Subject Guides: English Language: Reference

Reference Online

The Blackwell Linguistics Reference Online offers you a number of handbooks & encyclopedias ranging from language acquisition to syntax, from phonetics to writing systems, from English to Japanese.

Style Manuals

Chicago Style - Basic
more...less...
Chicago documentation style basic guidelines for citing print and online sources. This style is used in researching History and some fields in the Humanities.

Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
18th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style

Turabian Style - Basic
more...less...
Turabian documentation style basic guidelines for citing print and online sources.

Oxford Bibliographies Online

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks

Concise Oxford Companion to the English Language (E-book)
Print version at Humanities Reference PE 31 .C66 2005
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics (E-book)
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology (E-book)
Print version at Humanities Reference PE 1580 .C66 1986
The Handbook of English Linguistics (E-book)
Print version at PE 1106 .A27 2006
The Handbook of the History of English (E-book)
Print version at PE 1075 .H335 2006
The Handbook of World Englishes (E-book)
The Oxford Dictionary of American Usage and Style (E-book)

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online This link opens in a new window

Dictionary of American Regional English (6 volumes) - Humanities Reference PE 2843 .D52 1985

Usage Dictionaries

Research and Writing

A Companion to Digital Humanities - HUM REF AZ 105 .C588 2004
A Critical Bibliography of English Language Studies - HUM REF PE 1065 .X1 C748 1998
American Literature and Language :A Guide to Information Sources - HUM REF PS 88 .X1 K67 1982
Handbook of Research in Second Language Teaching and Learning - HUM REF P 118.2 .H359 2005
Middle English Word Studies : A Word and Author Index - HUM REF PE 661 .X1 S95 2000
Old and Middle English Language Studies : A Classified Bibliography, 1923-1985 - HUM REF PE 123.X1 T35 1988
The Eighteenth Century: A Current Bibliography HUM REF CB 411 .X1 E44

Atlases and Surveys

UK Focus

US Focus

World Englishes

The Mouton World Atlas of Variation in English (E-book)
Print version at Humanities Reference PE 1074.7 .M68 2012

Get Help

Humanities Reference
Level 5
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm

801.422.4006
humref@byu.edu

Bibliography Managers

Use one of these tools to import references of books, articles, and websites into folders and keep them organized. Create in-text citations and format your bibliography for your paper too.

RefWorks This link opens in a new window The new RefWorks 3.0 lets you save and share an unlimited number of references, full-text, and other research materials. Generate bibliographies and citations and integrate with either Word or Google Docs.
Zotero This link opens in a new window A free Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources.