Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: Popular: Research Aids

Encyclopedias

The Encyclopedia of Popular Music (edited by Colin Larkin). Call number: Ref ML 102 .P66 G84 2006.

Continuum encyclopedia of popular music of the world. Call number: Ref ML 102 .P66 S53 2003.

Virgin encyclopedia of Fifties Music. Call number: Ref ML 102 .P66 F53 2002.

Virgin encyclopedia of Sixties Music. Call number: Ref ML 102 .P66 S59 2002.

Virgin encyclopedia of Seventies Music. Call number: Ref ML 102 .P66 V56 2002.

Virgin encyclopedia of Eighties Music. Call number: Ref ML 102 .P66 V564 2003.

 

Bibliographies

These can be searched in the Library's catalog or WorldCat using the following subject headings (use alphabetic search):

  • Popular music -- Bibliography
  • Popular music -- Bio-bibliography
  • [Other genres] -- Bibliography (substitute a different genre from the list in the right column)
  • [Other genres] -- Bio-bibliography

Bio-bibliographies are found in the Refrerence Collection at ML 134.

Dictionaries

These can be searched in the Library's catalog or WorldCat using the following subject heading:

  • Popular music -- Dictionaries
  • [Other genres] -- Dictionaries (See list at right.)

 You can also find them shelved under the call number ML102 .P66 ( in the Reference Collection.)

Song Indexes

These are designed to help you identify, and locate a copy of, popular songs. Find them in the Library's catalog or WorldCat using key words from the following subject headings:

  • Popular music -- Indexes.
  • Popular music -- Bibliography.

Examples:

SongCite: an Index to Popular Songs. = ML 128 .P63 G65 1995 (Reference collection)

The Great Song Thesaurus = ML 128 .S3 L4 1989 (one copy in Ref / one in stacks)

Popular Music: an Annotated Index of American Popular Songs.= ML 120 .U5 S5 1989 (Reference collection)

Biography

Biographical information can be located in the Library's catalog or WorldCat using a number of subject headings:

  • [Name]
  • [Name] -- Interviews
  • [Name] -- Homes and haunts
  • [Name] -- Pictorial works
  • [Name] -- Protraits
  • Popular music -- Biography
  • Popular music -- [Place] -- Biography
  • Musicians -- Biography
  • Musicians -- [Place] -- Biography
  • Musicians -- [the subdivisions after Name above]
  • [Other genres] -- [subdivisions above] (See list in upper right column.)

Use key words from these at the Library Catalog "Keyword" search screen.

For example: Springsteen, Bruce - Interviews

And the results:

The library has both individual and collective biographies. Examples of collective bios:

You Must Remember This: Popular Songwriters 1900-1980 = ML 390 .W378 1985 (Reference collection)

Angels of the Night: Popular Female Singers of our Time = ML 400 .M44 1986

Breakout: Profiles in African Rhythm = on order

Books on Popular Music History

These can be located in the Library's catalog using key words from the following subject headings, at the "Guided Keyword" search screen:

  • Popular Music -- History and criticism
  • Popular Music -- [Place] -- History and criticism
  • Popular Music -- Analysis, appreciation

You can also find many of them shelved in the call number range ML 3470 - ML 3541.

Recordings and Videos

Discographies

Numerous discographies have been published tracing the recorded history of popular music, or popularity rankings. Find them in the Library's catalog or WorldCat using key words from the following subject headings:

  • Popular music -- Discography
  • Popular music -- [Place] -- Discography
  • [Name] -- Discography

You can also find them shelved under the call number ML156.4 P6 (Reference collection)

Biographies of popular musicians (see above) may also include a discography.

 Examples of discographies in Reference Collection:

Complete Entertainment Discography, from 1897 to 1942 = ML 156.4 .P6 R88 1989

Billboard's Top 3000 Plus = ML 156.4 .P6 W457 1988

Cash Box Album Charts, 1975-1985 = ML 156.4 .P6 H588 1988

Popular Music: an Annotated Guide to Recordings = ML 120 .U5 S5 1989

 

Reviews

See "Discographies" above, and "Websites" in the right column.

 

Videos

To see a list of videos on a popular music topic:

  • Go to the "Advanced Keyword" search screen.
  • Set your first box to "subject."
  • Set the type to "Digital video disc."
  • Enter a popular genre in "Subject."

 

Related Areas

The scholarly study of popular music often involves research into the historical, social, economic, and political developments of the time, artistic cross-influences, etc.

Some subject headings that relate to the larger context:

  • Popular music -- Social aspects
  • Popular music -- Political aspects
  • Popular music -- Economic aspects
  • Popular music -- Psychological aspects
  • Popular music -- Religious aspects
  • Popular music -- Influence
  • Popular music and art music
  • Popular music in art
  • Popular music in literature
  • Popular music in motion pictures
  • Popular music -- Drama   [= plays about pop music]
  • Popular music -- Fiction    [= novels about pop music]
  • [Other genres] -- [subdivisions above]
  • [Any subject] -- Songs and music
  • Drinking in popular music
  • Drugs in popular music
  • Drugs and popular music
  • Homosexuality and popular music
  • Sex and popular music
  • Smoking in popular music
  • Popular music -- African influences
  • African-Americans -- Music
  • United States -- Civilization -- African influences
  • Folk music -- United States
  • Blues (Music)
  • Popular culture

Genres of Popular Music

Popular music

Popular songs

World music

World beat (Music)

Rock music

Country music

Bluegrass music

Blues (Music)

Rhythm and blues music

Big band music

Cajun music

Calypso (Music)

Celtic music

Contemporary Christian music

Disco music

Funk (Music)

Gospel music

Industrial music

Jingles (Advertising songs)

Klezmer music

Rap (Music)

Reggae (Music)

Salsa (Music)

Soul music

Swing (Music)

Western swing (Music)

Call numbers for Biographies

Collective biographies ML 385-406

ML 385 - Collective biographies of musicians (general)

ML 390 - Collective biographies of composers or arrangers

ML 395 - Collective biographies of instrumentalists

ML 396-399 - Collective biographies of instrumentalists by instrument

ML 400 - Collective biographies of singers

ML 402-406 - Collective biographies of other music professionals by type

Individual biographies ML 410-ML 429

ML 410 - Composers

ML 416-417 - Keyboardists

ML 418 - String players

ML 419 - Other instrumentalists

ML 420 - Singers

ML 421 - Performing groups

ML 422-429 - Other music professionals by type

Useful Websites

International Association for the Study of Popular Music (IASPM)

http://www.iaspm.net/

 

The Center for Popular Music (Middle Tennessee State University)

http://popmusic.mtsu.edu/

 

Museum of Pop  (formerly Experience Music Project (Seattle))

https://www.mopop.org/

 

The Rock Site

http://www.rocksite.info/

 

Classic Bands [rock, 1950s - 1970s]

http://www.classicbands.com/

 

Soul Patrol

http://www.soul-patrol.com/

Career Guides

These can be searched in the Library's catalog or WorldCat using the following subject headings:

  • Popular music -- Vocational guidance
  • Popular music -- Writing and publishing

 

Examples:

This Business of Music: the Definitive Guide to the Music Industry.

Real Deal: How to get Signed to a Record Label.

The Craft of Lyric Writing.

In their own Words: Songwriters Talk about the Creative Process.