Subject Guides: Neuroscience: Background and Reference Information

Subject Librarian

Greg Nelson

Contact:

2313 HBLL
Provo, UT 84606
(801) 422-9066
greg_nelson@byu.edu

Subjects: Engineering & Technology, Life Sciences, Physical & Mathematical Sciences

Protocols Databases

Springer Protocols This link opens in a new window Presents reproducible laboratory protocols in the life and biomedical Sciences.
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols (CSH) This link opens in a new window Presents step-by-step instructions for new and classic research techniques in cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging.

AccessNeurology

Access Neurology This link opens in a new window
AccessNeurology from McGraw-Hill Medical offers a new approach to neurology reference, research, and curricular instruction – all in one place. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online neurology resource covers the entire spectrum of neurology from the basics to specialty-specific content – optimized for viewing on any device.

Medical Texts

Try searching current medical texts for in depth info on your topic.

E-books
Include many biomedical texts with links to peer reviewed literature

Gale Health and Medicine

Databases of Clinical Information

UpToDate This link opens in a new window An evidence-based, peer reviewed database of clinical information.
For educational use only.
Micromedex Healthcare Series This link opens in a new window Provides a comprehensive, clinical knowledge base that will prepare you for success in clinical practice.
VisualDx This link opens in a new window VisualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety.
StatPearls This link opens in a new window An expansive array of point-of-care and educational activities for health professionals in hospital, ambulatory, and community-based settings.

Histology Image Sites

MedPix MedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images. Our primary target audience includes physicians and nurses, allied health professionals, medical students, nursing students and others interested in medical knowledge. The content material is organized by disease location (organ system); pathology category; patient profiles; and, by image classification and image captions. The collection is searchable by patient symptoms and signs, diagnosis, organ system, image modality and image description, keywords, contributing authors, and many other search options.
Digital Histology Digital Histology provides an open educational resource that combines a digital atlas with extensive descriptive text. It is organized as a multi-hierarchy outline that reinforces broader histological concepts and parallels the content of most histology textbooks.
NTP Atlas of Nonneoplastic Lesions in Rats and Mice The NTP Nonneoplastic Lesion Atlas (NNLA) provides diagnostic guidelines for microscopic nonneoplastic lesions in rats and mice in order to improve the understanding of nonneoplastic lesions and their relevance to human environmental diseases.

Health Related Websites

American Medical Association Since 1847 the American Medical Association (AMA) has had one mission: to promote the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health. Today, the core strategy used to carry out this mission is our concerted effort to help doctors help patients. We do this by uniting physicians nationwide to work on the most important professional and public health issues.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) CDC serves as the national focus for developing and applying disease prevention and control, environmental health, and health promotion and education activities designed to improve the health of the people of the United States.
CIDRAP The Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy (CIDRAP), founded in 2001, is a global leader in addressing public health preparedness and emerging infectious disease response.
Food and Drug Administration The FDA promotes public health by reviewing clinical research and taking appropriate action on the marketing of regulated products.
Genetics Home Reference Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health. The resources on this site should not be used as a substitute for professional medical care or advice. Users seeking information about a personal genetic disease, syndrome, or condition should consult with a qualified healthcare professional.
Health & Wellness Resource Center Health & Wellness Resource Center offers 24/7 access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Mayo Clinic Mayo Clinic is a nonprofit worldwide leader in medical care, research and education for people from all walks of life. Doctors from every medical specialty work together to care for patients, joined by common systems and a philosophy of "the needs of the patient come first."
Merck Manual - Consumers Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written in everyday language.
Merck Manual - Professional Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for the health care professional.
National Academy of Sciences The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is an honorific society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research, dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and to their use for the general welfare.
National Center for Biotechnology Information Links to Genbank database, tools for data mining including BLAST, COGS, MapViewer, LocusLink, UniGen, ORF finder, Electronic PCR, VAST search, CCAP, Human-Mouse Homology maps, VecScreen, and Cancer Genome Anatomy Project. Also provides access to Entrez: a retrieval system for searching several linked databases, including PubMed, Nucleotide sequence database, protein sequence database, structure, genome, population data sets, Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man, taxonomy, 3D domains, ProbeSet, and online books.
National Center for Health Statistics Start here when looking for statistics.
National Institutes of Health (NIH) The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency—making important discoveries that improve health and save lives. NIH’s mission is to seek fundamental knowledge about the nature and behavior of living systems and the application of that knowledge to enhance health, lengthen life, and reduce the burdens of illness and disability.

National Library of Medicine This link opens in a new window PubMed provides Web access to resources of the National Library of Medicine, the world's largest biomedical library. Includes access to MEDLINE, PREMEDLINE, and molecular biology databases from the Entrez retrieval system.

National Science Foundation (NSF) The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense…" NSF is the only federal agency whose mission includes support for all fields of fundamental science and engineering, except for medical sciences.
Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) The Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) is an international public health agency with 100 years of experience in working to improve health and living standards of the countries of the Americas. It serves as the specialized organization for health of the Inter-American System. It also serves as the Regional Office for the Americas of the World Health Organization and enjoys international recognition as part of the United Nations system.
ResearchGate ResearchGate is a free professional network for researchers in a variety of scientific disciplines. With over one million members, ResearchGate allows users to share ideas and collaborate with other researchers throughout the world. Some of the available applications in ResearchGate enable users to contribute to scholarly discussions, search for publications, learn about scientific conferences, and hunt for jobs in specific fields.
US Department of Health and Human Services The Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is the United States government’s principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves.
World Health Organization Provides information and statistics on many global health issues.

Professional and Graduate School Practice Tests

Testing & Education Reference Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window TERC contains over 100 practice tests and courses to help students prepare for educational tests including the GRE, GMAT, LSAT, MCAT, MAT, NCLEX, and PRAXIS. Information about graduate schools and careers is also included.

Online Encyclopedias and More

Encyclopedia of Neuroscience Complete, online version of this 5-volume encyclopedia, published in 2009.

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences This link opens in a new window Comprehensive encyclopedia of all subjects in the life sciences.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window Includes full text for a number of encyclopedias and handbooks, including many specialized life science and health resources.
Merck index This link opens in a new window The Merck Index is an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs. Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds.