Management & Organizational Leadership: Recommended Books

Handbook of Organizational Routines by Markus C. Becker (Editor)

Cross- Functional Teams by Glenn M. Parker Glenn Parker suggests avenues for working with the teams that are omnipresent in today's management environment. Case studies are included in appendices. Subjects: Cross-functional teams, Intergroup relations, Interorganizational relations, Complex organizations...

Engagement Transforming difficult relationships at work by Lee G. Bolman; Joan V. Gallos

Essential Drucker by Peter F. Drucker; Peter Drucker

The Fifth Discipline: The art and practice of the learning organization by Peter M. Senge

Handbook of Methods in Leadership Research by Birgit Schyns (Editor); Rosalie J. Hall (Editor); Pedro Neves (Editor) his Handbook brings together experts in the field of leadership to provide insights into methods for leadership research. It serves to motivate them to use new research methods to further our knowledge of the leadership field.Illustrating novel approaches to research with sample questions and applications to the field of leadership, this comprehensive and accessible Handbook covers key methodologies in leadership research today, as well as introducing methods that will be invaluable in the future. With chapters written by established leadership scholars, the Handbook of Methods in Leadership Research is arranged to cover three core areas of research: measurement and design, quantitative analytic approaches, and qualitative analytic approaches. The book provides an accessible overview and starting point to discover new methods. All chapters are well researched and provide references for those who want to delve deeper into the topics covered. The volume ends with a summary of tips for each method presented.This book will be an indispensable resource for leadership students, scholars, and practitioners alike, to inspire their future research but also to support their understanding of the quality of research carried out by others.

Handbook of Research on Leadership and Creativity by Michael D. Mumford (Editor); Sven Hemlin (Editor) The rapid pace of technological change and globalization of products, competition and services have conspired to place a new premium on innovation for firms across the world. Although many variables influence creativity and innovation, the effective leadership of creative teams has proved especially important. This timely Handbook presents the state of the art for what leaders must do to lead creative teams and how they should do it.Handbook of Research on Leadership and Creativity is divided into three major sections. The first section on leadership functions identifies key activities that must be executed by leaders if creative efforts are to prove successful. The next section explains creative leadership using available theoretical models, examining the effects of leader behaviors on follower creativity. The final section investigates specific domains where organizations seek creativity. It covers the creative domains of research and development as well as military and academia, which have not traditionally been viewed as domains where creative leadership is critical.This comprehensive Handbook makes a significant contribution to the literature on creativity and innovation and will be welcomed as an accessible yet authoritative text by students, teachers and researchers alike.

Point Counterpoint by Ed Gubman (Editor); Anna Tavis (Editor); Richard Vosburgh (Editor)

What Every New Manager Needs to Know by Gerard H. Gaynor; Gerard (Gus) H. Gaynor Subjects: Business & Economics, Management. "Companies depend on the ability of managers to fulfill organizational vision and meet crucial objectives. But without a firm grasp of critical management competencies, new managers' own futures -- as well as the company's -- can be at serious risk. "What Every New Manager Needs to Know" gives readers the skills they need to excel in their new responsibilities, such as managing the relationship between individual and team performance, making key people decisions like hiring, coaching and evaluating, developing budgets, and mastering the skills of project management. The book explores the key roles managers must take on in different situations, and answers fundamental questions like: * What does it mean to be a manager? * What work can be delegated to others? * When is it -- and isn't it -- appropriate to take on an active leadership role? Featuring examples and stories, "What Every New Manager Needs to Know" shows newly appointed managers how to think outside the cubicle and excel in their new roles."

Built to Last by Jim Collins; Jerry I. Porras

The Fifth Discipline by Peter M. Senge

Good to Great by Jim Collins

Human Resource Champions by David Ulrich

In Search of Excellence by Robert H. Waterman; Tan (Editor); Thomas J. Peters

Organizing Genius by Warren Bennis; Patricia W. Biederman

Who Moved My Cheese? by Spencer Johnson

Encyclopedia of Management: Organizational Chart by Marilyn M. Helms (Editor) Simmering, M. J. (2006). Organizational Chart. In M. M. Helms (Ed.), Encyclopedia of Management (5th ed., pp. 621-624). Detroit: Gale. Retrieved from http://go.galegroup.com

Organization charts Structures of more than 200 businesses and non-profit organizations by Judith M. Nixon This volume presents some 200 charts that serve as examples of the organizational structures of large and small businesses in the US and abroad, governmental and intergovernmental agencies, not-for-profits, and volunteer groups. Some charts are detailed while others offer only gross distinctions between functional areas. These differences in the way structures are displayed will interest those who are concerned about how organizations divide their functions. A short introduction to the significant elements that ought to be examined when evaluating organizational structures is followed by the charts themselves, many gleaned from annual reports, supplemented with information provided by the individual organizations, then redrawn for easy comparison using computer software. No explanatory information is provided with the charts except the source of the information. An index interfiles references to individual companies with the categories of organizations (e.g., seven citations under "Banking"), and provides appropriate cross-references between categories of organization and enough detail to allow for the comparison of companies working in the same industry.

Evolutionaries by Randy Harrington; Carmen Voilleque Evolutionaries are people who lead companies, systems, industries, communities and even nations through transformative change. You can find Evolutionaries hidden inside organizations - often their role is on the periphery. They are the people in the Research and Development Department, the innovation labs, the skunk works, but there are other times when they are more central. We believe that time is now. As we emerge from the Great Recession, the economic landscape has changed. The game is different now, and it will never go back to the way it was. Whether we like it or not, the new economy demands leaders that are agile, adaptable, innovative and visionary. Today's organizations need Evolutionaries more than ever before. Evolutionaries are not new. They have always been around. But what is different now is that they are the ones that are transforming the economy for a successful future. So whether you are an Evolutionary, you know an Evolutionary, or you are looking for one, this book is for you. If you can harness the capabilities of the Evolutionary leader and align them to your organization's strategic vision, you are golden. If not, you will only fall further behind the curve

Improving Performance by Geary A. Rummler; Alan P. Brache This book presents a complete and integrated approach to improving organizational performance - showing managers and staff analysts how to bring about positive change on three levels: the organizational level (strategies, structures, goals, resources); the process level (how the work is done); and the level of the individual job or job performer. Provides concrete suggestions for improving the performance of the whole organization by setting goals, addressing design issues, and determining management practices for each level. It identifies and shows how to manage the key factors that determine organizational performance, from corporate strategy to reward systems.

ISBN: 1555422144

Publication Date: 1990-06-29