science Collection (ProQuest)
Social Science Collection is a collection of journals covering a wide range of social science topics.
Scopus (Elsevier)
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Delivering a comprehensive overview research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,000 journals, including over 9,000 peer-reviewed titles.

ArtsEdSearch
ArtsEdSearch — a project of the Arts Education Partnership — is an online clearinghouse of research focused on the outcomes of arts education for students and educators, both during and outside the school day.