Subject Guides: Communications: News Sources

Current News

U.S. & Canada
International

Individual Newspapers

Looking for a specific newspaper? Use the Journals link to locate and search the contents of a particular paper.

Newspaper Collections

Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This ProQuest database provides full text of more than 700 U.S. and international news sources. Includes The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Years of coverage vary by title.
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. This current database begins its coverage in 1990.
US Hispanic Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
US Hispanic Newsstream offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from US publishers in both Spanish and English.
Gale Newsstand This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text newspapers and allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Global news and business information service including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires, The Wall Street Journal, and thousands of other national and international newspapers in multiple languages. Also provides financial market data and company information.
No Systematic Downloading. Factiva may not be used for data mining, text mining, or trend analysis functions.
Latin American Newsstand (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A selection of full-text Latin-American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics.

Historical Black Newspapers

ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers provide cultural perspective and insight to the events that shaped the United States. Covering everything from major events to everyday life, these titles are invaluable research tools for studying American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and art.

Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010)
The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010)
Chicago Defender (1910-2010)
Cleveland Call & Post (1934-2010)
Kansas City Call (1919-2010)
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010)

Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010)
The Norfolk Journal & Guide (1916-2010)
The Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010)

Individual Newspapers

Looking for a specific newspaper archive? Use the Journals link to search for a particular paper by its title.

Newspaper Collections

19th Century U.S. Newspaper Digital Archive (Gale) This link opens in a new window Approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century United States. This database has full-text searching capability, and it displays images from numerous newspapers from urban and rural areas.
African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window African American newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. The collection also provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience. From Accessible Archives.
CRL's U.S. Ethnic Newspapers Database This link opens in a new window CRL's U.S. Ethnic Newspapers Database provides access to The Center for Research Libraries' collection of more than 2,000 titles of periodicals and newspapers published by various ethnic groups in North America and held by the Center.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window The single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries
Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Search the archives of historical newspapers from around the United States. Coverage dates back to 1786.
Historical Newspapers from Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window The Virginia Gazette: 1736 - 1780; African American Newspapers: The 19th Century; The Liberator 1831-1865; The Pennsylvania Gazette 1728-1800; South Carolina Newspapers: 1732 - 1780
NewspaperARCHIVE This link opens in a new window NewspaperARCHIVE.com is the world's largest online newspaper archive. Featuring billions of articles from historical newspapers around the U.S. and the world, NewspaperARCHIVE makes exploring history and genealogy easy and fun. Discover fascinating news in archived newspapers hundreds of years old - including obituaries, birth announcements, sports articles, comics, and more – to fill in the life stories you are interested in. And share those stories with others through our community at OurNewspaperARCHIVE. All of our historical newspapers are full-page and fully searchable - try exploring above and discover your history today!
Newspapers.com Basic This link opens in a new window Only available on campus. Over 3100 newspapers from across the US. Dates range from 1700s-2000s.
ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers This link opens in a new window Primary source content and editorial perspectives of the most distinguished African American newspapers in the U.S. Each of the eleven Historical Black Newspapers provides researchers with unprecedented access to perspectives and information that was excluded or marginalized in mainstream sources. The content, including articles, obituaries, photos, editorials, and more, is easily accessible for scholars in the study of the history of race relations, journalism, local and national politics, education, African American studies, and many multidisciplinary subjects.

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media
British Library Online Newspaper Archive (Gale) This link opens in a new window This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.
CRL's Foreign Newspapers Database This link opens in a new window CRL's Foreign Newspapers Database provides access to The Center for Research Libraries' collection of more than 6,000 newspaper titles published outside the United States. Holdings from the various Area Study Microform Projects are included.
Daily Mail Archive (Gale) This link opens in a new window The Daily Mail has been at the heart of British journalism since 1896, regularly changing the course of government policy and setting the national debate. As well as providing access to the regular edition of this path-breaking newspaper, the archive also contains the Atlantic Editions, printed on board the transatlantic cruise liners between 1923 and 1931.

Historical Newspaper Archive (Finland) All Finnish newspapers published from 1771 - 1890 have now been digitized.

Illustrated London News (Gale) This link opens in a new window The Illustrated London News Historical Archive provides access to the full run of the paper (from 1842-2003). With its debut in 1842 the Illustrated London News became the world's first illustrated weekly newspaper, sparking a revolution in journalism and news reporting. The publication presented a vivid picture of British and world events - including news of war, disasters, royalty, social affairs, the arts and science.
NewspaperARCHIVE This link opens in a new window NewspaperARCHIVE.com is the world's largest online newspaper archive. Featuring billions of articles from historical newspapers around the U.S. and the world, NewspaperARCHIVE makes exploring history and genealogy easy and fun. Discover fascinating news in archived newspapers hundreds of years old - including obituaries, birth announcements, sports articles, comics, and more – to fill in the life stories you are interested in. And share those stories with others through our community at OurNewspaperARCHIVE. All of our historical newspapers are full-page and fully searchable - try exploring above and discover your history today!
Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-1985) (Gale) This link opens in a new window Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper, 1785-1985, is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900 This link opens in a new window A subject-inclusive, language-inclusive bibliography of 50,000 publications, 48,000 personal names, 4,572 issuing bodies and 756 subjects in victorian periodicals.
World Newspaper Archive (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window World Newspaper Archive is a fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. This uniquely comprehensive online resource was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) - one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories. Latin American Newspapers includes more than 35 nineteenth- and twentieth-century Latin American newspapers, featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.

State-by-State List of Digitized Historical Newspapers

With the help of the Library of Congress, many states have been digitizing local historical newspapers.

Help us keep this list up-to-date. We check these links regularly, but if you find a bad link, let us know.

Alabama

Alabama State Newspapers - Chronicling America

Note: Alabama is currently in the process of completing an online database in 2020. A limited number of scans are available on the Library of Congress' Chronicling America database.

Alaska

Alaska's Digital Newspaper Project: Home

Alaska State Library, Archives and Museums

Arizona

Arizona Digital Newspaper Program
Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records

Arkansas

Arkansas State Newspapers - Chronicling America

Note: Arkansas does not have an official online registry. A limited number of state newspapers are stored on the Chronicling America database.

California

California Digital Newspaper Collection
University of California, Riverside

Colorado

Colorado Historic Newspaper Collection

Colorado State Library

Connecticut

Connecticut Digital Newspaper Project
Connecticut State Library

Delaware

Delaware Digital Newspaper Project

University of Delaware, Library, Museums, and Press

District of Columbia

District of Columbia Newspapers at Chronicling America
Library of Congress

Florida

Florida Digital Newspaper Library
University of Florida Digital Collections

Georgia

Georgia Newspaper Collection
Digital Library of Georgia

Hawaii

Hawai’i Digital Newspaper Program
University of Hawai’i at Mānoa Library

Idaho

Idaho State Historical Society Digital Collections
Idaho State Historical Society

Illinois

Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Indiana

Hoosier State Chronicles: Indiana’s Digital Historic Newspaper Program
Indiana State Library

Iowa

Iowa Digital Newspaper Project
State Historical Society of Iowa

Kansas

Kansas Digital Newspapers
Kansas State Historical Society

Kentucky

The Kentucky Edition: Kentucky’s Historic Newspapers
University of Kentucky Libraries

Louisiana

Digitizing Louisiana Newspapers Project
Louisiana State University Libraries

Maine

Maine Newspaper Project

Maine State Library

Maryland

Historic Maryland Newspapers Project
University of Maryland Libraries

Massachusetts

Massachusetts State Newspapers - Chronicling America

The Ancestor Hunt - Additional Massachusetts Resources

Note: Massachusetts also does not have a central database. A limited number of papers on the Library of Congress site which is linked first, and the second link contains a blog has a list of local resources, some of which are available online.

Michigan

Michigan Newspaper Project
Central Michigan University, Clarke Historical Library

Minnesota

Minnesota Digital Newspaper Project
Minnesota Historical Society

Mississippi

Mississippi Newspaper Holdings
Mississippi Department of Archives and History

Missouri

Missouri Digital Newspaper Project
The State Historical Society of Missouri

Montana

Montana Digital Newspaper Project
Montana Historical Society

Nebraska

Nebraska Newspapers: Digitizing Nebraska’s History
University of Nebraska–Lincoln; Nebraska State Historical Society

Nevada

Nevada Digital Newspaper Project

University of Nevada, Las Vegas, University Libraries

New Hampshire

New Hampshire Newspaper Project

New Hampshire State Library

Note: New Hampshire's central database is only accessible by phone call or email, and access will require payment for specific digitized resources.

New Jersey

New Jersey Digitized Historical Newspapers

New Jersey State Library

Note: The website provides links by county for the different newspapers. Access for the different local papers may not be free.

New Mexico

New Mexico Digital Newspapers
University of New Mexico

New York

New York Historic Newspapers
New York Public Library

North Carolina

North Carolina Newspapers
University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill

North Dakota

Archives – Newspapers
State Historical Society of North Dakota

Ohio

Ohio’s Digitized Newspapers at Ohio Memory
The Ohio History Connection; The State Library of Ohio

Oklahoma

The Gateway to Oklahoma History
Oklahoma Historical Society

Oregon

Oregon Digital Newspaper Program
University of Oregon Libraries

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania Newspaper Project
Pennsylvania State University Libraries

Puerto Rico

Florida and Puerto Rico Newspaper Project
Digital Library of the Caribbean; Universidad de Puerto Rico

Rhode Island

The Ancestor Hunt - Rhode Island Newspaper Resources

Note: Rhode Island does not have a central database, nor are files stored on the Chronicling America database. This link provides any available local resources for newspapers that have been digitized by separate parties.

South Carolina

South Carolina Digital Newspaper Program
University of South Carolina Libraries

South Dakota

Newspaper Digitization
South Dakota State Archives

Tennessee

Tennessee Newspaper Digitization Project
University of Tennessee Libraries; Tennessee State Library and Archives

Texas

Texas Digital Newspaper Program

University of North Texas

Utah

Utah Digital Newspapers
University of Utah

Vermont

Vermont Digital Newspaper Project
University of Vermont Libraries; Vermont Department of Libraries

Virginia

Virginia Chronicle
Library of Virginia

Washington

Legacy Washington: Historic Newspapers
Washington State Library

West Virginia

West Virginia Newspapers
West Virginia University Libraries

Wisconsin

Wisconsin State Newspapers - Chronicling America

Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Note: Starting in 2015, as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction began to upload digitized papers to the Chronicling America database, but the process is not complete.

Wyoming

Wyoming Newspapers

Wyoming State Library

Free Access: The New York Times

NEW in 2024! The BYU Library provides direct access to The New York Times online. Follow these simple instructions to create an account at nytimes.com.

Ask a Librarian

Elizabeth Smart

Contact:

elizabeth_smart@byu.edu
5452 HBLL

801-422-4995

Subjects: Communications, Global Women's Studies, Humanities, Media Arts

BYU News

The Daily Universe
BYU student newspaper
University Communications
The Daily Universe Archives (to 2003)
BYU Student Newspapers (from 1920)

Utah Newspapers

Utah Digital Newspapers This link opens in a new window A growing digital collection of early Utah newspapers browsed by title or searched by keywords, article titles, weddings, deaths, and births. This is a Utah Academic Library Consortium project funded by the Library Services and Technology Act.

Utah Newspapers at the Lee Library A complete guide to all Utah Newspapers that are available at the Harold B. Lee Library.

Deseret News Archives (includes LDS Church News) This link opens in a new window From April 1988 to the present. More recent items include photos and graphics. Older items are text only.