ISBN: 9781932780253
Publication Date: 2022-03-01
Writing Style and Communication Skills for Undergraduate Engineers, Fifth Edition, provides students guidance for models of experimental reporting and fully explains how they might produce such reports using their own data.
CH EN 373: DECHEMA Location Information
The DECHEMA reference volumes can me found in the Science Reference Section
Chemical Engineering Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks, etc.
Handbooks and Indexes
CRC Handbook of Chemistry & PhysicsThis link opens in a new windowWeb access to the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Searchable by keyword, property, and compound. A number of the tables may be sorted and rearranged to create customized tables.
Handbook of Mathematical Functions with Formulas, Graphs, and Mathematical TablesThis link opens in a new windowThis volume provides scientific investigators with a comprehensive and self-contained summary of mathematical functions that arise in physical and engineering problems. Contains mathematical formulas, tables, graphs, a complete table of analytical integrals, differential equations, and numerical series. The volume includes tables of trigonometric and hyperbolic functions, tables for numerical integration, rules for differentiation and integration, and techniques for point interpolation and function approximation. Additionally, an entire section to mathematical and physical constants is included as well as a discussion on statistics by combinatorial analysis and probability functions.
Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards, Volumes 1 and 2Widely regarded as the reference work in the field of reactive chemical hazards, these two volumes are an assembly of all reported risks such as explosion, fire, toxic or high-energy events that result from chemical reactions gone astray, with extensive referencing to the primary literature.
Merck indexThis link opens in a new windowThe Merck Index is an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs. Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and MSDS
Britannica OnlineThis link opens in a new windowBritannica Online is one of the most comprehensive, authoritative information databases on the Internet. It contains three encyclopedias, Encyclopedia Britannica, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, and Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia. Itis continually updated to provide the most current information possible. Access to over 150 full-text journals is included at no additional cost with subscriptions to Britannica Online. Britannica Online features include: Over 73,000 articles from the printed Encyclopedia Britannica including more than 8,500 articles that are not found in the print set, plus 7,000 articles from the Britannica Books of the Year. Links to over 300,000 related sites on the Internet, selected for content by Britannica editors. Over 17,000 illustrations, maps and graphics. Thousands of sounds, animations and video clips covering topics ranging from rainforests to the Holocaust.
CAS Source Index (CASSI) search toolThis link opens in a new windowThe CAS Source Index (CASSI) search tool is a web-based resource intended to support researchers and librarians who need accurate bibliographic information. This new tool has been created as a free-of-charge resource that will enable researchers to confirm journal titles and journal title abbreviations in an easily accessible electronic format.
PubMed Single Citation MatcherFind full PubMed citations with partial fields. Journal may be full title or abbreviation.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial ChemistryThis link opens in a new windowA state-of-the-art reference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, and many more.
Tables and Physical Data
Phase OnlineThis link opens in a new windowAccess to more than 31,000 critically evaluated diagrams for understanding temperature-dependent material interactions in ceramic and inorganic systems, PHASE provides the most complete phase data with updated analysis capabilities.
ASM Alloy Phase Diagram DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowSearch and view more than 40,300 binary and ternary phase diagrams for inorganic systems.
ICSDThis link opens in a new windowInorganic Crystal Structure Database is the world's largest database for completely determined inorganic crystal structures. The ICSD contains an almost exhaustive list of known inorganic crystal structures published since 1913, including their atomic coordinates.
Design Institute for Physical Properties (DIPPR)This link opens in a new windowOnly available on-campus. Experimental and property data for over 1600 commercially important chemicals and substances. Published by the BYU DIPPR Thermophysical Properties Laboratory.
Knovel Critical TablesThis link opens in a new windowThis important, interactive Knovel reference contains tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties. The physical property tables alone include over 21,000 inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. The solvent property tables have data for 385 common solvents, and the thermodynamic property tables have data for over 15,000 compounds. Additionally, several tables make use of the interactive Equation Plotter to plot thermodynamic properties as a function of temperature.
NIST Chemistry WebBookThe NIST Chemistry WebBook provides users with easy access to chemical and physical property data for chemical species through the internet. The data provided in the site are from collections maintained by the NIST Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors. Data in the WebBook system are organized by chemical species. The WebBook system allows users to search for chemical species by various means. Once the desired species has been identified, the system will display data for the species.
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and TechnologyThis link opens in a new windowAlternate title: International Critical Tables. This classic and well-known reference was originally published for the National Research Council in 7 volumes. It contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. The original 1000-page index is hyperlinked to each entry's appropriate page.
Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th Revised Edition)This link opens in a new windowOriginally published by Smithsonian Institution Press, this classic reference source comprises 901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense. All entries in the index are hyperlinked to their page numbers.
Web Thermo TablesThis link opens in a new windowWTT (Web Thermodynamic Tables)--Professional Edition, a Web version of the TRC Thermodynamic Tables (TRC is formerly the Thermodynamics Research Center from the Texas A & M University). This database is the web version of the Hydrocarbon and Non-Hydrocarbon Thermodynamic Tables, previously produced by TRC in print format, and has now been taken over by NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology). The critically evaluated physical and thermodynamic data are provided in tabular form according to property groups. There are eight property groups included in the TRC Web Thermo Tables (WTT). They are: (1) critical properties, (2) vapor pressure and boiling temperatures, (3) phase transition properties, (4) volumetric properties, (5) heat capacities and derived properties, (6) transport properties, (7) refraction, surface tension, and speed of sound, and (8) reaction state-change properties. Detailed lists of the properties available within each group are provided with pull down lists and the Help Documentation for that group. Not all properties have been evaluated for all compounds. This web version is much easier to search and chemical compounds find their data than the print version.
ChemSpiderThis link opens in a new windowChemSpider is a free-to-access collection of compound data from across the web, provided for the benefit of the community by the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC). It aggregates chemical structures and their associated information into a single searchable repository and makes it available to everybody.
PubChemThis link opens in a new windowPubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem includes substance information, compound structures, and BioActivity data in three primary databases, Pcsubstance, Pccompound, and PCBioAssay, respectively.
Graduate/Professional School Test Prep Exams
Testing & Education Reference Center (Gale)This link opens in a new windowTERC contains over 100 practice tests and courses to help students prepare for educational tests including the GRE, GMAT, LSAT, MCAT, MAT, NCLEX, and PRAXIS. Information about graduate schools and careers is also included.
Selected Chemical Engineering Websites
AIChE Home PageThe American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) is the world's leading organization for chemical engineering professionals, with nearly 43,000 members from over 90 countries. AIChE has the breadth of resources and expertise you need whether you are in core process industries or emerging areas, such as nanobiotechnology.
American Chemical Society Web PageGeneral Web page of the American Chemical Society. Provides links to other chemistry-related Web sites. To search journals, see https://dbs.lib.byu.edu/acs-journal
LensThis link opens in a new windowUS, European and World wide collections searchable in full text of the entire specifications, with links to global patent families. Single inventions may have dozens, hundreds or even thousands of related patent documents in up to 80 different jurisdictions. See and explore these relationships.
Patents & Trademarks (U.S. PTO)Provides access to the U.S. Patents and Trademark Office website and the Patent and Trademark Depository Library Program.
Patents (Worldwide)This link opens in a new windowProvides searching for over 30 million patents worldwide and links to the European, Japanese, and World Intellectual Property Organization databases.
Science.govScience.gov searches over 45 databases and over 2000 selected websites from 14 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
SpringerLinkThis link opens in a new windowSpringer publishes millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings.
ToxnetThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to a system of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, toxic release lists and related areas.
Search U.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1976 and digitized by TRAIL.
Keyword Search
Enter your search terms:
Official Methods
AOCS MethodsThis link opens in a new windowTo access, create an account with your @byu.edu email address. Since the 1920s, the global fats and oils industry has relied on the analytical standards of the Official Methods and Recommended Practices of the AOCS (AOCS Methods) for processing, trading, utilizing, and evaluating fats, oils, and lipid products. Worldwide acceptance has made the AOCS Methods a requirement wherever fats and oils are analyzed, they contain the methodology required for proficiency testing in the Laboratory Proficiency Program (LPP), as well as AOCS Laboratory Certification. Additionally, AOCS methods are internationally recognized for trade, and several are listed by the Codex Alimentarius Commission.
No systematic downloading. May not provide access to database or materials to any third party. May not modify, alter, or create derivative works of the materials. For scholarly, noncommercial use only.
AACC International Approved Methods of AnalysisThis link opens in a new windowThe most respected, referred to, and relied upon source in the field of grain science and technology containing standardized methods of analysis among cereal laboratories.
