Subject Guides: Mathematics: Find Articles / Use Databases

Databases

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window Indexes more than 3,000 journals and 10,000 books, conference proceedings, theses, and technical reports related to mathematics, statistics, computer science, econometrics, and engineering. Updated twice a year.

MathSciNet An alternative entry point, direct to the MathSciNet Website

Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science Core Collection accesses the Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) databases, gathered from over 9,300 scholarly journals. Searches for records by topic, author, source title, author address, cited author, cited work, cited year can be performed separately or combined. Articles are linked to other articles of the same topic. Updated weekly 1974
Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
ProQuest Research Library: Science and Technology This link opens in a new window This resource covers publications on the latest science and technology information for researchers of all levels.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window Alternate title: Association of Computing Machinery Digital Library. Database of the Association of Computing Machinery. This database consists of journals, magazines and conference reports. There is an extensive archive of records including citations, abstracts and full-text for periodicals published by the ACM.
For research and scholarly purposes only.

Science.gov Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.

Computers and Applied Sciences Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Computers and Applied Sciences Complete covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. CASC provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,200 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Full text is also available for more than 1,000 periodicals.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window Alternate title: Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. (IEEE) Xplore. 1988+ IEEE Xplore indexes and provides full-text access to all IEEE journals, conferences, and standards. All IEE journals and conferences are also included.
No systematic downloading or robotic crawling.
Compendex This link opens in a new window 1969+ Provides indexing and abstracts of the world's engineering literature in all fields of engineering. The database includes journal articles, conference papers and technical reports. Sources for the records are from over five thousand journals, conference proceedings and reports. As of the year 2000 there are over five million records in Compendex. Updated weekly.
No systematic or automated downloading.
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window SPIE Digital Library is the world's largest collection of optics and photonics applied research. With more than 485,000 papers spanning biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging, the SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive research database available on optics and photonics research.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window PQDT Global connects scholarship from 4,100 universities in over 60 countries, diverse voices, ideas, and perspectives can be viewed within a singular global context. : Each full text dissertation and thesis in PQDT is fully searchable providing an unparalleled resource for text and data mining analysis making connections that generate new insights.
Electronic Theses and Dissertations - BYU This link opens in a new window Electronic versions of works submitted to the BYU School of Graduate Studies

Other search tools:

Database Training Videos

About Articles

In academic publishing, a paper (or article) is an academic work that is usually published in an academic journal. It contains original research results or reviews existing results. Such a paper, also called an article, will only be considered valid if it undergoes a process of peer review by one or more referees (who are academics in the same field) in order to check that the content of the paper is suitable for publication in the journal. A paper may undergo a series of reviews, edits and re-submissions before finally being accepted or rejected for publication. This process typically takes several months. Next there is often a delay of many months (or in some subjects, over a year) before publication, particularly for the most popular journals where the number of acceptable articles outnumbers the space for printing.

Source: Wikipedia, see article.

About Databases

Article Databases have search engines to help you find journal articles for specific disciplines. The databases included on this page are selected for this particular discipline. As you use them, look for the "Get it at BYU" link within the search results. Clicking this will direct you to either the electronic version of the article, the call number for the printed version, or the InterLibrary Loan service (ILL) to request the article if not available at BYU. ILL requests are free and are usually delivered within 2 business days.

Journal Finder

If you have an article reference, enter the Journal name to find it at the HBLL.