The best way to find journal articles is to search one of the many scholarly databases. Below are listed some of the more relevant databases in the biological sciences.
Web of Science compiles articles from over 9,300 scholarly journals in all science disciplines. Users can easily find article references and other publications citing a particular work.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine and indexes over 4700 medical journals and publication, including veterinary medicine. PubMed is the public version of MEDLINE. It is updated daily and has a good search algorithm.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more.
Zoological Record (1864+) indexes worldwide coverage of zoological literature, with particular emphasis on systematics, taxonomic and related information.
AGRICOLA is an agricultural sciences database that contains records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Over 2,000 journals and publication series are indexed from 1979 to the present.
A collection of several bibliographic databases for environmental sciences. Includes Conference Papers Index, TOXLINE, EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements, Ecology Abstracts, and Water Resources. Updated monthly.
Produced in collaboration with the experts at CABI, provides access to the world’s applied life sciences literature. Coverage includes subjects across the applied life sciences — from agriculture, the environment, and veterinary sciences, to applied economics, leisure/tourism, and nutrition.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine and indexes over 4700 medical journals and publication, including veterinary medicine. The EBSCO version of MEDLINE can be simultaneously searched with other EBSCO databases and is updated monthly.
Search for the journal name in Ulrichsweb. Look for the black-and-white referee shirt icon which tells you that the journal is peer reviewed. Includes information about all types of periodical publications.
